The reason a high-ticket store owner should care about business credit is not funding. It is that suppliers check it. When you apply for an authorized dealer agreement on $4,000 units, the company on the other side is deciding whether to extend you terms and put their brand in your hands, and one of the things they can look at is your business credit profile.
Nav monitors that profile and puts the bureau data in front of you. This is how I would set it up, what the free version actually covers, and the free step I would do before paying Nav anything. Every price and feature below comes from Nav’s own pricing page, plus Dun & Bradstreet’s and the SBA’s published guidance, all read on 29 September 2026. Where something is my opinion, I say so.
Two disclaimers and I mean both. I am not a financial advisor and none of this is financial advice. Nothing here is a recommendation to take on debt or seek funding, and decisions about borrowing belong with you and a licensed advisor or your accountant.
I run Ecommerce Paradise and the supplier-approval angle is the one I actually care about, because a declined dealer application is a dead niche. If the model is new to you, start with what high-ticket dropshipping actually is.
See What Suppliers See, at No Cost
Nav’s free tier includes basic business credit ranges from Dun & Bradstreet, Experian and Equifax, one personal credit score and report from Experian, and cash flow tracking across unlimited accounts.
Do the Free Thing First
Before you subscribe to anything that monitors your business credit, make sure you have a business credit file to monitor. That starts with a D-U-N-S number, and it is free.
Dun & Bradstreet states plainly that there is no cost to request and receive a D-U-N-S Number. It establishes your business in the Dun & Bradstreet database and, in their words, automatically creates a unique and separate identity for your business. Companies and government agencies use it to evaluate creditworthiness, approve supplier relationships and make contracting decisions. That middle one is exactly your dealer application.
The catch is timing. D&B says normal processing can take up to 30 business days. There is a paid expedited option that delivers within eight business days, though D&B does not state the fee on that page, so check it before assuming.
Thirty business days is roughly six weeks. If you are planning to apply for dealer agreements, request the D-U-N-S number now rather than when a supplier asks for it. This is the single most common sequencing mistake I see: people build the store, find suppliers, then discover the paperwork can have a lead time of up to six weeks.
What you need to request one: legal business name, business address, business phone number, the owner, president or CEO name, legal business structure, the year the business was created, primary industry, and the total number of full- and part-time employees.
Look at that list and notice what it assumes. You need a formed legal entity with an address and a phone number before any of this works, which is why the entity comes first in the order I teach. That side is covered in business formation for high-ticket dropshipping.
Know What Business Credit Even Is
Business credit is not one number, and this trips people up because personal credit has trained everyone to expect a single score.
The SBA names four in its guidance on how business credit differs from personal: FICO SBSS, Paydex, Intelliscore, and the Small Business Credit Risk Score. Different bureaus, different scales, different purposes.
The SBA also makes the point that matters most here: with business credit, banks, suppliers, vendors, retailers and other businesses will be able to assess your company’s creditworthiness. Suppliers and vendors are named explicitly. The SBA’s framing is that a business should establish its own unique credit identity.
Paydex is a Dun & Bradstreet score, which is why the D-U-N-S number is the prerequisite rather than an optional extra. No D-U-N-S file, no Paydex.
The SBA article does not publish score ranges or a step-by-step build process, so do not expect either from it. What it is useful for is the vocabulary, so that when a tool shows you four different scores you know why there are four.
What Each Nav Tier Actually Gives You
Nav’s published pricing has four tiers, and each one is positioned around funding readiness rather than around features.
| Tier | Price | Business credit data | Personal credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 a month | Basic business credit ranges and high level data from Dun & Bradstreet, Experian and Equifax | 1 score and report from Experian |
| Track | $39.99 a month | 4 detailed business credit scores and report data from Dun & Bradstreet, Experian and Equifax | 2 scores and reports from Experian and TransUnion |
| Build | $49.99 a month | Everything in Track | Everything in Track |
| Expand | $74.99 a month | Everything in Build, plus a FICO SBSS score | Everything in Build |
All three paid tiers are advertised with 20% savings when you pay quarterly. Build is marked as the popular one.
The differences beyond the credit data are where the real decision sits. Free adds basic cash flow tracking across unlimited accounts and a basic funding readiness snapshot. Track adds a funding readiness assessment with insights to help improve, and exclusive discounts on fees from Nav’s trusted lending partner.
Build adds a tradeline to build business credit, described on the pricing page as the membership payment, plus bookkeeping tools to manage cash flow and simplify tax prep. It also lists the Nav Credit Builder Card, and the page says it is in beta and not included at signup, which is worth reading twice before you subscribe expecting a card.
Expand adds business credit coaching with monthly sessions to break down your action plan, and the FICO SBSS score, which Nav says tracks eligibility with more than 7,500 lenders. That lender figure is Nav’s own claim rather than an independently published number.
That tradeline deserves a plain reading too. The pricing page describes it as a tradeline based on the membership payment, which means your subscription payment is what gets reported. It is not a credit line and it is not money you can borrow.
Step 1: Start Free and See What Is Already There
Open the free Nav account before you decide anything. The point of this step is diagnostic: you are finding out whether a business credit file exists for you at all and what shape it is in.
Three outcomes are possible and they lead to different decisions. You might find no meaningful file, which means the work is establishing one rather than monitoring it. You might find a thin file with a little data, which is normal for a young business. Or you might find errors, which is the case where paying for detail becomes worth it quickly.
Free gives you ranges and high level data rather than the detailed reports, so treat it as a smoke test rather than a full picture. That is enough to answer the only question that matters at this stage, which is whether there is anything to look at.
Step 2: Check the Basics That Cost Nothing
Before paying for monitoring, get the inputs right, because a monitoring tool cannot fix bad data.
Make sure your business name, address and phone number are consistent everywhere: your entity filing, your D-U-N-S record, your website footer, your supplier applications. Inconsistent details are how a business ends up with two partial credit files instead of one good one, and this is my own hard-won observation rather than something Nav documents.
Get a real business phone number rather than your mobile, because it goes on the D-U-N-S request and on every dealer application. If you have not sorted that, the practical options are covered elsewhere on the site.
Open the business bank account and run everything through it. Nav’s free tier includes basic cash flow tracking across unlimited accounts, which only tells you anything if the accounts are actually separate from your personal spending.
Step 3: Decide Whether Paying Is Worth It, Honestly
Here is my own framework, and it is mine rather than Nav’s.
Paying for Track at $39.99 a month makes sense when you have a real file with real data in it and you need the detail, most obviously when you have found an error and need to see exactly what is being reported. Four detailed scores plus two personal reports is a genuine upgrade over ranges.
It does not make sense when your file is empty. Monitoring nothing costs $479.88 a year.
Build at $49.99 is the tier where you are buying a credit-building product rather than information. Whether a tradeline based on your own membership payment is worth $10 a month more than Track is a judgement I cannot make for you, and I would want to understand exactly what gets reported and to which bureau before paying for it.
Expand at $74.99 buys coaching and the FICO SBSS score. Coaching has value if you will actually use the monthly sessions. If you would not book them, you are paying $74.99 a month for a score.
One number to keep in view: $74.99 a month is $899.88 a year. In the niches I work in that is roughly one order’s gross profit, which makes it either trivial or significant depending entirely on whether you are getting orders yet.
Get the Foundations Built Properly
My done-for-you builds cover the store, the supplier approvals and the business setup underneath them, so the paperwork is not what stops your dealer applications.
Step 4: Use It for Supplier Applications, Not Just Funding
Nav’s whole product is framed around funding readiness, and for a dropshipping store I would use it for something the marketing barely mentions.
Before you submit a dealer application to a supplier you actually want, look at what your business credit profile says, because per the SBA, suppliers and vendors can assess it. Finding out that your file is thin or wrong after a rejection is worse than finding out before, when you can either fix it or lead with something else in the application.
The something else matters. In my experience a young business with a thin credit file can still win an authorized dealer agreement on the strength of a professional site, a real phone number, a proper entity and a specific plan for the brand, because suppliers care more about whether you look like a real operation than about a score. That is a good thing, because the score is the slowest part to build.
If you have not got to the supplier stage yet, that is the actual bottleneck in this business and I wrote a whole guide to finding high-ticket suppliers about it.
What Nav Does Not Tell You on the Pricing Page
Worth knowing what is absent, because absence is not the same as a promise either way.
The pricing page does not state how often the scores refresh, does not publish score ranges for any of the four scores, does not advertise a free trial on the paid tiers, and does not state contract length or cancellation terms. None of that means the answers are unfavourable. It means you should find them out from Nav before subscribing rather than assuming.
Cancellation terms are the one I would check first on any monthly subscription tied to a credit product, and that is general caution rather than anything specific to Nav.
What This Costs Over a Year
| Tier | Monthly | Twelve months at the monthly rate |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 |
| Track | $39.99 | $479.88 |
| Build | $49.99 | $599.88 |
| Expand | $74.99 | $899.88 |
Those twelve-month figures are the monthly prices multiplied out, not annual plan prices. All three paid tiers advertise 20% savings on quarterly payment, so paying quarterly should come in lower than the column above. I have broken the tiers down further in my Nav pricing guide.
Compare the free D-U-N-S number against $899.88 and the sequencing argument makes itself. Do the free thing, see what exists, then decide.
Where This Sits in the Bigger Picture
Business credit is a slow asset. It compounds over years and there is no version of this where you build it in a month, which is exactly why starting the free parts early is worth more than subscribing to the expensive tier later.
It is also not what makes a store work. What makes a store work is selling something people want at a margin that survives, and if you are still choosing, my high-ticket niches list is where I would start.
The other pieces of the boring foundation are worth doing in the same stretch, because they share inputs. Your legal pages need the same entity name and address the D-U-N-S request does, and I have written up how I generate those pages in an afternoon.
The Whole Thing, in Order
| Step | What you do |
|---|---|
| 1 | Form the entity and get a real business address and phone number |
| 2 | Request a D-U-N-S number from Dun & Bradstreet at no cost, allowing up to 30 business days |
| 3 | Open the business bank account and route everything through it |
| 4 | Make your name, address and phone consistent everywhere before anything gets reported |
| 5 | Open the free Nav account and see whether a file exists at all |
| 6 | Read what the free tier shows and decide whether you have a monitoring problem or a building problem |
| 7 | If you found errors, that is when paying for detailed reports earns its money |
| 8 | Check the profile before you submit dealer applications, not after a rejection |
| 9 | Ask Nav about refresh frequency and cancellation terms before subscribing |
| 10 | Revisit the paid tiers once the business has trading history worth monitoring |
Steps 1 to 4 are the ones that actually build the asset and none of them involve Nav. That is not a criticism of the product, it is the order the thing works in.
Start With the Free Tier
Find out whether you have a business credit file worth monitoring before you pay for monitoring. Paid tiers run $39.99, $49.99 and $74.99 a month, with 20% off quarterly.
Six Mistakes to Avoid
Paying to monitor a file that does not exist yet. Open the free tier first and find out. Track is $479.88 a year for detail you may have nothing to apply it to.
Requesting the D-U-N-S number when a supplier asks. D&B says normal processing can take up to 30 business days. Start it before you need it.
Inconsistent business details. Different spellings of your name or address across filings and applications split your record. Fix it before anything gets reported, not after.
Expecting the Credit Builder Card on signup. Nav’s own page says it is in beta and not included at signup.
Reading the tradeline as a credit line. The pricing page describes it as a tradeline based on the membership payment. It reports a payment, it does not lend you anything.
Subscribing without asking about cancellation. Nav’s pricing page does not publish contract length or cancellation terms, so ask rather than assume.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a free version?
Yes. Nav’s free tier is $0 a month and includes a basic funding readiness snapshot, basic business credit ranges and high level data from Dun & Bradstreet, Experian and Equifax, one personal credit score and report from Experian, and basic cash flow tracking across unlimited accounts.
What do the paid tiers cost?
Track is $39.99 a month, Build is $49.99 a month and Expand is $74.99 a month, all advertised with 20% savings when paid quarterly.
How many credit scores do I get?
Free gives ranges and high level data. Track and above give 4 detailed business credit scores and report data from Dun & Bradstreet, Experian and Equifax, plus 2 personal credit scores and reports from Experian and TransUnion. Expand adds a FICO SBSS score.
Do I need a D-U-N-S number first?
For the Dun & Bradstreet side of your profile, that is what establishes your business in their database. It is free to request and D&B says normal processing can take up to 30 business days, with a paid expedited option delivering within eight business days.
What is the tradeline on the Build plan?
Nav’s pricing page describes it as a tradeline to build business credit based on the membership payment. It is a reported payment rather than a credit line.
Do I get the Nav Credit Builder Card?
Nav’s pricing page lists it under the Build plan and states it is in beta and not included at signup.
What is FICO SBSS?
It is one of the business credit scores the SBA names, alongside Paydex, Intelliscore and the Small Business Credit Risk Score. Nav includes it on the Expand tier and says it tracks eligibility with more than 7,500 lenders, which is Nav’s own figure.
Why should a dropshipping store care about business credit?
Per the SBA, banks, suppliers, vendors, retailers and other businesses can assess your company’s creditworthiness. For a high-ticket store, the supplier and vendor part is the practical reason.
How often does Nav refresh the scores?
Nav’s pricing page does not state this. Ask them before subscribing rather than assuming a frequency.
Should I take funding through Nav’s lending partner?
That is not a question I can answer for you. I am not a financial advisor, this article is not financial advice, and a decision about borrowing belongs with you and a licensed advisor or your accountant.
Related Articles
- Nav Review
- Nav Pricing
- Nav Alternatives
- Nav vs Dun & Bradstreet
- How to Set Up Termly for an Ecommerce Store

Trevor Fenner is an ecommerce entrepreneur and the founder of Ecommerce Paradise, a platform focused on helping entrepreneurs build and scale profitable high-ticket ecommerce and dropshipping businesses. With over a decade of hands-on experience, Trevor specializes in high-ticket dropshipping strategy, niche and product selection, supplier recruiting and onboarding, Google & Bing Shopping ads, ecommerce SEO, and systems-driven automation and scaling. Through Ecommerce Paradise, he provides free education via in-depth guides like How to Start High-Ticket Dropshipping, advanced training through the High-Ticket Dropshipping Masterclass, and fully done-for-you turnkey ecommerce services for entrepreneurs who want a faster, more hands-off path to growth. Trevor is known for emphasizing sustainable, real-world ecommerce models over hype-driven tactics, helping store owners build scalable, sellable, and location-independent brands.
Still deciding what to sell?
Grab the free list of 1,000+ niches that work for high-ticket dropshipping, sorted by category.
Free. Unsubscribe any time.
