ActiveCampaign is a capable email and automation platform, and plenty of marketers swear by it. The trouble starts when your list grows and the price climbs with it, or when you notice that landing pages, richer CRM features and better segmentation sit on higher tiers. If you run a store and want automation without paying for a full marketing suite, it is worth seeing what else is out there.
At Ecommerce Paradise, I use email to follow up on quote requests, abandoned carts and past buyers, so I care a lot about what a platform actually costs at my list size. This guide compares four ActiveCampaign alternatives on price, free plans and fit, using each vendor’s own pricing page checked in October 2026. Where a page does not show a number or does not label it clearly, I say so. Some links below are affiliate links, so I may earn a commission if you sign up, at no extra cost to you. If you are new to high-ticket dropshipping, email is how you stay in front of buyers who take weeks to decide.
Start Free With Email Built for Online Stores
Omnisend lists a free plan with no credit card and says the free plan includes the paid-plan features except the email and contact limits. Connect your store and build your first automation.
The Four Best ActiveCampaign Alternatives at a Glance
Here is how the four compare on starting price, free plan and fit. Prices are US dollars per month at each tool’s lowest contact tier, and I flag every case where a page does not say whether a figure is monthly or annual.
| Platform | Cheapest paid plan | Free plan | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Omnisend | Standard at $16 (shown as $11.20 with a 3-month discount) | Yes, 250 contacts and 500 emails | Online stores that want email and SMS together |
| Kit | Creator at $33 billed yearly | Yes, no automations | Creators and teachers who sell content |
| GetResponse | Starter at $19 monthly or $15.58 annual | Not shown | Teams that want webinars and funnels with email |
| Brevo | Not shown | Yes, up to 300 emails a day | Senders who need email and SMS in one tool |
If you want to try a platform without a card, I would start with Omnisend because it lists a free plan with full features and clear limits. The sections below explain who should pick something else.
What ActiveCampaign Actually Costs
To judge an alternative, you need the baseline, and this one is awkward. The ActiveCampaign pricing page shows four plans, Starter, Plus, Pro and Enterprise, but the page I read shows placeholders instead of dollar amounts. It says plans are billed yearly for 1,000 contacts and offers a contact selector from under 500 up to more than 250,000.
A third-party listing helps fill the gap. Capterra’s ActiveCampaign page lists Starter at $15, Plus at $49, Pro at $79 and Enterprise at $145 per month, without naming a contact tier, so treat those as starting points and not a quote.
On features, the vendor page says Starter includes multi-step automation, AI automation and campaign builders, and more than 250 templates. Plus adds cross-channel marketing, landing pages and site messages, while Pro adds predictive sending, conditional content, advanced segmentation and attribution. Enterprise adds SSO, HIPAA support and premium CRM integrations such as Salesforce.
The page advertises a 14-day free trial with no credit card required and shows no free plan. User counts rise from 1 on Starter and Plus to 3 on Pro and 5 on Enterprise.
Why Teams Look for Something Else
The first reason is the price curve. The cost scales with your contact count, so the plan that looked cheap at 1,000 contacts gets expensive as your list grows.
The second reason is the feature ladder. Landing pages and richer CRM features begin on Plus, and predictive sending and attribution wait on Pro, which costs more than five times the entry price on Capterra’s numbers.
The third reason is store fit. ActiveCampaign is a general marketing platform, while some stores prefer a tool built around carts, orders and product feeds.
What to Compare Before You Switch
Start with your list size. Every tool here prices by contacts or subscribers, so a quote at 1,000 contacts tells you little about your cost at 10,000.
Next, check where automation begins. Some tools put multi-step workflows on the cheap tier, while others hold them back or cap how many you can run.
Then look at the free plan limits. Count contacts, monthly emails and daily sends, because those are the limits you will hit first.
Finally, test the store connection. Sync your products and orders, then trigger an abandoned cart email before you commit.
1. Omnisend: Best for Online Stores
Omnisend is the one I recommend most for stores, because it is built around carts, orders and product recommendations. According to the Omnisend pricing page, the Free plan covers 250 contacts, 500 emails a month and 500 web push notifications, with no credit card required.
The page says the Free plan has all paid-plan features except the email and contact limits, and it lists dynamic content, a personalized product recommender, personalized sending time and advanced reporting. The page is slightly inconsistent, because the FAQ names only email and contact limits while the plan card also shows web push limits.
Standard shows $11.20 per month, which is the discounted rate for the first 3 months. The page’s $48 total for three months works out to $16 a month at the regular rate, and it allows 500 contacts and 6,000 emails a month. The feature table says Standard sends are 12 times your list size, which conflicts with the 6,000 figure, so confirm at checkout.
Pro shows $41.30 per month with the discount, or $177 for three months, which works out to $59 a month. It covers 2,500 contacts, unlimited emails under a fair-use rule and SMS from $0.007 per message on high-volume US sends. The page does not show a trial length, since the Free plan is the way to try it.
My email platform comparison for ecommerce shows how it stacks up against the field.
Best for: online stores that want email, SMS and store data working together.
2. Kit: Best for Creators and Course Sellers
Kit suits people who sell content, courses or memberships. The Kit pricing page lists a Free plan with unlimited landing pages, forms and broadcasts, plus the ability to sell digital products and subscriptions.
The free plan does not include visual automations or automated email sequences. The page is inconsistent on the subscriber limit, with the plan card saying 1,000 and the comparison table saying up to 10,000, so confirm in your account.
Creator is listed at $33 per month for 1,000 subscribers, billed yearly at $390. It adds unlimited visual automations and email sequences, SMS marketing, polls and removal of Kit branding. Pro is listed at $50 per month for 1,000 subscribers, billed at $593 for the first year, with a standard price of $66 a month afterward.
The page advertises a 14-day free trial with no credit card required. Monthly-billed prices and prices above 1,000 subscribers are not shown.
Best for: creators and course sellers who want simple automations and a free start.
3. GetResponse: Best for Webinars and Funnels
GetResponse bundles email with landing pages, webinars and a website builder. The GetResponse pricing page lists Starter at $19 per month billed monthly or $15.58 billed annually, and Marketer at $59 monthly or $48.38 annually.
Creator is listed at $69 monthly or $56.58 annually, and adds webinars, a website builder and a course creator for up to 500 students. Enterprise is custom priced. The page does not state a contact tier for these prices, so I would not assume they apply to your list size.
Starter includes one custom automation workflow, while Marketer and above list unlimited workflows. A landing page builder is included on every plan, and yearly billing is labeled 18% off. A trial button appears on each plan, but the page does not state the trial length or a free plan.
My GetResponse alternatives guide goes further on the trade-offs. For setup, follow my GetResponse walkthrough for a high-ticket store.
Best for: sellers who want email, landing pages and webinars in one subscription.
4. Brevo: Best for Email Plus SMS
Brevo suits senders who want email and SMS from one account. The Brevo pricing page lists a Free plan, Starter, Standard, Professional and Enterprise, but it shows no dollar prices, so I list every paid price as not shown.
The FAQ says the Free plan sends up to 300 emails a day after account approval. Starter starts from 5,000 emails a month, Standard lists unlimited multi-step workflows, A/B testing and one landing page, and Professional adds WhatsApp, popups, push notifications and 10 seats.
The page shows a monthly and yearly toggle with 10% off for yearly billing, but it does not say which plans the discount covers. No trial length is shown, since the Free plan is described as the way to try Brevo.
My Kit vs Brevo comparison puts two of these side by side.
Best for: senders who want a free start with email and SMS in one tool.
Turn Free Subscribers Into Repeat Buyers
Kit lists a free plan with unlimited landing pages, forms and broadcasts, and a 14-day trial of paid plans with no credit card. Build a signup form and send your first broadcast.
What a Month Costs at a Small List
Pricing by contacts hides the real bill, so this table shows the lowest paid plan and the next plan up at each tool’s starting contact tier. The tiers are not identical, so treat it as a rough guide and check your own list size.
| Platform | Lowest paid plan | Next plan up |
|---|---|---|
| ActiveCampaign (Capterra listing) | Starter: $15 | Plus: $49 |
| Omnisend (500 and 2,500 contacts) | Standard: $16 | Pro: $59 |
| Kit (1,000 subscribers, billed yearly) | Creator: $33 | Pro: $50 first year, then $66 |
| GetResponse | Starter: $19 monthly or $15.58 annual | Marketer: $59 monthly or $48.38 annual |
| Brevo | Not shown | Not shown |
Two cautions apply. ActiveCampaign’s numbers come from a third-party listing, not its own page, and Omnisend’s Standard and Pro prices include my calculation from the three-month totals on its page.
The takeaway is that the entry plans cluster between $15 and $33 a month, so the real difference shows up in what each plan lets you automate and how fast your list grows.
When ActiveCampaign Is Still the Right Call
I would not tell every team to leave. If you rely on its CRM, deal tracking and deep automation maps, switching means rebuilding workflows that took time to get right.
ActiveCampaign also lists conditional content, predictive sending and attribution on Pro, which lighter tools may not match. For a team that uses those, the higher plan is a fair trade. For a store that mainly sends abandoned cart and welcome emails, though, a tool built for stores costs less to run.
Which Platform Fits Which Email Strategy
Abandoned cart and post-purchase flows need a store connection. Omnisend is built around that, and my guide to the ecommerce email flows every store should run shows which ones to set up first.
A newsletter and course launch needs simple sequences and landing pages. Kit and GetResponse both list landing pages, and both let you build a signup form quickly.
Quote follow-up for high-ticket buyers needs a few well-timed emails over several weeks. Any tool here can do that, so pick the one whose free plan or trial lets you test it first.
How to Choose Between the Alternatives
Begin with your list size. If you have a few hundred contacts, Omnisend’s free plan may cover you, and if you sell content, Kit’s free plan is a cheap place to start.
Then think about automation. Compare how many workflows each plan allows, because that is where the price jumps.
Next, price the second year. Look at what you will pay when your list doubles, and check any promotional price that reverts after the first period.
If you want help building sequences, consider hiring it out. I recommend OnlineJobs.ph for finding a virtual assistant who can build and maintain your email flows.
Last, run a two-week test. Send the same welcome email from your top two picks and compare setup time and deliverability.
How to Migrate Without Losing Subscribers
Export your contacts, tags and unsubscribe list from ActiveCampaign before you cancel anything. Clean out bounced and inactive addresses, because a messy list follows you into the new tool.
Import your suppressed and unsubscribed contacts as well, so you never email someone who opted out. Rebuild your welcome and cart flows first, then move the rest.
Keep the old account until your first full campaign cycle finishes in the new one. A few weeks of overlap is cheaper than a deliverability problem.
Common Mistakes When Switching Email Platforms
The first mistake is choosing on entry price alone. A cheap plan that caps workflows costs more in manual sends.
The second is ignoring promotional pricing. Several tools show a discounted first-period rate, and the regular price arrives later.
The third is skipping compliance. The FTC’s CAN-SPAM compliance guide covers opt-outs and sender identification, and every platform here expects you to follow it.
The fourth is moving everything at once. Migrate one list and one flow, learn it, then do the rest.
Where Email Fits in a High-Ticket Business
High-ticket buyers rarely buy on the first visit. They ask for a quote, compare options and come back weeks later, and a short email sequence keeps your store in front of them without chasing by phone.
Before you choose a platform, get the foundation in place. Choose a category from my high-ticket niches list. Then line up reliable fulfillment with my guide to finding dropshipping suppliers.
Set the company up properly with my business formation guide, since email platforms ask for a real business address. If you are comparing more tools, see my list of Klaviyo alternatives.
If you’re brand new, start with my free mini course. When you’re ready to go deeper, the High-Ticket Dropshipping Masterclass covers the full model.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best free alternative to ActiveCampaign?
Omnisend lists a free plan for 250 contacts and 500 emails a month, and Kit lists a free plan without automations. You can start with Omnisend’s free plan.
Is there a cheaper platform than ActiveCampaign?
On the figures I found, GetResponse Starter at $15.58 billed annually and Omnisend Standard at $16 sit close to ActiveCampaign Starter at $15 on Capterra. Compare features, because the plans are not identical.
Does ActiveCampaign have a free plan?
The pricing page advertises a 14-day free trial with no credit card required. A free plan is not shown.
Which email platform is best for a small ecommerce store?
It depends on what you sell. Omnisend suits stores with carts and orders, Kit suits creators and course sellers, and GetResponse suits teams that run webinars.
Can I move my contacts from ActiveCampaign?
Yes. Export contacts, tags and your suppression list, clean the file and import in batches. Test one automation end to end before moving the rest.
Ready to Follow Up Without the Heavy Price Tag?
Start on Omnisend’s free plan, connect your store and send your first abandoned cart email. Compare it with your current setup for two weeks.
Want me to build the whole store for you? Check out my done-for-you store service → and skip the setup work entirely. Prefer to build it yourself with a guide? Join my coaching program →.
Related Articles
If you found this useful, these guides go deeper on related topics:
- 6 Best Email Marketing Platforms for Ecommerce Stores in 2026
- GetResponse Alternatives 2026: Sorted by the Limit That Sent You Looking
- Klaviyo Alternatives: 7 Email Platforms Compared for 2026
- GoHighLevel vs ActiveCampaign in 2026: All-in-One Agency Platform vs Email Automation Specialist
- Ecommerce Email Marketing: The Flows Every Store Should Have Running

Trevor Fenner is an ecommerce entrepreneur and world traveler from Seattle, Washington, and the founder of Ecommerce Paradise, a platform focused on helping entrepreneurs build and scale profitable high-ticket ecommerce and dropshipping businesses. With over a decade of hands-on experience, Trevor specializes in high-ticket dropshipping strategy, niche and product selection, supplier recruiting and onboarding, Google & Bing Shopping ads, ecommerce SEO, and systems-driven automation and scaling. Through Ecommerce Paradise, he provides free education via in-depth guides like How to Start High-Ticket Dropshipping, advanced training through the High-Ticket Dropshipping Masterclass, and fully done-for-you turnkey ecommerce services for entrepreneurs who want a faster, more hands-off path to growth. Trevor is known for emphasizing sustainable, real-world ecommerce models over hype-driven tactics, helping store owners build scalable, sellable, and location-independent brands.
He maintains homes in Seattle and Bali, spends most of the year overseas, and usually returns to Seattle for about a month each summer.

