If you sell four-figure products, the plan you should buy on BigCommerce is not the one the pricing page is designed to sell you. Core is cheapest, and for a high-ticket store it is a plan I expect a working store to be moved off quickly.
That is not a criticism of BigCommerce. It is arithmetic of mine on a threshold published on their own pricing page, and almost nobody points it out. Core auto-upgrades to Growth once your trailing-twelve-month sales reach $30,000. At a $4,000 average order that is under eight orders, by my own division. Under eight.
So this guide starts with the number that actually determines your bill, then walks the setup in the order that matters for a quote-driven store. Every price, threshold and quoted phrase comes from BigCommerce’s own pricing page, read on 29 September 2026. Where a figure is my own arithmetic, I say so.
I run Ecommerce Paradise. If the model is new to you, start with what high-ticket dropshipping actually is.
Fifteen Days, No Card
BigCommerce advertises a “15-day free trial” with “no credit card” and “no obligation and no risk”, which is enough time to build a real store rather than a demo.
The Auto-Upgrade Is the Whole Pricing Story
BigCommerce’s pricing page lists four plans and, crucially, a sales threshold attached to each.
| Plan | Billed annually | Billed monthly | Sales threshold |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core | $29 a month | $39 | “Up to $30K TTM GMV; plan auto-upgrades to Growth” |
| Growth | $79 a month | $105 | “Up to $100K TTM GMV; plan auto-upgrades to Scale” |
| Scale | $299 a month | $399 | “$33,333/month GMV; (0.9% on GMV above cap)” |
| Performance | “Custom pricing starting at $1,499 per month, billed annually” | Custom | Custom terms |
TTM GMV means trailing twelve months of gross merchandise value, which is to say everything you sold in the last year. Now do the arithmetic for a high-ticket store, and this arithmetic is mine rather than BigCommerce’s framing.
At a $4,000 average order, $30,000 is between seven and eight orders. At $2,500 it is twelve. Either way, Core’s ceiling is something a working high-ticket store passes in its first few months, and the upgrade is automatic rather than a decision you make.
Growth’s ceiling of $100,000 TTM GMV is twenty-five orders at $4,000. That is a real business but still a small one, and it means Scale arrives sooner than a low-price store owner would expect.
My conclusion, and it is mine: budget for Growth from the start and treat Core as a trial-period plan. Planning your finances around $29 a month when the platform will move you to $79 inside a quarter is planning to be surprised.
I have broken the plans down further in my BigCommerce pricing breakdown.
The Fee That Costs More Than the Plan
This one is genuinely buried and it is worth more money than the plan choice.
BigCommerce charges no fee of its own on orders taken through what the pricing page calls “Orders through Embedded Payment Providers”, listed at “$0 fee” across all plans. That is the headline difference from platforms that take a cut of every sale.
But there is a separate “Open Payment Provider Fee” for payment providers outside that embedded set, and the page lists it as 2.0% on Core, 1.0% on Growth, 0.6% on Scale, and 0.0% on Performance with a contract.
On a $4,000 order, 2.0% is $80, by my own multiplication. One order on Core with the wrong payment provider costs you more than two months of the plan. On Growth, 1.0% of $4,000 is $40, which is still half a month of Growth per order.
So the single highest-value decision in your BigCommerce setup is using an embedded payment provider, and it is worth more than the plan difference. Confirm which providers count as embedded before you configure checkout, not after.
The good news is that the pre-integrated set is not a short list. BigCommerce’s payments page says you can “Choose from more than 65 pre-integrated online payment solutions, serving 150+ countries and over 140 currencies.”, and names Affirm, Adyen, Amazon Pay, Apple Pay, Checkout.com, PayPal, Stripe, BlueSnap, Global Payments and Worldpay among them. It adds that “All of our online payment solutions are PCI compliant and built right into our platform.”
The US gateways page lists Stripe, Square, PayPal, PayPal powered by Braintree, Authorize.net, Adyen, Amazon Pay, Klarna, Affirm and Afterpay among the options, and states “We don’t charge you unnecessary fees or penalties”. Neither page states a total number of US gateways, so treat the 65-plus figure as global rather than per-country.
Two of those names are worth a second look on a high-ticket store specifically. Affirm and Afterpay are financing and instalment options, and on a four-figure product the ability to split payment changes who can buy from you. That is not a small consideration when the alternative is a customer who wants the unit and cannot clear the full amount at once.
One more fee to know about: Scale’s threshold is stated as “$33,333/month GMV; (0.9% on GMV above cap)”, so above that monthly figure there is a 0.9% charge on the excess.
Step 1: Use the Full Trial to Build a Real Store
The page advertises a “15-day free trial” with “no credit card” and “no obligation and no risk”. Fifteen days is longer than I expected, and most people waste it clicking around.
Instead, spend it building the store you would actually launch: three or four real products with real descriptions, real freight information, and a working quote request form. What you are testing is whether the platform handles your specific awkward requirements, and those requirements only show up when you try to do the real thing.
For a high-ticket store the awkward requirements are usually: variable freight pricing by destination, a quote request path that does not go through checkout, and product pages long enough to actually answer a four-figure buyer’s questions. Test all three inside the trial.
Step 2: Sort Payments Before Anything Else
Given the fee structure above, this is step two and not step nine.
Work out which payment providers are embedded and choose from that set. Then check the two things that matter on high-value orders: whether your provider has a per-transaction cap that a $4,000 order breaches, and what their policy is on disputes for freight-delivered goods.
That second one is not a BigCommerce question and BigCommerce cannot answer it, but it is the one I have seen cost people real money. In my experience a chargeback on a $4,000 item where you cannot prove inside delivery is an expensive education.
Or Have the Store Built For You
My done-for-you builds cover the platform, the suppliers and the quote machinery behind it, configured for four-figure orders rather than impulse purchases.
Step 3: Build the Quote Path, Not Just the Cart
This is where high-ticket stores diverge from every generic setup guide, and it is the part that determines revenue.
In my experience most people spending $4,000 on equipment do not add to cart. They ask a question first: will it fit, what does delivery cost to my address, what happens if it arrives damaged. Your store needs a path for that question that is at least as prominent as the buy button.
What I would build: a quote request form on every product page asking for name, email, phone, the product, the delivery postcode and one open question. The delivery location is the field people omit and the one that decides whether you can quote at all on freight.
Then make sure the reply goes somewhere trackable rather than a personal inbox. I wrote up how I set up a CRM for quote requests for exactly that. The follow-up sequence that runs after the quote goes out is covered in the GetResponse setup guide, and on a quote-driven store I give it more attention than the storefront.
Step 4: Get Shipping Right or Nothing Else Matters
In my experience, on a store selling freight-delivered goods, shipping configuration is the difference between profit and a busy loss-making store.
The things to settle before launch: whether you quote freight per order or build it into the price, whether you offer kerbside or inside delivery and what each costs, which regions you will not ship to, and what a lift-gate costs when the customer has no loading dock.
Every one of those is a supplier question before it is a platform question. Nothing on BigCommerce’s pricing page addresses freight, and I am not going to invent shipping cost figures. Get the numbers from your supplier first, then configure. The supplier side is in my guide to finding high-ticket suppliers.
Step 5: Write Product Pages for Somebody Spending Four Figures
A $40 product page needs a photo and a price. My reckoning is that a $4,000 product page needs to answer about fifteen questions before the buyer goes and asks a competitor instead.
What I put on a high-ticket product page: full specifications including dimensions and weight, what is in the box, power or installation requirements, delivery method and realistic timeline, the warranty, the return policy including any restocking fee, and a visible way to ask a human a question.
That is a long page, and long is correct here. The instinct to keep it short comes from low-price ecommerce, where the decision is impulsive. Nobody buys a sauna impulsively.
Step 6: Only Then Worry About Conversion Tools
This is the order people get backwards. They install six apps before the product pages answer basic questions.
Once the fundamentals are right, the tools worth adding are the ones suited to a long consideration cycle rather than an impulse purchase. Reviews matter, because a four-figure buyer looks for proof before they look for a discount. Notifications for price drops and restocks matter too, because in my experience high-ticket buyers do wait for both, and I would rather be able to tell them the moment something changes.
Discount popups matter least. Somebody weighing a $4,000 purchase is not moved by 10% off, and offering it signals you compete on price rather than expertise.
What This Costs Over a Year
| Setup | Cost |
|---|---|
| 15-day trial | $0, no credit card |
| Core, billed annually | $29 a month, $348 across a year by my own multiplication |
| Core, billed monthly | $39 a month, $468 across a year by my own multiplication |
| Growth, billed annually | $79 a month, $948 across a year by my own multiplication |
| Growth, billed monthly | $105 a month, $1,260 across a year by my own multiplication |
| Scale, billed annually | $299 a month, $3,588 across a year by my own multiplication |
Every yearly total above is my own multiplication of BigCommerce’s published monthly figures, not a figure BigCommerce quotes as an annual total. None of them includes the Open Payment Provider Fee, which as shown above can exceed the plan cost on a single order.
The honest version for a high-ticket store is the Growth row, because that is where the platform will put you.
What the Pricing Page Does Not Say
Three things I could not establish and will not guess at: the number of staff accounts on each plan, any product count limit, and any bandwidth limit. None of the three appears on the pricing page.
If you plan to give access to a virtual assistant, a bookkeeper and a supplier contact, ask about staff accounts before you choose a plan rather than discovering the limit afterwards.
Where This Sits in the Rest of the Build
A platform is a shop floor. It does not decide whether anybody wants the product, whether your margin survives residential freight, or whether you can answer a four-figure question competently.
If the niche is unsettled, start with my high-ticket niches list. Once the store exists, the business side needs to be real, and business formation for high-ticket dropshipping covers that.
If you are still deciding between platforms, I compared the two main options directly in BigCommerce vs Shopify, and the transaction-fee structure is the crux of it.
The Whole Thing, in Order
| Step | What you do |
|---|---|
| 1 | Budget for Growth, not Core, because Core auto-upgrades at $30K TTM GMV |
| 2 | Confirm which payment providers are embedded, since the open-provider fee is 2.0% on Core |
| 3 | Use the full 15-day trial to build a real store rather than click around |
| 4 | Check your payment provider’s per-transaction cap and dispute policy on freight goods |
| 5 | Build a quote request path as prominent as the buy button |
| 6 | Make delivery postcode a required field on that form |
| 7 | Get freight numbers from your supplier before configuring shipping |
| 8 | Write long product pages that answer a four-figure buyer’s real questions |
| 9 | Ask about staff account limits, because the pricing page does not state them |
| 10 | Add conversion tools last, and skip the discount popups |
Step 2 is the one that saves the most money, and hardly anybody does it first.
No Platform Cut on Embedded Payments
Orders through embedded payment providers are listed at “$0 fee” on every plan. Core is $29 a month billed annually and Growth is $79.
Six Mistakes to Avoid
Budgeting on Core. Core auto-upgrades to Growth at $30K TTM GMV, which at a $4,000 average order is under eight orders by my own arithmetic.
Using a non-embedded payment provider. The open-provider fee is listed at 2.0% on Core, which is $80 on a $4,000 order by my own arithmetic.
Wasting the trial. Fifteen days without a card is enough to build something real. Build something real.
Configuring shipping before talking to your supplier. Freight numbers come from them, not from the platform.
Writing short product pages. Short works for impulse purchases. In my experience a four-figure buyer needs about fifteen questions answered.
Installing conversion apps first. Apps cannot rescue a product page that does not say what the delivery costs.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does BigCommerce cost?
The pricing page lists Core at $29 a month billed annually or $39 monthly, Growth at $79 or $105, Scale at $299 or $399, and Performance as “Custom pricing starting at $1,499 per month, billed annually”.
Does BigCommerce charge transaction fees?
Orders through embedded payment providers are listed at “$0 fee” on all plans. A separate open payment provider fee applies outside that set: 2.0% on Core, 1.0% on Growth, 0.6% on Scale, and 0.0% on Performance with a contract.
What is TTM GMV and why does it matter?
Trailing twelve months of gross merchandise value. Core is listed as “Up to $30K TTM GMV” with the plan auto-upgrading to Growth, and Growth as “Up to $100K TTM GMV” auto-upgrading to Scale.
Which plan should a high-ticket store start on?
My view is Growth. At a $4,000 average order, Core’s $30K ceiling is under eight orders by my own arithmetic, so Core is effectively a trial-period plan.
Is there a free trial?
The page advertises a “15-day free trial” with “no credit card” and “no obligation and no risk”.
What happens above Scale’s cap?
The page states Scale as “$33,333/month GMV; (0.9% on GMV above cap)”, so there is a 0.9% charge on GMV above that monthly figure.
How many staff accounts do I get?
The pricing page does not specify staff account counts per plan. Ask before choosing if several people need access.
Are there product or bandwidth limits?
None are stated on the pricing page. That is an absence of information rather than a confirmed absence of limits, so ask.
Is annual billing worth it?
On Core the annual rate is $29 against $39 monthly, and on Growth $79 against $105. Whether to commit for a year is a cash-flow question, but the gap is real on every plan.
Do I need conversion apps on day one?
In my experience no. Get the product pages, the freight numbers and the quote path right first, because no app compensates for a page that does not answer what delivery costs.
Related Articles
- BigCommerce Review
- BigCommerce Pricing
- BigCommerce Alternatives
- BigCommerce vs Shopify
- BigCommerce vs WooCommerce
- How to Set Up a CRM for Quote Requests

Trevor Fenner is an ecommerce entrepreneur and the founder of Ecommerce Paradise, a platform focused on helping entrepreneurs build and scale profitable high-ticket ecommerce and dropshipping businesses. With over a decade of hands-on experience, Trevor specializes in high-ticket dropshipping strategy, niche and product selection, supplier recruiting and onboarding, Google & Bing Shopping ads, ecommerce SEO, and systems-driven automation and scaling. Through Ecommerce Paradise, he provides free education via in-depth guides like How to Start High-Ticket Dropshipping, advanced training through the High-Ticket Dropshipping Masterclass, and fully done-for-you turnkey ecommerce services for entrepreneurs who want a faster, more hands-off path to growth. Trevor is known for emphasizing sustainable, real-world ecommerce models over hype-driven tactics, helping store owners build scalable, sellable, and location-independent brands.
Still deciding what to sell?
Grab the free list of 1,000+ niches that work for high-ticket dropshipping, sorted by category.
Free. Unsubscribe any time.
