Hiscox vs biBERK 2026: The Berkshire Direct Price Against the Online Specialist

Data card: $30 vs $27.50, published starting points per month, and both are illustrative
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure

You ran two quotes. biBERK came back lower. Now you are sitting there wondering whether the Hiscox number is a premium you are paying for something real, or just a premium you are paying because Hiscox spends more on advertising.

That is a fair question and most comparison posts dodge it. They list features until the cheaper option looks reckless. It is not reckless. biBERK is a Berkshire Hathaway company, its key subsidiaries carry the highest financial strength rating A.M. Best issues, and on a simple general liability policy for a low risk class it will very often be the cheaper piece of paper. Anyone telling you otherwise is selling something.

What this post does instead is explain why the two numbers differ, because the reason is structural rather than cosmetic, and once you see the structure you can tell in about ten minutes which side of it your business sits on.

Disclosure: the Hiscox links in this post are affiliate links and we get paid when a reader buys through one. The biBERK links run through our own click tracker and point at biBERK’s own website with no affiliate tracking attached, so biBERK pays us nothing at all. We are telling you that up front because this post concludes that biBERK wins several of these matchups, and you should weigh that against the fact that we only get paid when the other one wins. The Shopify and Bizee links in the closing section are affiliate links too and they pay us.

This is general information rather than insurance advice. What your business actually needs depends on what you sell, where you sell it and what your supplier and platform contracts require you to carry.

The Objection, Stated Honestly

The price objection to Hiscox is not imaginary and it is not a misunderstanding. Look at the two published floors. Hiscox states that general liability insurance starts at $30 per month on its own cost page, and adds that “Costs shown are illustrative. Your premium may vary based on your business profile” (hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cost).

biBERK states on its general liability page that “Premiums start as low as $27.50 per month” and, separately, that “By removing the middleman, we’re able to offer policies that can cost up to 20% less than traditional providers” (biberk.com/general-liability-insurance).

So the cheaper published floor really is biBERK’s, and the savings claim really is on their own website in their own words. If your entire decision is “which of these two numbers is smaller”, the post can end here and you can go buy the Berkshire policy.

The catch is that neither of those numbers is a quote. They are the lowest price each company has ever charged somebody, for some class of business, in some state, at some limit. Yours will almost certainly be a different number, and the gap between those two floors is $2.50 a month, which is not a business decision. It is a rounding error. The real differences show up somewhere else entirely.

What Each Company Actually Is

biBERK sells direct. Its own about page describes it as part of the Berkshire Hathaway Insurance Group and states that “Each key subsidiary holds an A++ rating from A.M. Best Company” (biberk.com/about-us). The entire commercial proposition is compressed into one sentence on their homepage: remove the intermediary, keep the margin the intermediary would have taken, hand some of it back as a lower price. That is a real advantage and it is the reason the floor is lower.

Hiscox is a specialist that sells through more than one door. Its small business page says you can buy online, by phone on 1-800-817-0078, or through brokers and agents, that it has “Coverage In 49 States”, and that “over 600,000 small businesses choose Hiscox” (hiscox.com/small-business-insurance). Its about page states that “Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is rated A (Excellent) by A.M. Best with a group financial size category (FSC) of XV ($2 Billion or greater)” and that its US companies “include Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC# 10200), and its general agent, Hiscox Inc.” It also puts its roots at 1901.

Read those two descriptions again and the structural difference is obvious. biBERK is optimised for the cheapest possible path from a web form to a bound policy on a simple risk. Hiscox is optimised for a book of professional and specialist small businesses where the underwriting question is harder than “how big is your warehouse”.

The Published Numbers Side by Side

Everything in this table is quoted from the companies’ own live pages. None of it is a quote for your business and none of it should be read as one.

What Hiscox biBERK
Published general liability floor Starts at $30 per month Starts as low as $27.50 per month
Published professional liability floor Starts at $23 per month Not published
Published business owner’s policy floor Starts at $42 per month Not published
Published cyber floor Starts at $30 per month Not published
Savings claim None published Up to 20% less than traditional providers
A.M. Best rating stated A (Excellent), FSC XV A++ on key subsidiaries
States 49 stated Not stated as a number
How you buy Online, phone, or through an agent Direct only
Customers claimed Over 600,000 small businesses Not stated as a number

Two things in that table matter more than the price row. The first is that Hiscox publishes a floor for four separate lines and biBERK publishes one. The second is that Hiscox will sell to you through an agent and biBERK will not, by design. Hold both of those thoughts.

Why “Up To 20% Less” Is a Distribution Claim

The biBERK savings claim is specific about its own mechanism. It is not claiming better loss experience, cheaper reinsurance or smarter pricing models. It says the saving comes from removing the middleman. That is a claim about distribution cost, and distribution cost is roughly the only part of a premium a direct writer can compress unilaterally.

Here is why that matters to you. The commission an agent earns is a percentage of premium, so the dollar value of the saving scales with the size of the policy. On a $340 a year general liability policy for a one person online store, stripping out distribution cost saves you real money in percentage terms and very little in absolute terms. On a $4,000 a year package for a business with inventory, vehicles and staff, the same percentage is worth having.

The flip side is that the middleman you removed was also doing work. On a simple risk that work is worth close to nothing, which is exactly why direct is the right answer for simple risks. On a business that has one weird exposure, an agent earns their commission on the single phone call where they tell you your policy does not cover the thing you assumed it covered.

Get the Hiscox Number Before You Argue About It

Hiscox publishes a general liability floor of $30 a month and a professional liability floor of $23 a month, and calls both figures illustrative. Your quote will be its own number, and the only way to compare it honestly against a Berkshire quote is to run both on the same afternoon with the same inputs.

Run a Hiscox Quote →

Coverage Lines Are Where the Books Diverge

biBERK’s own general liability page lists a wide product set: workers’ compensation, professional liability, business owners’ policies, errors and omissions, commercial auto, umbrella and cyber. So the answer to “does biBERK sell professional liability” is yes. The more useful question is which classes each company writes those lines for, and that is where the two books stop overlapping.

Hiscox built its US small business book around professional services and specialist exposures. Its published price list leads with general liability at $30 and professional liability at $23, and it publishes a cyber floor at $30. A company that publishes four floors is a company that expects you to buy more than one line.

biBERK’s public pricing surface is a single general liability number. On workers’ compensation, which is arguably its strongest product, biBERK publishes no starting price at all. What it publishes instead is a market statistic: “the average cost of Workers’ Compensation insurance per $100 in wages ranges from $.75 in Texas to $2.74 in Alaska” (biberk.com/workers-compensation-insurance). It also says it offers the coverage in all states where it is allowed to, excluding the four states that require you to buy from a government entity.

That is a genuinely useful disclosure and it tells you something about how biBERK thinks. It would rather give you the industry’s own rating basis than a floor price that will not survive contact with your payroll.

Financial Strength and Who Carries the Paper

On paper, biBERK wins this outright. A++ on the key subsidiaries is the top of the A.M. Best scale and Hiscox states A (Excellent) for Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. Both are strong ratings. One is stronger.

In practice this matters less than it looks for a small business policy, because the failure mode you should actually worry about is not the insurer going insolvent. It is the insurer declining your claim on a coverage argument. Financial strength ratings measure whether the money is there. They do not measure whether the adjuster agrees the money is yours. We wrote a full walkthrough of that fight in our guide to how to file a business insurance claim without handing the adjuster a reason to deny it.

Where the rating does earn its keep is in contracts. Some dealer agreements and commercial leases specify a minimum A.M. Best rating for your carrier. If yours specifies A or better, both qualify. If yours specifies A+ or better, one of them does not, and that decides the question for you without any further analysis.

The Certificate of Insurance Test

For an ecommerce operator this is often the whole ballgame. You are not buying insurance because you lie awake worried about product liability. You are buying it because a supplier’s dealer application has a box that says “attach certificate of insurance” and you cannot open a wholesale account without one.

Hiscox says on its general liability page that it will provide a certificate of insurance and references the ability to issue an ACORD for an additional insured from within policy management (hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance). It does not publish a turnaround time. biBERK operates a direct carrier portal and does not publish a certificate turnaround time either.

Since neither company publishes a number, do not trust anyone who quotes you one. Test it instead. Before you commit to a supplier deadline, buy the policy, log in and try to generate a certificate naming a real supplier as additional insured. If that takes you four clicks, you have your answer. If it takes an email to a service desk, you now know your real lead time and can plan around it. Our full walkthrough of what suppliers actually check is in the guide to getting a certificate of insurance your dropshipping suppliers will accept.

Appetite, Which Decides More Cases Than Price

Every carrier has classes it wants and classes it politely declines. This is the single most common reason a comparison never happens: one of the two quotes simply does not come back.

biBERK’s sweet spot is a clean, conventional risk with a recognisable class code. Contractors, retailers, service businesses, restaurants, offices. If your business fits a box, the direct model is fast and cheap because nobody has to think about you.

Hiscox’s sweet spot is the business that does not fit a box neatly: consultants, agencies, specialist ecommerce, anything where the exposure is advice or a niche product rather than a slip on a wet floor. That is also why it leads with professional liability pricing rather than general liability pricing.

The practical consequence is that “which is cheaper” is frequently the wrong question, because only one of them will write you at all. Run both and let the appetite answer it. If both come back, then you have a real comparison. Our roundup of the eight best Hiscox alternatives compared on price and appetite covers what to do when neither one wants your class.

What Getting This Wrong Costs

The downside of overpaying is bounded and small. If Hiscox charges you $15 a month more than biBERK for equivalent coverage, that is $180 a year. Annoying, survivable, fixable at renewal.

The downside of buying the wrong policy is not bounded. A general liability policy that excludes the professional advice component of your business, or a limit set below what your largest supplier contract demands, does not fail gently. It fails at the exact moment you need it, and the gap between the limit you bought and the claim you received is a number you pay personally.

This is the honest case for not optimising hard on price at this size. The spread between the two carriers on a small policy is tens of dollars a month. The spread between the right policy and the wrong one is your business. Spend the saved argument time reading the exclusions instead.

Two Quotes, One Afternoon

Hiscox states it covers 49 states, insures over 600,000 small businesses, and sells online, by phone or through an agent. Whether it beats a Berkshire direct quote on your class is something only your own two quotes can settle, and neither published floor will tell you.

Check Hiscox for Your Class →

Which One Fits Your Business

You run a simple online store selling other people’s products and a supplier wants a certificate. Quote biBERK first. This is the exact risk profile the direct model is built to price cheaply, and the Berkshire paper will satisfy almost any dealer application. Quote Hiscox second only to confirm the spread.

You give advice as part of what you sell. Consulting, design, done for you services, anything where a client can allege your recommendation cost them money. This is professional liability territory and Hiscox built its book here. Its published professional liability floor of $23 a month is the lowest of the four lines it prices publicly, which tells you where its underwriting confidence sits.

You have payroll. Workers’ compensation is the line where the Berkshire relationship pays off most, and biBERK’s own disclosure of the per $100 of wages rating basis suggests a company that would rather explain the mechanism than market a floor price. Get the quote.

Your contract specifies an A.M. Best minimum above A. Then it is biBERK, and no further comparison is needed. Read the contract before you read either website.

You want one carrier for general liability, professional liability and cyber on one renewal date. Hiscox publishes floors for all three. That is not proof it will be cheapest, but it is proof it expects to write all three, which matters when you would rather manage one relationship than three.

How to Run This Decision in an Afternoon

Write down your inputs first and use identical inputs on both forms: legal entity name, entity type, state, industry description, annual revenue, payroll, years trading, and the exact limits your largest contract demands. Changing any of these between the two quotes makes the comparison meaningless.

Then run the biBERK quote, run the Hiscox quote, and put the two declaration pages next to each other. Compare limits before premium. Compare exclusions before limits. Then compare price last, which is the reverse of how everyone actually does it.

If you have never done this before, the step by step version lives in our guide to getting business insurance for your ecommerce store in the right order, which covers the entity and EIN work that has to happen before either form will give you a usable number.

One more comparison worth running while you are in the mood: our head to head on buying from a carrier versus buying from an insurance marketplace covers the third option neither of these two companies will mention, which is letting a broker shop both of them for you at once.

Running the Business Behind the Store

Insurance is a downstream decision. What you sell decides your class code, your class code decides your appetite fit, and your appetite fit decides which of these two companies will even quote you. If you are still choosing what to sell, start with the list of high ticket niches worth building a store around.

If the model itself is new to you, the primer on what high ticket dropshipping actually is and how the margins work explains why supplier relationships in this model come with paperwork that lower ticket models never ask for.

Those supplier relationships are where the certificate requirement comes from in the first place, and the full process is documented in the complete step by step guide to finding suppliers for high ticket products.

None of that works without an entity, because neither carrier will write a policy to a name that does not legally exist. The order of operations is covered in our walkthrough of business formation for high ticket dropshipping.

The stack we run behind all of this is deliberately small. The storefront sits on Shopify. Entity filing and registered agent service goes through Bizee.

The policy itself goes to Hiscox when the appetite fits, and to a direct carrier when it does not.

If you would rather have the whole thing built for you with the entity, the store and the supplier applications handled together, that is what our done for you high ticket dropshipping build and launch service exists to do.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is biBERK actually cheaper than Hiscox? On published floors, marginally: $27.50 a month against $30 a month. On your actual quote, unknowable in advance, because both companies say their published figures are starting points rather than prices. Run both.

Is biBERK a real insurance company or a broker? It writes direct as part of the Berkshire Hathaway Insurance Group, and its about page states its key subsidiaries carry an A++ rating from A.M. Best. It is not a marketplace shopping other carriers.

Which one has better financial strength? biBERK, on the stated ratings. A++ is the top of the A.M. Best scale and Hiscox states A (Excellent) with a financial size category of XV. Both are strong. Only one is the strongest.

Does Hiscox cover all 50 states? Its own small business page states coverage in 49 states, so no. biBERK does not publish a state count on the pages we checked and instead points you to a coverage map.

Can I buy from biBERK through my agent? No, and that is the entire point of the model. Removing the agent is where the claimed saving comes from. Hiscox will sell through a broker or agent if you want one.

Which one issues a certificate of insurance faster? Neither publishes a turnaround time, so we are not going to invent one. Test it inside the policy portal before you promise a supplier a date.

What if neither will write my class? That happens more often than price differences do. Widen the search rather than arguing with the form, starting with our comparison of the other carriers that write online sellers.

Start With the Quote That Covers More Lines

Hiscox publishes starting figures for general liability at $30, professional liability at $23, cyber at $30 and a business owner’s policy at $42 a month, and states all four are illustrative. If you need more than one line on one renewal date, that is the quote to run first.

See What Hiscox Quotes You →

Bottom Line

biBERK is cheaper on the published floor, stronger on the stated financial rating, and structurally built to price a simple risk with no agent margin in the way. If you sell straightforward products, carry payroll, or your contract demands an A++ carrier, quote it first and probably buy it.

Hiscox earns its price in the cases where the underwriting question is harder than a class code: advice based revenue, specialist ecommerce, or a business that wants general liability, professional liability and cyber sitting on one renewal date with one company that publishes a price for each.

What you should not do is decide this on a $2.50 difference between two numbers that are not quotes. Run both forms with identical inputs, read the exclusions before the premium, and let appetite and contract requirements settle it. That is a one afternoon job and it is worth more than any comparison table, including ours.

Related Articles

Hiscox vs Simply Business: Buying From a Carrier or Buying From a Marketplace

How Much Does Small Business Insurance Cost in 2026?

Hiscox Pricing 2026: What Business Insurance Actually Costs

Hiscox vs Next Insurance: Which Small Business Policy Wins?

7 Best General Liability Insurance Providers for Online Sellers

Free 1,000+ high-ticket niches list

Still deciding what to sell?

Grab the free list of 1,000+ niches that work for high-ticket dropshipping, sorted by category.

Free. Unsubscribe any time.