Alliance Virtual Offices vs iPostal1 (2026): Staffed Office or Digital Mailbox?

Alliance Virtual Offices vs iPostal1 (2026): Staffed Office or Digital Mailbox?
Alliance Virtual Offices vs iPostal1 (2026): Staffed Office or Digital Mailbox?
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure

These two get compared constantly and they are not the same product. Alliance Virtual Offices rents you a spot inside a staffed commercial office building. iPostal1 plugs you into a network of mail operators and gives you a digital mailbox, a phone number and a fax number for a similar monthly price.

The prices overlap enough that people treat them as interchangeable. Alliance’s New York listings start at $49 a month. iPostal1’s entry virtual office plan is $39.99. Ten dollars apart, and you are buying two genuinely different things, one of which has a six-month term and one of which does not.

I run Ecommerce Paradise from Bali and I have kept a US business address for my stores for years, so this is the comparison I actually make when a student asks which one to buy. Every quoted price came off each company’s own pages on 23 September 2026, and the annual totals further down are my own arithmetic on those prices. If the business behind the address is new to you, start with what high-ticket dropshipping is.

Need the Address in a Staffed Office Building?

Alliance lists a starting price on each location page, currently charges $0 setup with $200 struck through, and includes online notarization for the USPS paperwork.

Check Alliance Locations →

The Short Answer

  • Buy Alliance if the address has to read as a real office to whoever is looking at it, or if you ever need a room to sit down in.
  • Buy iPostal1 if the address mostly has to receive and show you mail, if you want a phone number bundled rather than added, or if you cannot commit for six months.
  • The tiebreaker nobody mentions: iPostal1 sells a registered agent service for $99 a year. Alliance states directly that it does not act as a registered agent.

Price, Head to Head

Alliance prices per building, so there is no single number. Its plan page headline showed New York from $48 a month, Los Angeles from $60 and San Francisco from $79, while individual New York listings ran from $49 to $125 and Las Vegas from $45 to $89. At 159 W. 25th Street in Manhattan, Platinum is $49 a month and Platinum Plus is $149, both on 6-month terms with $0 setup.

iPostal1 prices by plan and by location class:

iPostal1 plan Mail items a month Monthly Yearly
Office 60 60 $39.99 $399
Office 120 120 $49.99 $499
Office 120 Toll-Free 120 $59.99 $599
Office 240 Toll-Free 240 $69.99 $699

iPostal1 notes that plan pricing varies by whether the location is Standard, Select, Premium or Prestige, plus applicable taxes, so like Alliance the headline is a floor rather than a rate. It also offers a full refund within the first 30 days on request if the account has not been used.

What You Are Actually Buying

This is the part that decides it, and it is not a feature list.

Alliance puts your business inside a commercial office building with staff on site. Its plans include a lobby receptionist to greet visitors, meeting rooms and day offices bookable on demand, and what it describes as thousands of rooms globally. It contrasts its addresses with mailbox stores. That is what the extra money buys.

iPostal1 gives you a real physical street address at a mail operator, and then does the digital side properly: a picture of the outside of every item, sender information visible, automatic email alerts, an app, and unlimited cloud storage for scans and voice messages.

So the question is not which is better. It is whether anybody is ever going to look at your address and form an opinion, or walk into it.

Mail Handling, Which Is Closer Than You Think

Mail Alliance iPostal1
Items included Unlimited letters received 60 to 240 a month by plan, $0.35 each above
Names on the account Up to two authorized individuals 1 company name and up to 6 recipient names
Scanning Select locations only Content scan $2.25 for up to 10 pages, then $0.25 a page
Forwarding $10 monthly, $20 bi-weekly, $30 weekly at most locations Scheduled or on request, priced at carrier rates
In-person pickup Free during business hours Some locations charge a nominal fee, per its pricing page
Storage Not published 30 days for letters and small packages, less for large ones

Two rows deserve a second look. Alliance receives unlimited letters, which sounds better than 60 a month until you notice how little business mail actually arrives once you stop giving the address out. And the recipient names row is a real gap: two people on Alliance against a company name plus six recipients on iPostal1. If you have partners, a bookkeeper who receives statements, or two entities sharing one address, that is not a detail.

Scanning is the reverse. iPostal1’s whole product is built around reading your mail on a screen, at $2.25 an order up to ten pages, with bundles down to $1.50 an order if you buy twenty in advance. Alliance offers scanning at select locations depending on the individual centre, which means you have to ask before you buy.

Want the Address, the Phone and No Contract?

iPostal1 bundles a phone and fax number into every virtual office plan from $39.99 a month, and says there is no contract and you can change monthly plans any time.

See iPostal1 Plans →

The Fees Nobody Reads Until the Invoice

Both companies bill extras, and they bill different ones. On iPostal1’s plans and pricing page, mail, letter packs and packages under 1,728 cubic inches are stored free for 30 days, packages from 1,728 to 4,895 cubic inches for 10 days, and anything at or above 4,896 cubic inches for 5 days, after which extended storage runs $1.10 per item or per pound per month. Mail above your plan’s item count is $0.35 each. Check deposit by mail is $4.95 for up to five checks plus the scan and shipping, images of an invoice are $2.95 and images of package contents $3.95.

Alliance’s extras are simpler because there are fewer of them: forwarding by frequency at $10, $20 or $30 a month at most locations with postage or carrier fees possibly on top, a $30 virtual phone number, and the receptionist plans. Its plan page lists no per-item mail charges, which is the quiet advantage of unlimited letters, though it also says forwarding rates are presented during setup and postage or carrier fees may apply.

If you import, receive samples, or get supplier cheques in the post, price both on your actual mail rather than the headline. A store receiving twenty parcels a month is a different customer from one receiving six letters.

The Phone, Where the Gap Is Biggest

Alliance sells the phone separately. A virtual phone number is $30 a month. A live receptionist starts at $125 a month for 50 answered minutes, then $175 and $260 for the larger plans, with overage at $1.75 a minute. Alliance says you are not notified automatically when you go over and see it on the invoice at month end, though it does not charge overage in your first month. Answering hours are Monday to Friday 8am to 9pm Eastern plus Saturday 9am to 7pm Eastern.

iPostal1 includes a number in the plan. Every virtual office plan comes with a local number, or a toll-free number on the toll-free plans, plus a dedicated electronic fax number, a personal voicemail greeting and the ability to change your forwarding number, all listed as free. What you pay is usage: $0.015 a minute for inbound local calls, $0.035 for toll-free, $0.02 a minute for outbound forwarding to US numbers, and 250 free voicemail minutes a month.

Phone scenario Alliance iPostal1
Just a business number $30 a month Included in the plan
100 inbound local minutes Not published on the page I read About $1.50 in call charges
A human answering From $125 a month for 50 minutes AI and live answering add-on from $49 a month

That bottom row is the headline. Alliance’s cheapest human answering is $125 a month for a 50-minute allowance. iPostal1 advertises its AI and live call answering add-on from $49 a month, with real people and AI answering, transferring, scheduling and delivering a summary of each call. The page I read did not state a minute allowance at that price, the way Alliance states 50 minutes on its entry plan, so ask what the $49 covers on a heavy month before you switch on the strength of the headline.

If the phone is the thing you care about, neither of these is necessarily the answer. A dedicated business phone service is usually cheaper than a receptionist and gives you unlimited calling, and I compare the two I recommend in Talkroute versus Grasshopper.

The Registered Agent Question

This one is simple and it decides more cases than the price does.

Alliance says its locations can receive business and government mail once USPS Form 1583 is complete, but it states directly that it does not act as a registered agent, and that some states require you to appoint one separately. iPostal1 sells a registered agent service as an add-on at $99 a year with any business plan.

If your state requires a registered agent and you were hoping the virtual office covered it, iPostal1 sells both and Alliance does not. That does not make Alliance wrong, it means budgeting for a separate registered agent on top. Either way, check your state’s rules first, which I cover in business formation for high-ticket dropshipping.

The Term, and Getting Out

Every Alliance plan at the building I checked was sold on a 6-month term, printed next to the price. A $49 address is a $294 decision at list price. Setup is free, shown as $200 struck through with $0 charged, and individual buildings run promotions like a free next month, so the real six-month outlay can come in lower.

iPostal1 says there is no contract and that you can change monthly plans at any time, and offers a full refund within the first 30 days on request if the account has not been used. Yearly plans are cheaper per month, and the page presents them against twelve months of the monthly rate, so the annual saving is real but it re-introduces a commitment.

For anybody still testing a niche from my high-ticket niches list, that difference matters more than the few dollars a month between them.

What a Year Costs, Three Ways

All figures are twelve months of the monthly rate, using my example New York Alliance building and iPostal1’s entry plan, before promotions and taxes.

What you need Alliance iPostal1
Address only $588 at $49 a month $479.88 at $39.99, or $399 paid yearly
Address plus a business phone number $948 at $79 a month $479.88, the number is in the plan
Address plus human answering $2,088 at $174 a month $1,067.88 at $39.99 plus the $49 add-on

Read that third row carefully rather than just taking the cheaper number. The Alliance figure buys a named receptionist plan with a published 50-minute allowance in a staffed building. The iPostal1 figure buys an answering add-on whose allowance I could not find stated. They are not the same promise, and the right move is to ask iPostal1 what the $49 covers before you treat the gap as free money.

Where Alliance Wins Outright

  • The building. Staff on site, a lobby receptionist, and rooms you can book. iPostal1’s plan page describes a mail operator address, not a staffed office.
  • Meeting space. Bookable on demand with any plan, with up to 16 hours a month included on Platinum Plus where the location offers it.
  • Unlimited letters. No item count to watch, which matters if you actually receive volume.
  • Notarization included. Alliance includes online notarization for Form 1583 and says most clients finish the same day.

Where iPostal1 Wins Outright

  • No contract. Monthly plans change at any time, against a 6-month term.
  • The phone is in the price. A local number, a fax number and voicemail, with usage billed by the minute.
  • Six recipient names plus a company name, against two authorized individuals.
  • Registered agent for $99 a year, a role Alliance says it does not act as.
  • Scanning as a first-class feature rather than a per-location maybe.

One More Thing: Who Else Can Use the Address

This gets missed and it is a real constraint. Alliance authorizes up to two individuals to receive or collect mail under your business name, handled through Form 1583. iPostal1’s virtual office plans include one company name and up to six recipient names per address.

Two is enough for a solo operator and a spouse. It stops being enough the moment you have a partner, a bookkeeper who should receive statements directly, a second entity you are running through the same address, or a VA handling paperwork. The cap is the cap.

If you already know you will have three or four names on the account, that alone can decide this comparison before you look at a single price.

Which One I Would Buy

For a new high-ticket store, one person, working from abroad: iPostal1 Office 60 at $39.99 a month. The address is accepted for filings in many states, though you should confirm your own, the mail is readable from anywhere, the phone number is included, and nothing commits you while you are still proving the niche works. Move to the $399 annual plan once the store is real.

For a business that gets judged on its address: Alliance Platinum at the cheapest suitable building, with monthly forwarding. At my example building that is $59 a month. If a supplier, a lender or a partner is going to look you up, a staffed commercial building is a different answer from a mail centre, and $19 a month is not the place to save. One caveat even here: Alliance says on its location pages that it cannot guarantee acceptance into Google Business Profile, so this is about how your address reads to people, not about ranking on a map.

For anybody who needs both: buy Alliance for the address and a separate business phone line, and skip both companies’ answering services until missed calls are provably costing you orders. That is the stack I actually run, and it is the same logic behind how I approach supplier applications: buy the thing that removes an objection, not the thing that sounds impressive.

If you would rather not assemble any of this yourself, that is what my done-for-you store build is for.

Compare Alliance Buildings in Your City

Starting prices run from $45 a month in some cities, every location page shows its own price and term, and setup is $0.

Find Your Building →

Frequently Asked Questions

Is iPostal1 cheaper than Alliance Virtual Offices?
At the entry level, yes. iPostal1’s Office 60 is $39.99 a month or $399 a year against Alliance’s $49 to $125 in New York and $45 to $89 in Las Vegas. The gap widens once you add a phone number, which iPostal1 includes and Alliance charges $30 a month for.

Can Alliance’s address be used to register an LLC?
Alliance says many states allow its addresses for LLC or corporation registration and that requirements vary, and that some states require a separate registered agent. iPostal1’s plan page did not address LLC registration on the page I read. State rules differ, so confirm yours before filing.

Which one offers a registered agent?
iPostal1, as a $99 a year add-on with any business plan. Alliance states that it does not act as a registered agent.

Does either require a contract?
Alliance plans at the building I checked were 6-month terms. iPostal1 says there is no contract and that monthly plans can be changed at any time.

Which is better for mail scanning?
iPostal1. Content scans are $2.25 for up to ten pages, then $0.25 a page, with bundles for advance purchase. Alliance offers scanning at select locations only.

Which is better if customers call?
Neither, if the calls matter. Alliance’s receptionist starts at $125 a month for 50 minutes and iPostal1’s answering add-on starts at $49 a month. A dedicated business line usually costs less than either, and you answer it yourself.

Do both need USPS Form 1583?
Any commercial mail receiving agency needs the form before handling your mail, which covers both. Alliance includes free online notarization and says most clients finish the same day; iPostal1’s plans page does not state how it handles the notarization, so ask.

Related Articles