How to Set Up QuickBooks for an Ecommerce Store: The Order That Prevents Rework

Data card showing Plus is the first QuickBooks plan with inventory tracking at $140 a month
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure

Almost every complaint I hear about QuickBooks Online is not really a complaint about the software. It is a complaint about rework. Somebody connected a sales channel before the chart of accounts existed, so nine hundred orders landed in a generic income account and a weekend disappeared into recategorising them. Somebody picked the cheapest plan because the headline price looked reasonable, then found out in month five that inventory tracking is not in that plan and had to move the whole file up two tiers. Somebody turned on a bank feed with a start date that overlapped transactions already imported by hand, and now January exists twice.

None of those are hard problems on their own. They are all cheap to avoid and expensive to fix, and what separates the cheap version from the expensive version is the order you do things in. This post is the order I would follow for an ecommerce store, with the reason each step sits where it does. If you understand why the chart of accounts has to exist before the connector, you can adapt the sequence to your own store instead of following it like a recipe.

Every price here comes from Intuit’s own pricing page as it stood on 7 September 2026, and I print the first year cost and the steady state second year cost side by side, because the advertised number is a three month promotional price. Nobody pays the headline for twelve months, and a setup decision made on the headline is a decision made on a number that does not exist.

One disclaimer before the first step, and I will repeat it later because it matters more in this post than in most. I run stores, I am not a CPA. Nothing here is tax or accounting advice. Anything touching sales tax, deductions, contractor classification or filings needs to be confirmed with a CPA or with the taxing authority itself.

Start on the plan you will still be on in year two

Simple Start is $38 a month at list, $19 for the first three months, which is $399 in year one and $456 in year two. Plus is $140 at list, and it is the first plan that includes inventory tracking, at $1,470 in year one and $1,680 in year two. Pick against the feature gates, not the promo, because moving plans later means redoing work you already paid for in hours.

Compare the QuickBooks plans →

Why the order is the whole game

Accounting software is a stack of dependencies pretending to be a settings menu. The chart of accounts is the foundation, because every rule, every bank feed match and every connector mapping points at an account. Bank rules point at accounts. Sales channel connectors map order lines to accounts. Sales tax settings post liabilities to accounts. Payroll posts wages and taxes to accounts. If the accounts are not there when the mapping is made, the mapping goes somewhere generic, and generic is where reconciliation goes to die.

The second dependency is the plan tier, because the tier decides which of those features even exist. There is no point designing an inventory workflow inside a plan that has no inventory module. And the third dependency is the start date, because everything you import before the start date and everything the feeds pull after it have to meet exactly once, at a boundary you chose deliberately.

Step one, choose the plan against the feature gates, not the price

This is first because it is the only step where getting it wrong costs you a migration rather than an afternoon. QuickBooks Online sells four tiers, and the gates between them are not subtle.

Plan List per month Promo Year one Year two Users Inventory
QuickBooks Simple Start $38 $19 for 3 months $399 $456 1 plus 2 accountants No
QuickBooks Essentials $85 $42.50 for 3 months $892.50 $1,020 3 plus 2 accountants No
QuickBooks Plus $140 $70 for 3 months $1,470 $1,680 5 plus 2 accountants Yes
QuickBooks Advanced $340 $170 for 3 months $3,570 $4,080 25 plus 3 accountants Yes

The number that decides most ecommerce setups is in the last column. Intuit’s own inventory page states that inventory tracking is available in QuickBooks Online Plus and QuickBooks Online Advanced. That means the entry price for inventory in this product is $140 a month at list, or $1,680 a year once the promotional months are gone. There is no cheaper door into it, and there is no add on that bolts inventory onto Simple Start.

So the first question is not “what can I afford” but “do I hold stock”. If you buy goods, keep them somewhere and ship them yourself, you are on Plus or you are tracking inventory outside QuickBooks in a spreadsheet or a dedicated tool and posting summary journal entries. Both are legitimate. Choosing Simple Start while intending to track inventory inside it is not, because that plan cannot do it and you will find out at the worst possible moment.

The second question is how many people need a login. Simple Start is one user plus two accountants. Essentials is three plus two. If you have a bookkeeper, a virtual assistant doing order admin and yourself, Simple Start is already too small, and that is a gate that has nothing to do with features.

Two smaller gates worth knowing before you commit. Class and location tracking is capped at 40 on Plus and is unlimited on Advanced, which matters if you want to see profitability per sales channel or per warehouse using classes. Batch invoicing and workflow automation are Advanced only. Advanced also lists Project Management AI, Finance AI and customisable KPIs. For most stores under a few million in revenue, Advanced at $4,080 a year in steady state is a lot of money for features you will not use, and I would rather see that budget go to a bookkeeper.

If you are a single owner with no employees and no stock, there is a smaller product line worth looking at first. QuickBooks Solopreneur shows three tiers: Free, Lite at $20 a month with a promotional $10 for three months, and Simple Start at $38 with the same $19 promotional rate. Lite includes unlimited invoices, unlimited receipts and mileage, three contractors, the mobile app, automated bill pay, automated sales and sales tax, instant deposit and app integrations. Lite works out to $210 in year one and $240 in year two. Intuit describes Solopreneur as built specifically for single owner, self employed businesses, focused on automated transaction sorting, goals and tax readiness rather than broader team and inventory features. That last clause is the tell. It is not the product for a store with stock.

Still weighing QuickBooks against the alternatives rather than setting it up? The fuller costing sits in my breakdown of every QuickBooks plan costed for year one and year two. The ecommerce specific ranking sits in the accounting software comparison ranked by where inventory starts.

Step two, build the chart of accounts before a single transaction lands

This comes second because everything downstream points at it. QuickBooks gives you a default chart of accounts based on the industry you pick during setup, and the default is fine as a skeleton and wrong as a finished product for a store.

What I add, at minimum, before connecting anything:

Separate income accounts per sales channel. One for the Shopify store, one for Amazon, one for Etsy, one for wholesale if you do it. You want to be able to answer “what did Amazon actually contribute” without a report rebuild. If you would rather use classes for channel and keep one income account, that also works, but decide now, because switching later means touching every historical transaction.

A cost of goods sold account, and if you hold stock, an inventory asset account. These are two different things and conflating them is the single most common bookkeeping error I see in store files. Inventory is an asset on the balance sheet until it sells. Cost of goods sold is an expense on the profit and loss at the moment it sells. If you expense purchases straight to cost of goods sold at the time you buy them, your monthly profit will swing violently with your purchasing schedule and tell you nothing useful.

Separate expense accounts for the fees that eat ecommerce margins: merchant processing fees, marketplace or channel fees, shipping and postage out, packaging materials, returns and refunds handling, advertising. Lumping all of these into one “fees” bucket hides the exact number you most need to watch. If you are running thin margins, the difference between a 2.9 percent processing cost and a 3.4 percent one is your whole month, and you cannot see it in a lump.

An account for sales tax payable, which is a liability, not income. Sales tax you collect is not yours. Treating it as revenue inflates your top line and gives you a nasty surprise at filing time. Again, confirm the treatment with a CPA for your specific state and nexus situation, because I am describing a general shape, not advising on your obligations.

One note on costing method, since it always comes up here. Intuit’s inventory page names Amazon, Etsy and Shopify among the apps the feature works with, but it does not state a costing method. I am not going to tell you it uses first in first out or weighted average when the page does not say so. If your accountant needs to know, ask Intuit or test it in a trial file before a year of history rides on the answer.

Step three, connect the bank and card feeds, and pick the opening boundary

Feeds come third, after the accounts exist, so that the bank rules you write have somewhere sensible to point. This step has one decision that people rush and then regret: the start date.

Pick a clean boundary. The first day of a month at minimum, the first day of your financial year if you can manage it. Everything before that boundary is history, entered as opening balances or not entered at all. Everything after it comes in through the feeds. What you must not do is let the feed pull ninety days of transactions that you have also entered manually, because you will then spend longer deduplicating than you would have spent doing the whole month by hand.

Connect the business bank account and every business card. If you are still running store purchases through a personal card, stop and fix that first. It is not a bookkeeping preference, it is the thing that makes the rest of this possible, and it is also the thing that makes your accountant’s life bearable at year end.

Then write bank rules, but write them slowly. A rule that auto categorises your shipping carrier charges to postage is safe. A rule that auto categorises anything from a large marketplace to income is not, because a marketplace deposit is usually a net figure with fees, refunds and reserves already netted out of it. That is the subject of step five, and it is the reason I do not want aggressive rules in place before you have decided how sales land.

Reconcile the first month manually against the actual bank statement, line by line, before you trust anything. The point is not the reconciliation itself. The point is that reconciling by hand once is how you discover the three things your rules are quietly getting wrong.

Step four, connect the sales channel, and only now

The connector goes in fourth because a connector is essentially a mapping instruction, and a mapping instruction with nowhere good to point will point somewhere bad. Now that channel income accounts, a cost of goods sold account, fee expense accounts and a sales tax liability account all exist, the connector has real targets.

Intuit’s inventory page names Amazon, Etsy and Shopify as apps the feature works with. What I would not do is take any marketing page’s word for exactly which fields a given connector carries and in what form. Connector behaviour varies by app, by version and by which of your channels you use, and the honest instruction is to verify it yourself rather than trust a summary. So install the connector, let it bring in two or three days of real orders, and then check specifically: does an order arrive as one summarised line or as a detailed transaction, are fees shown separately or netted, are refunds represented as their own transactions, and does sales tax collected land in the liability account rather than in income. Four questions, ten minutes, and they save you the weekend.

If the answers are wrong, fix the mapping now while there are three days of data, not in December when there are nine months of it.

Step five, decide how sales, fees and refunds should land

This is the step that separates a store file that reconciles from one that does not, and it is worth slowing down for.

A payment processor or marketplace almost never deposits the gross value of your orders. It deposits gross sales, minus its fees, minus refunds issued in the period, sometimes minus a rolling reserve, sometimes plus a previous reserve release. That single deposit hits your bank feed as one number. If you categorise that number as income, three things are wrong at once: your revenue is understated by the fees, your fee expense is invisible, and your refunds have vanished.

The shape you want is a deposit that gets split. Gross sales to the channel income account. Processing and channel fees to their own expense accounts as positive expenses. Refunds to a refunds or contra revenue account. Sales tax collected to the liability account. The remainder is what actually landed in the bank, and it should tie to the penny.

You can do this by hand each settlement, which is fine at low volume and miserable at high volume, or by using a connector or a dedicated ecommerce accounting tool that produces a summarised journal per settlement period. Whichever route you pick, the test is the same and it is not negotiable: the deposit in your bank feed and the entry in QuickBooks must match exactly, and gross sales in QuickBooks must match gross sales in your channel’s own reporting for the same period.

On processing costs specifically, there is something worth saying plainly, because it affects this step. QuickBooks does not publish its payment processing rates. Neither the payments page nor the pricing page lists an ACH, invoiced card, keyed card or in person rate. The payments page says you get competitive payment rates with no monthly fees or minimums and that you pay as you go, and it says that if you process more than $2,500 a month you can call to see whether you qualify for up to 25 percent off standard rates, with a sales line at 1-800-264-1859. That is the whole of it. If your model depends on knowing your processing cost to the basis point before you commit, you have to make that phone call, and it is a fair reason to look at a competitor that publishes its rates on the page.

Inventory starts at Plus, and that is the number to plan around

Intuit’s inventory page lists the feature in Plus and Advanced only. Plus is $140 a month at list, $70 for the first three months, so $1,470 in year one and $1,680 in year two. Advanced adds unlimited classes, batch invoicing and workflow automation at $4,080 in year two. The pricing page also offers a 30 day free trial, and the list price resumes once the promotional months end.

See what Plus includes →

Step six, sales tax, once sales are landing correctly

Sales tax comes after step five for a simple reason: you cannot configure a tax workflow sensibly until you know how the tax you collect arrives in the file. If the connector nets tax into a single deposit figure, your tax configuration has to account for that. If it posts tax separately to a liability account, the job is much easier.

What I would set up, in order. First, confirm where you have an obligation to collect, which is a question about nexus and is genuinely not something to guess at from a blog post. Second, turn on the automated sales tax feature and enter your registered jurisdictions. Third, check that the rate the software applies matches what your channel actually charged the customer, because if the channel is the one collecting and remitting under a marketplace facilitator arrangement, your books need to reflect that rather than double counting it. Fourth, reconcile the sales tax liability account at the end of the first period against what you actually owe and what you actually filed.

I will say it again because this is the section where it matters most. This is not tax advice and I am not a CPA. Nexus rules, marketplace facilitator rules and filing obligations differ by state and change, and the only two places to get a defensible answer are a CPA who has seen your numbers and the taxing authority itself. If you want the adjacent reading, my guide to deducting ecommerce business expenses covers how the expense side of this tends to be structured, with the same caveat attached.

Step seven, contractors and payroll, if they apply to you

People come seventh because they are the most self contained piece and because getting them wrong does not corrupt the rest of the ledger the way a bad sales mapping does. If you have no employees and no contractors, skip this entirely.

Contractors first, since most stores hit this before they hit payroll. On the Solopreneur line, the Lite tier includes three contractors and Simple Start moves that to unlimited contractors. Collect the tax paperwork from every contractor before you pay them the first time, not in January when you need to issue forms. This is another CPA question rather than a me question, particularly around classification, which is an area where getting it wrong is expensive.

Payroll, if you need it, is sold as a bundle in 2026 rather than as a clean standalone add on. Workforce Payroll with Simple Start is $88 a month base plus $6.50 per employee per month. Workforce Payroll with Essentials is $125 base plus $6.50 per employee. Workforce Premium with Plus is $203 base plus $10 per employee. Each base carries the same 50 percent off for three months structure, and background checks are listed as starting at $29.99 per report.

Be precise about what those are. They are bundle prices, not a base plan plus a separate payroll fee, and the arithmetic does not decompose cleanly. Intuit publishes no standalone payroll base price on that page, so I quote the bundle as a bundle. State filing fees and contractor payment fees are also not published there. Not published is the honest answer, and if those matter to your budget, ask before you sign.

A worked example, because the per employee line makes bundles deceptive. Payroll with Essentials, three employees, steady state after the promotional months: $125 times 12 is $1,500, plus $6.50 times three employees times 12 months is $234. That is $1,734 a year. That is a real number to plan against, and it is well clear of what the monthly headline suggests.

Step eight, the month end routine that keeps all of it true

Setup is not finished when the connectors are green. It is finished when there is a repeatable closing routine, because an unreconciled ledger degrades quietly and you only find out when you need it to be right.

Every month, in this order. Reconcile every bank and card account against the statement, and never close with an unexplained difference, however small, because small differences are usually two large errors that nearly cancel. Reconcile each sales channel, gross sales in the channel’s own reporting against gross sales in the ledger for the same dates. Empty the review queue. Check inventory on hand against a count if you track it. Look at the fee accounts as a percentage of revenue. Then run the profit and loss and the balance sheet, and read them rather than filing them.

That is maybe two hours a month once the setup is right, and it is four hours a month or a full weekend a quarter when the setup is wrong. The whole argument of this post is that the difference between those two outcomes was decided in the first hour.

What the whole thing actually costs over two years

The last sanity check before you commit is to set the plan choice against the real annual figures, payroll included.

Setup Year one Year two Notes
Solopreneur Lite $210 $240 Single owner, no stock, three contractors
Simple Start $399 $456 One user, no inventory
Essentials $892.50 $1,020 Three users, still no inventory
Plus $1,470 $1,680 Inventory arrives, five users, 40 classes
Advanced $3,570 $4,080 25 users, batch invoicing, workflow automation
Payroll with Essentials, three staff See note $1,734 $125 base plus $6.50 per employee monthly

The gap that catches people is between Essentials at $1,020 and Plus at $1,680. That $660 a year is what inventory tracking costs inside this product, and it is worth deciding deliberately rather than discovering. If that gap is the sticking point, it is exactly the comparison I work through in the QuickBooks and Xero cost comparison, where the seat fee and invoice cap structures are completely different.

The mistakes that force a rebuild

Five things turn a setup into a redo, and all five come from doing steps out of sequence. Connecting a sales channel before the chart of accounts exists, so everything maps to defaults and unmapping a quarter of orders becomes worse than starting again. Choosing a plan on the promotional price, when the promo is three months and the decision lasts years. Overlapping the feed start date with manual entries, which makes deduplication a project.

Treating a marketplace deposit as revenue, which understates sales, hides fees, loses refunds and leaves a sales tax liability nobody is tracking. And skipping the first manual reconciliation because the automation looked convincing, when that reconciliation is the test that catches the mapping error which would otherwise compound for a year.

If a previous setup already went wrong and you are considering starting fresh somewhere else, the sequencing and the history question are covered in my guide to switching accounting software without losing your history. If you have not settled on the product at all, work through the five gates that decide accounting software before price first.

Running the business behind the books

Clean books make a store legible, but they do not make it profitable. What the ledger measures is decided upstream, in what you sell and at what margin, and that is worth as much attention as the accounting stack.

Margin is a product selection problem before it is a bookkeeping problem, which is why I keep a working list of profitable high ticket niches and revisit it when the numbers in a category stop working.

If the model itself is new to you, start with how the high ticket model actually works, because the accounting for a high ticket store with a handful of large orders looks nothing like the accounting for a high volume low ticket one.

Supplier terms drive your cash cycle more than any software setting does, and my complete supplier sourcing guide covers how to find and qualify them.

Before any of the bookkeeping matters, the entity has to exist and be separate from you personally, which is the argument in my walkthrough of business formation for high ticket dropshipping.

For the operating stack itself, I run stores on Shopify because the connector ecosystem around it is the deepest. For the formation paperwork, Bizee handles the filing without the markup that law firms charge for the same forms.

And once you are holding stock and shipping to customers, general liability and product liability cover stops being optional, which is where Hiscox is worth a quote.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I add inventory tracking to QuickBooks Simple Start?

No. Intuit’s inventory page states the feature is available in QuickBooks Online Plus and QuickBooks Online Advanced, so Plus at $140 a month at list is the entry point. Simple Start at $38 and Essentials at $85 do not include it. If you start on Simple Start and later need inventory, you are moving up two tiers, which is why this is the first decision in the sequence rather than the last.

What costing method does QuickBooks inventory use?

Not stated on the inventory page. That page names Amazon, Etsy and Shopify among the apps the feature works with, but it does not say whether the product costs inventory on a first in first out basis, a weighted average basis or something else. I am not going to assert one. If your accountant needs to know, put the question to Intuit directly or test it in a trial file with a controlled purchase and sale before you have real history depending on the answer.

How much does QuickBooks payment processing cost?

Not published. Neither the payments page nor the pricing page lists an ACH, invoiced card, keyed card or in person rate. The payments page says rates are competitive with no monthly fees or minimums on a pay as you go basis, and that processing more than $2,500 a month may qualify you for up to 25 percent off standard rates, with a sales line at 1-800-264-1859. If you need the exact number before committing, that call is the only route to it.

Should I set up QuickBooks at the start of my financial year?

If you can, yes, and if you cannot, use the first day of a month. The reason is the opening boundary. Everything before it is history entered as opening balances, everything after it flows through the feeds, and the two must not overlap. A financial year boundary also means your first full year in the new file is a complete year, which makes the comparatives useful and makes your accountant’s job much simpler.

How long should the whole setup take?

Plan choice and chart of accounts is an afternoon if you have thought about your channels beforehand, and feeds plus the opening boundary is another afternoon. The connector, and verifying how sales, fees and refunds land, deserves a full day spread across several so real orders can flow through and be checked. Sales tax and payroll depend on your situation. The month end routine then costs a couple of hours a month forever.

Is any of this tax advice?

No, none of it. I run ecommerce stores and I price software for a living. I am not a CPA and nothing in this post is tax or accounting advice. Sales tax nexus, marketplace facilitator treatment, contractor classification, inventory costing and expense deductibility all need to be confirmed with a CPA or with the taxing authority in your jurisdiction before you rely on them.

Bottom Line

The order is the product. Choose the plan against the feature gates first, because inventory tracking starts at Plus at $140 a month at list and $1,680 in year two, and discovering that in month five means a migration rather than an upgrade. Build the chart of accounts second, with separate channel income accounts, a real distinction between inventory and cost of goods sold, and individual expense accounts for the fees that actually move your margin. Connect the feeds third with a clean opening boundary. Only then connect the sales channel, and verify with real orders how sales, fees, refunds and tax land rather than assuming. Sales tax after that, people after that, and then a month end routine you actually run.

Do it in that order and QuickBooks is unremarkable software that quietly works. Do it in a different order and you will spend more time fixing the file than you ever spent using it. And whatever the sequence, confirm the tax pieces with a CPA or the taxing authority rather than with me.

Set it up once on the right tier

Simple Start runs $399 in year one and $456 in year two. Essentials runs $892.50 then $1,020. Plus, the first tier with inventory tracking, runs $1,470 then $1,680. The pricing page shows a 30 day free trial alongside the three month promotional rate, and the list price resumes once those months end. Confirm anything tax related with a CPA before you rely on it.

Check current QuickBooks pricing →

If you would rather skip the setup entirely and have a store built, launched and handed over with the operating stack already in place, that is what our done for you high ticket dropshipping build and launch service exists to do.

Related Articles

QuickBooks Pricing 2026: Every Plan Costed for Year One and Year Two

Best Accounting Software for Ecommerce 2026: Ranked by Where Inventory Starts

How to Choose Accounting Software: The Five Gates That Decide It Before Price

How to Switch Accounting Software Without Losing Your History

How to Deduct Ecommerce Business Expenses

Free 1,000+ high-ticket niches list

Still deciding what to sell?

Grab the free list of 1,000+ niches that work for high-ticket dropshipping, sorted by category.

Free. Unsubscribe any time.