Most high risk merchant account providers publish almost no pricing, and as of October 2026 only two of the seven I could verify put numbers on their own sites. PayKings lists interchange plus 1.10% plus 25 cents for merchants under $100,000 a month, and TailoredPay shows “rates starting at 1.9%” without saying what that figure applies to. Everyone else asks you to request a quote, so the real comparison is about terms you have to pull out of them in writing. This guide compares what each provider says on its own site, and it leaves out anything I could not confirm there.
I run my stores and teach high-ticket dropshipping at Ecommerce Paradise, and a frozen processor account is one of the fastest ways to stall a store that has paid for traffic. I rewrote this page after checking every provider claim against the provider’s own website in November 2026. Two companies from the old version had to come out, and several numbers I used to repeat could not be confirmed, so they are gone.
This is general information, not financial advice. Terms change, underwriting decides who gets approved and on what terms, and nothing here predicts whether any business will be accepted. Check the provider before you apply.
High Risk Merchant Account Providers Compared (as of October 2026)
This table shows only statements that appear on each provider’s own pages. “Not stated” means I read the page and it did not say, which is different from saying the term does not exist. Ask for anything marked not stated before you apply.
| Provider | Published pricing | Reserve and contract statements | Industries and platforms named |
|---|---|---|---|
| PaymentCloud | Not stated | Says no long-term contracts and no hidden fees. Reserve and setup fee terms not stated on the home page | Shows 10 industries plus a link to all of them. Names Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce and more, plus Authorize.net, USAePay and NMI |
| PayKings | Starter (up to $100k a month): interchange + 1.10% + 25 cents. Growth ($100k to $300k): interchange + 0.80% + 10 cents. Enterprise: custom | FAQ says a rolling reserve is required, typically held 6 months, with early release possible after 30 days. Says no long-term contracts and an early termination fee that can be waived | Says 50+ industries. US-based merchants only. Names Shopify, WooCommerce, Magento, Authorize.net, NMI, USAePay |
| TailoredPay | “Rates starting at 1.9%” with no qualifier on the page | Not stated | Says 100+ industries. Lists daily payouts and a guarantee to beat a qualified competitor’s rate |
| HighRiskPay | No rates. Says no setup fees | Not stated | Names dropshipping, travel, subscriptions, CBD, credit repair and others. Lists terminals, mobile, ACH and e-commerce |
| eMerchantBroker | No rates. Says no upfront costs or hidden setup fees | Not stated | Names CBD, adult, vaping, online gaming, nutraceuticals and more. Footer calls it an ISO/MSP of BMO Harris Bank |
| Durango Merchant Services | No rates. Describes interchange-plus pricing | Only mentions small or non-existent reserves for e-check. No contract terms | Lists 29 high-risk industries. Says it integrates with more than 150 shopping carts |
| Maverick Payments | Not stated | Not stated | Names regulated and specialty markets. Lists payment gateway, ACH bank transfer, chargeback management, fraud prevention and an API |
Two providers that used to be on this page are not in the table because their websites no longer belong to them. Soar Payments and SMB Global both redirect from their old addresses to domain-for-sale pages. I also dropped Host Merchant Services and Swipesum. Host Merchant’s site blocked my automated check, so I could not read it, and Swipesum’s own page describes advisory work for enterprise, SaaS and e-commerce clients rather than high risk placement.
What a High Risk Merchant Account Is, and Why Stores Land in One
A high risk merchant account is a card processing account underwritten by a bank and processor that accept elevated chargeback, fraud or regulatory exposure. It usually costs more than a standard account and may come with a reserve or tighter limits. For the full explanation of how the label works, including chargeback monitoring and the MATCH list, read my guide on what a high-risk merchant account is.
The reasons stores end up here are mostly about how they sell. High order values mean each dispute costs more, card-not-present sales carry more fraud, and long fulfillment windows produce more “item not received” disputes. That combination describes many stores built on the model I explain in my guide to what high-ticket dropshipping is.
One correction to the old version of this page: I used to say dropshipping is specifically listed as high risk by many processors. I can only verify part of that. Stripe’s own restricted businesses page, as far as I could read it, does not list dropshipping among its global prohibited or restricted categories, and it says restricted businesses need extra due diligence and approval is not guaranteed. HighRiskPay, on the other hand, names dropshipping among the e-commerce businesses it serves. Whether your store is treated as high risk depends on your sales pattern and the processor, not on the label alone.
How This Guide Differs From My Other Two High-Risk Guides
I have three pages on this topic and they answer different questions. This one compares merchant account providers by what they publish and walks through the terms to negotiate. My guide to the best high-risk payment processors looks at the processor side, meaning payment methods, gateways and how transactions are routed.
The educational piece is the one linked above on what a high-risk account is. If you want a single provider in depth, my PaymentCloud review goes through that company on its own. Start here if you are choosing, start with the explainer if you are still learning the terms.
High Risk Payment Processing Companies: What Each One Publishes
I describe each provider by its own words, then list what I could not find. This is a read of published information, not a test of any account, and I am not predicting how any application will go.
PaymentCloud
PaymentCloud describes itself on its site as serving high risk industries, with 10 industries shown on the page plus a link to see all of them. It lists 11 shopping carts by name, including Shopify, WooCommerce and BigCommerce, says many more are supported, and names Authorize.net, USAePay and NMI as gateway integrations.
The site does not publish rates, and the home page I read does not state setup fees or reserve requirements. It says there are no long-term contracts and no hidden fees. It does not state a rolling reserve percentage or a termination fee, so those are the first two questions to ask. My longer review of PaymentCloud covers the rest.
PayKings
PayKings publishes the most pricing detail of any provider here. Its Starter tier for merchants processing up to $100,000 a month is interchange plus 1.10% plus 25 cents, and the Growth tier for $100,000 to $300,000 a month is interchange plus 0.80% plus 10 cents with the monthly fee waived. Enterprise pricing above $300,000 is custom. The page says final rates depend on industry risk, volume and underwriting.
Its FAQ is also unusually direct on reserves: a rolling reserve is required, typically held for 6 months, and you can request early release after 30 days. It does not give a reserve percentage. It says agreements run an industry-standard term and the early termination fee can be waived, without stating the term length. It serves US-based merchants only, and it says it supports 50+ industries including CBD, cryptocurrency, travel and vape. I do not treat its “interchange plus” number as an all-in rate, which I explain in the pricing section below.
TailoredPay
TailoredPay shows “rates starting at 1.9%” and a guarantee to beat any rate from a qualified competitor for comparable services. The page does not say what the 1.9% covers, so I would not treat it as the rate you will receive. It lists daily payouts as a feature without describing timing or conditions, and it says it supports 100+ industries.
The banner says 24-hour approvals while its FAQ gives an average of one to two business days, which can run longer if underwriters ask for more information. Treat any advertised turnaround as marketing, since underwriting decides. Reserves, contract length and fees are not stated on the page I read.
HighRiskPay
HighRiskPay says it offers merchant services for any credit history and works with businesses that were declined or terminated elsewhere. It names dropshipping, travel, subscriptions, credit repair, CBD and many other categories, and lists terminals, mobile payments, ACH, surcharging, fraud tools and chargeback tools. It says there are no setup fees and no setup and cancellation fees.
It states approvals typically take 24 to 48 hours, which is the provider’s own claim and not a promise for your application. It also advertises an approval percentage, which I do not repeat because it is not a number you can rely on. Rates, reserves and contract terms are not stated, and its FAQ says it will explain fees before you move forward.
eMerchantBroker
eMerchantBroker names CBD, adult, vaping, online gaming and nutraceuticals as high risk categories, with electronics, travel and high-end furniture among those in its FAQ. Its footer describes it as an ISO/MSP of BMO Harris Bank, which is a sales and service role under a bank rather than a bank itself. Its FAQ says it approves businesses that lost accounts because of high chargebacks.
The page does not publish rates, says pricing varies by industry and volume, and says there are no upfront costs or hidden setup fees. It links to chargeback protection and prevention pages without describing them on the page I read. Offshore options, reserve terms and multiple merchant ID support are not stated there, so I removed those claims from the old version.
Durango Merchant Services
Durango Merchant Services says it has more than 20 years in business, lists 29 high risk industries including supplements, telemedicine, travel and credit repair, and says it integrates with more than 150 shopping carts. It describes transparent interchange-plus pricing without giving numbers. It names regions it serves, including the USA, EU countries, Canada, the UK and Panama.
The only reserve statement I found is that e-check reserves are small or non-existent. The old version of this page gave a founding year, a currency count and a country count that the site does not state, so those are out. Contract terms and MATCH list handling are not stated.
Maverick Payments
Maverick Payments reads as a payments platform more than a high risk specialist on its home page. It names a payment gateway, ACH bank transfer, point-of-sale, surcharging, fraud prevention, chargeback management and an API, and it lists five sponsor banks. It also offers solutions for regulated industries and new and emerging business types.
No rates, reserves, contract terms or approval timelines are stated. Its separate high risk page lists travel, health supplements, coaching, dating, e-commerce and subscriptions, tobacco and vape, firearms, financial services and gaming. I removed the founding year, category count and offshore claim from the old version because I could not confirm them.
How to Read a High Risk Merchant Account Quote
Because published pricing is thin, the quote you receive is the document that matters. Ask for the per-transaction rate, the monthly fee, the gateway fee, any PCI fee, the chargeback fee, the setup fee, the reserve percentage and hold period, the contract term and the early termination fee, all in writing. If a provider will not put these on paper before you sign, that is useful information.
Interchange plus means the card networks’ interchange fee passes through at cost and the provider adds a markup on top. Interchange varies by card type, so a quote like PayKings’ “interchange + 1.10% + 25 cents” is the markup, not the total. The all-in number depends on your mix of debit, credit and rewards cards, which is why you should ask for an estimate on your own sales.
Worked example: the markup on a $2,000 order
Using PayKings’ published markup, a $2,000 order costs $2,000 times 1.10% plus $0.25, which is $22.25 over interchange on the Starter tier. On the Growth tier it is $2,000 times 0.80% plus $0.10, which is $16.10 over interchange. These are examples built from the page, not a quote.
At a monthly level, assume 30 orders of $2,000, which is $60,000 of volume. The Starter markup is $60,000 times 1.10% plus 30 times $0.25, which is $660.00 plus $7.50, or $667.50. Assume instead 75 orders of $2,000, which is $150,000. The Growth markup is $150,000 times 0.80% plus 75 times $0.10, which is $1,200.00 plus $7.50, or $1,207.50. The same volume at Starter pricing would be $1,650.00 plus $18.75, which is $1,668.75, so the tier is worth $461.25 a month at that volume.
Comparing with a flat-rate processor
Stripe’s pricing page lists 2.9% plus 30 cents for domestic online cards as of October 2026, and my Stripe fee calculator works through it. On a $2,000 order that is $58.30 all in. Over 30 orders it is $1,749.00 for the month.
To see whether an interchange-plus quote beats that, add interchange to the markup. On the $60,000 example, PayKings’ Starter markup of $667.50 leaves $1,081.50 of room before it matches Stripe’s $1,749.00, which equals about 1.80% of volume. That means the quote would beat Stripe on those orders only if your blended interchange is below roughly 1.80%. I do not know your card mix, so ask the provider for an estimate and compare it to the flat rate. The comparison also ignores reserves and the possibility that a flat-rate account gets restricted, which is the reason people look at high risk accounts in the first place.
Rolling Reserves: What to Ask and What It Does to Cash Flow
A rolling reserve holds back a share of your card volume for a period to cover future chargebacks. Among the providers I checked, only PayKings states reserve terms, and it gives the period but not the percentage. For everyone else, the percentage and the hold period are questions for the quote.
Here is a hypothetical to show why it matters. Assume a 10% reserve held for 6 months on $100,000 of monthly volume. That holds back $10,000 each month. Once six months of holdbacks are in place, and assuming each month’s amount releases exactly six months later, about 6 times $10,000, or $60,000, is sitting in reserve at any time. That is working capital you cannot spend on inventory or ads.
Ask five things: the percentage, the hold period, whether it is capped, what triggers early release, and what happens to the balance if you close the account. A reserve that can be released early after a period of clean processing, as PayKings describes, is better than one with no release path, but get the terms in your contract.
Choosing a High Risk Merchant Account Without Guessing
I would not pick a provider by a ranking, because no ranking can predict your underwriting result. I would work through a short list instead.
- Match your category. Check the provider’s own industry list for your business model, and ask them directly if it is not named.
- Match your platform. Confirm the gateway or cart you use is named, such as Shopify or WooCommerce on PaymentCloud’s and PayKings’ pages.
- Compare written quotes. Ask at least three providers for the full fee list above and line them up.
- Check location limits. PayKings states US-based merchants only, so confirm eligibility for your entity before you spend time.
- Read the contract term and exit fee. “No long-term contracts” on a website is not the same as no early termination fee in the agreement.
- Plan for chargebacks. Decide how you will respond to disputes before you open the account.
Underwriters look at your business structure, your fulfillment story and your supplier reliability. Setting up the right entity first matters, and my walkthrough of business formation for a high-ticket store covers the choices. Reliable suppliers lower your dispute rate, and my guide on finding suppliers for high-ticket products explains how to vet them.
What to Prepare Before You Apply
None of the provider pages I read give a full document checklist, so ask each one what it needs. In my experience, underwriters tend to want your business formation documents, bank statements, a live website with clear policies, and a plain description of how products are sourced and shipped. Prior processing statements help if you have them. This is general experience and not a requirement published by any provider here.
Pick your niche before you apply, because your category and average order value shape the conversation. My list of high-ticket niches is a place to start if you are still deciding what to sell.
Reducing Chargeback Exposure Before and After You Open an Account
A high risk account does not fix a chargeback problem, and it can make one more expensive. Clear product pages, honest shipping estimates and fast replies to unhappy customers reduce the “not received” and “not as described” disputes that hit stores with long fulfillment windows.
For how the ratio works and how to lower it, read my guide to the chargeback ratio. For fraud and dispute prevention specific to this model, see my piece on protecting a high-ticket dropshipping store.
If disputes are already piling up, compare tools in my roundup of chargeback management platforms. And because a single processor can fail, I wrote about building a backup payment plan before you need one.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are high risk merchant account providers?
They are payment companies that place businesses with banks willing to underwrite elevated chargeback or regulatory risk. The ones compared here are PaymentCloud, PayKings, TailoredPay, HighRiskPay, eMerchantBroker, Durango and Maverick, based on what each site says as of October 2026. This is not financial advice and no provider can promise approval.
How much does a high risk merchant account cost?
Most providers do not publish rates. PayKings lists interchange plus 1.10% plus 25 cents for merchants up to $100,000 a month, and TailoredPay shows rates starting at 1.9% with no qualifier. Your cost depends on your quote, so ask for every fee in writing. Terms change, so check the provider.
Do high risk payment processing companies require a rolling reserve?
Some do. PayKings says a reserve is required and typically held for 6 months, with early release possible after 30 days. The other providers do not state reserve terms on the pages I read, so ask.
Which high risk payment processor is best for a dropshipping store?
There is no single best, and I cannot tell you who will approve you. HighRiskPay names dropshipping among its e-commerce categories, and PaymentCloud and PayKings both name Shopify and WooCommerce. Compare written quotes and confirm your business model with each provider.
Can I apply for a high risk merchant account before my current processor freezes me?
Yes, you can apply any time, and many owners prefer to compare options on their own schedule. Underwriting decides whether you are accepted and on what terms. Gather your formation documents and describe your fulfillment process accurately.
Sources I Read for the Provider Claims
I read these pages in November 2026. Every provider statement above comes from them. Pages change, so check the live page before you rely on a number.
- PaymentCloud
- PayKings
- TailoredPay
- HighRiskPay
- eMerchantBroker
- Durango Merchant Services
- Maverick Payments
- Stripe pricing
- Stripe restricted businesses
This article is general information, not financial, legal or payment processing advice. Terms change, underwriting decides, and you should check the provider before you apply. No outcome is guaranteed.
Related Articles
If you found this useful, these guides go deeper on related topics:
- What Is a High-Risk Merchant Account? A Complete Guide for Dropshippers
- Best High-Risk Payment Processors in 2026: 12 Providers Compared
- PaymentCloud Review 2026: Is This High-Risk Merchant Account Worth It?
- Chargeback Ratio: How to Calculate It, What Is Too High and How to Lower It
- How Technology Is Changing High-Risk Payment Processing

Trevor Fenner is an ecommerce entrepreneur and world traveler from Seattle, Washington, and the founder of Ecommerce Paradise, a platform focused on helping entrepreneurs build and scale profitable high-ticket ecommerce and dropshipping businesses. With over a decade of hands-on experience, Trevor specializes in high-ticket dropshipping strategy, niche and product selection, supplier recruiting and onboarding, Google & Bing Shopping ads, ecommerce SEO, and systems-driven automation and scaling. Through Ecommerce Paradise, he provides free education via in-depth guides like How to Start High-Ticket Dropshipping, advanced training through the High-Ticket Dropshipping Masterclass, and fully done-for-you turnkey ecommerce services for entrepreneurs who want a faster, more hands-off path to growth. Trevor is known for emphasizing sustainable, real-world ecommerce models over hype-driven tactics, helping store owners build scalable, sellable, and location-independent brands.
He maintains homes in Seattle and Bali, spends most of the year overseas, and usually returns to Seattle for about a month each summer.

