QuickBooks vs Xero 2026: Seat Fees, Invoice Caps and the Real Annual Cost

Data card showing Xero Early capped at 20 invoices and 5 bills per month
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure

Almost every comparison of QuickBooks and Xero is decided on interface preference, which is the one variable that will not still matter to you in eighteen months. Two things will. The first is a cap on the cheapest Xero plan that stops a growing store dead. The second is that these two companies charge for growth in structurally different ways, and the difference is worth several hundred dollars a year in either direction depending on your shape.

Here they are up front. Xero Early, the $25 plan everyone quotes, lets you send quotes and 20 invoices, and enter 5 bills. Not twenty a week. Twenty in a month. And QuickBooks sets a hard user ceiling on every plan, from one seat on Simple Start to twenty five on Advanced, while Xero’s pricing page carries the line “Included: No per-user license fees” and shows no user cap on the plan cards at all.

Those two facts decide this comparison for most people before price enters the room. So that is where this article starts, and only then does it get to the arithmetic. I have sold physical products online for fifteen years, I price things for a living, and I fetched both pricing pages on 7 September 2026 to build the tables below.

See the current QuickBooks Online plans

QuickBooks lists at $38, $85, $140 and $340 a month with 50 percent off for three months, which works out at $456, $1,020, $1,680 and $4,080 a year in steady state. Xero lists at $25, $55 and $90. Neither vendor’s promotion survives year one, so compare the list prices and check both pages before you decide.

Check QuickBooks pricing →

Gate one: Xero Early caps you at 20 invoices and 5 bills a month

This is the single most consequential sentence on either pricing page and it is almost never quoted. Xero’s Early plan card says you can send quotes and 20 invoices, and enter 5 bills. That is a monthly cap, not a starting allowance.

Think about what 20 invoices a month means for a real business. A store with fifty orders a month is already over it. A service business with a dozen retainer clients plus one off jobs is close to it. A wholesale operation is nowhere near able to use it. And the 5 bill cap is arguably tighter still, because bills are how you record what suppliers charge you. Five a month is barely more than one a week. Your shipping carrier, your platform subscription, one supplier and your accountant will use it up before you have bought a single thing.

So the honest reading of Xero’s pricing page is that Early is a plan for a sole trader with light billing, and everyone else starts at Growing. That changes the whole comparison, because Growing lists at $55 a month.

Plan List per month Invoice limit Bill limit Year two annual
Xero Early $25 20 per month 5 per month $300
Xero Growing $55 No stated cap No stated cap $660
Xero Established $90 No stated cap No stated cap $1,080
QuickBooks Simple Start $38 No stated cap No stated cap $456
QuickBooks Essentials $85 No stated cap No stated cap $1,020
QuickBooks Plus $140 No stated cap No stated cap $1,680

Read the first and fourth rows together and the popular framing collapses. Xero looks cheaper because Early is $25 against QuickBooks Simple Start at $38. But the cheapest Xero plan that will invoice a real business without a ceiling is Growing at $660 a year, and that is $204 a year more than QuickBooks Simple Start at $456. The cheap Xero plan is only cheap if your business fits inside twenty invoices.

I want to be precise about what I am not saying. Xero does not print a number where I have written “no stated cap” on Growing and Established, and QuickBooks does not print invoice or bill caps on any plan card either. Absence of a stated cap is what I found, and it is not the same as a written guarantee of unlimited volume. If very high volume is your situation, ask both vendors in writing.

Gate two: how each company charges for people

QuickBooks prices per plan and puts a hard seat ceiling on each one. Simple Start carries one user plus two accountants. Essentials carries three plus two. Plus carries five plus two. Advanced carries twenty five plus three. No per user add on price appears on the pricing page, so the only route past a ceiling is the next plan, and the next plan is a large step in dollars.

Xero’s pricing page takes a different line. Under the included items it states “No per-user license fees”, and the plan cards do not display a user cap. I am going to quote that exactly rather than paraphrase it as unlimited users, because Xero does not use that phrase and I am not going to put a promise in a vendor’s mouth that it did not make. What I can say is that the pricing model is structurally different: QuickBooks sells seats in blocks bundled with features, and Xero does not appear to charge for them at all.

Here is what that means in practice. Take a four person team that does not need inventory. On QuickBooks that team cannot stay on Essentials, because Essentials stops at three users, so it buys Plus at $1,680 a year and inherits an inventory module it will never open. On Xero the same team can sit on Growing at $660 a year. That is a $1,020 annual difference created entirely by seat policy, not by features.

Now flip it. A single operator who holds inventory has the opposite experience. On QuickBooks the answer is Plus at $1,680. On Xero, inventory is sold as Inventory Plus, described on the pricing page as optional and available on Growing and Established, and its price is not published there. So the comparison stops being computable at exactly the point an ecommerce store cares most, which is a real strike against Xero for that buyer.

The promotions, and why you should ignore both

Both companies discount heavily at the front and both discounts expire. QuickBooks runs 50 percent off for three months. Xero runs a much louder offer, 90 percent off for the first six months, which takes Early down to $2.50 a month. That is a genuinely aggressive promotion and it will pull a lot of people across, though Xero limits it to new US customers making a first purchase with Xero, so an existing Xero customer cannot get that rate.

Two things to hold on to. First, Xero states that offer as running until 30 September 2026. If you are reading this after that date, assume it has gone and verify on the page rather than budgeting for it. Most readers of an article like this arrive months after publication, which is precisely why I will not build a recommendation on a promotion.

Second, here is what each promotion is actually worth once you compute year one and year two properly. The Xero rates below are the dated six month offer Xero states runs until 30 September 2026, and the QuickBooks rates run for three months, so read the year one column as a promotional figure with an expiry on it and the year two column as the price. Xero states its offer is limited to new US customers making a first purchase with Xero, so the Xero year one figures only apply to a first time Xero buyer.

Plan List per month Promo Year one Year two
Xero Early $25 $2.50 a month for 6 months $165 $300
Xero Growing $55 $5.50 a month for 6 months $363 $660
Xero Established $90 $9 a month for 6 months $594 $1,080
QuickBooks Simple Start $38 $19 a month for 3 months $399 $456
QuickBooks Essentials $85 $42.50 a month for 3 months $892.50 $1,020
QuickBooks Plus $140 $70 a month for 3 months $1,470 $1,680

Xero’s promotion is worth more than Intuit’s, and it is worth more because it is deeper and runs for twice as long. On Growing it saves $297 in year one. On QuickBooks Plus, Intuit’s saves $210. That comparison only holds if you are new to both products, because Xero states its offer is limited to new US customers making a first purchase with Xero. Both are gone by month thirteen, and year two is the number you will pay for the rest of your life as a customer. The full workings for the Intuit side are in my plan by plan QuickBooks pricing breakdown.

Inventory inside QuickBooks starts on Plus

Plus lists at $140 a month, promotes at $70 for three months, and runs $1,470 in year one and $1,680 in year two. Xero sells inventory as an optional Inventory Plus add on for Growing and Established, and does not publish its price on the pricing page. If stock counts matter to you, that difference in disclosure is the whole story.

Compare QuickBooks plans →

Annual cost at list price, laid side by side

Promotions removed, this is what the two ladders look like against each other. I have paired them by rough position rather than by feature parity, because the feature sets do not line up neatly and pretending they do is how comparisons go wrong.

Tier Xero plan and year two QuickBooks plan and year two Annual difference
Entry Xero Early, $300 Simple Start, $456 Xero cheaper by $156
Small team Xero Growing, $660 Essentials, $1,020 Xero cheaper by $360
Full featured Xero Established, $1,080 Plus, $1,680 Xero cheaper by $600
Uncapped invoicing, cheapest route Xero Growing, $660 Simple Start, $456 QuickBooks cheaper by $204

Three of those four rows favour Xero, sometimes substantially. The fourth row is the one that matters to a store, because a store will breach twenty invoices in its first decent month. If your only requirement is a real ledger with unrestricted invoicing and one person using it, QuickBooks Simple Start is the cheaper product, and that is the opposite of what the headline prices suggest.

Where each product puts its gates

Price differences are meaningless without knowing what sits behind each wall. Here is what the two pricing pages state, with honest blanks where they state nothing.

Capability QuickBooks Xero
Inventory tracking Plus and Advanced, from $140 a month Inventory Plus, optional, Growing and Established, price not published
User seats 1, 3, 5 and 25 by plan, plus accountant seats Page states no per user license fees, no cap shown on plan cards
Invoice volume No cap stated on any plan Early capped at 20 a month
Bill volume No cap stated on any plan Early capped at 5 a month
Multi currency Not stated on the pricing page I read Established only
Project tracking Project Management AI listed on Advanced Established only, time and costs for projects
Expense and mileage claims Not stated on the pricing page I read Established only, employee expense and mileage claims
Class and location tracking 40 on Plus, unlimited on Advanced Not stated on the pricing page I read
Batch invoicing Advanced only Not stated on the pricing page I read
Workflow automation Advanced only Not stated on the pricing page I read

Notice how many blanks there are. Comparison articles usually fill those in from memory or from another blog, and that is where the wrong numbers in this category come from. If a capability is decisive for you and the table says not stated, ask the vendor and get it in writing before you migrate anything.

The one blank that costs Xero real ground with ecommerce readers is inventory pricing. QuickBooks tells you inventory costs $1,680 a year. Xero tells you Inventory Plus exists, is optional, and is available on two plans. Not knowing the price of the feature that decides your purchase is a poor place to start, which is part of why I ranked the whole category by where inventory actually starts rather than by headline price.

Payroll: the comparison that changes the totals

If you have employees, payroll usually costs more than the ledger, and the two companies structure it completely differently.

Xero sells payroll as an optional add on described as Xero Payroll powered by Gusto, available on all plans, at $36 a month plus $6 per employee or contractor. That is a clean, decomposable price.

Intuit does not sell payroll that way in 2026. It sells bundles that pair payroll with an accounting plan: Workforce Payroll with Simple Start at $88 a month, Workforce Payroll with Essentials at $125, and Workforce Premium with Plus at $203, each with a per employee fee of $6.50, $6.50 and $10 respectively. You cannot subtract your way to a payroll price from those, because the differences come out at $50, $40 and $63, and Intuit does not publish a standalone payroll base price.

So here is a like for like worked example: one business, three employees, a full year at list prices with no promotions applied.

Setup Ledger per year Payroll per year Total for 3 employees
Xero Growing with Xero Payroll $660 $648 $1,308
Workforce Payroll with Essentials Bundled $1,500 base plus $234 $1,734
Xero Established with Xero Payroll $1,080 $648 $1,728
Workforce Premium with Plus Bundled $2,436 base plus $360 $2,796

The Xero payroll figure works out as $36 times twelve, which is $432, plus $6 times three employees times twelve, which is $216, giving $648. Xero Growing with payroll comes in at $1,308 against $1,734 for the comparable Intuit bundle, a difference of $426 a year. That is a real saving, and it is one of the strongest arguments for Xero in this whole comparison.

Two caveats, because a saving you cannot rely on is not a saving. Intuit publishes background checks at $29.99 per report but did not state state filing fees or contractor payment fees on the page I read, so the Intuit column is incomplete by Intuit’s own choice. And payroll tax obligations are jurisdictional and change constantly. None of this is tax or accounting advice, so confirm your own filing requirements with a CPA or with the taxing authority before you choose a payroll product on price.

Where Xero genuinely wins

Xero wins on seats. If you have more people than you have complexity, the QuickBooks ladder punishes you and Xero does not. A four or five person team without inventory saves real money every single year, forever.

Xero wins on payroll price for small headcounts, by $426 a year in the example above.

Xero wins on disclosure in one specific area: it publishes a payroll price you can compute, while Intuit publishes bundles you cannot decompose.

And Xero wins on the top tier. Established at $1,080 a year includes multi currency, project tracking and employee expense and mileage claims. The comparable QuickBooks plan for a business that needs those capabilities is somewhere between Plus at $1,680 and Advanced at $4,080, and I could not confirm multi currency or expense claims on the QuickBooks pricing page at all.

Where QuickBooks genuinely wins

QuickBooks wins on unrestricted invoicing at the bottom of the ladder. Simple Start at $456 a year has no stated invoice or bill cap. The equivalent Xero plan is Growing at $660. For a one person store with volume, that is the whole argument.

QuickBooks wins on published inventory pricing. You know before you sign that stock tracking costs $1,680 a year on Plus. With Xero you know it exists and you have to ask what it costs.

QuickBooks wins on accountant familiarity, which is not a feature but is real money. If your bookkeeper already works in QuickBooks all day, the cost of moving them is paid in their hourly rate, and it does not appear on any comparison table. The accountant seats are included on every plan.

And QuickBooks wins at the very top on volume tooling. Batch invoicing and workflow automation live on Advanced, and Xero’s pricing page does not state equivalents.

A straight recommendation by business shape

Your situation What I would buy Year two cost
Sole trader, under 20 invoices and 5 bills a month Xero Early $300
Solo store, real invoice volume, no inventory QuickBooks Simple Start $456
Team of four or five, no inventory Xero Growing $660
Store holding stock, needs inventory priced up front QuickBooks Plus $1,680
Multi currency, projects and expense claims Xero Established $1,080
Three employees on payroll, no inventory Xero Growing with payroll $1,308
High volume, batch invoicing, twenty five seats QuickBooks Advanced $4,080

If neither column fits, the answer may be a third product entirely, and I laid those out in my guide to QuickBooks alternatives organised by the problem that sent you looking. If you have already committed to one of these and want out, read how to switch accounting software without losing your history before you export anything, because the history is the asset and it is easy to break.

For a fuller verdict on the Intuit side of this comparison, including what it does not publish, see my QuickBooks Online review. And if the whole reason you are shopping is that last filing season was a mess, my rundown of how to file a tax extension covers the immediate problem while you sort the ledger out properly.

Running the business behind the books

A $300 difference between two ledgers is decided by one extra sale in most high ticket businesses. That is the part of the equation I actually spend my working life on.

If you are still deciding what to sell, work through the list of profitable high ticket niches and pick one you can genuinely source.

If the model itself is new to you, here is a straight explanation of how high ticket dropshipping works and where the margin actually comes from.

Sourcing stalls more stores than anything else, so I wrote a complete step by step supplier sourcing guide covering outreach, terms and vetting.

Sort the entity out before your first sale rather than after it, using my walkthrough of business formation for a high ticket store.

On the stack, I have run my stores on Shopify for years. For formation paperwork and registered agent service I use Bizee.

For liability cover once real volume is moving, Hiscox is where I send people, and as always, take the specifics up with your own adviser.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Xero cheaper than QuickBooks?

At matched tiers, yes. Xero Early is $300 a year against $456 for QuickBooks Simple Start, Growing is $660 against $1,020 for Essentials, and Established is $1,080 against $1,680 for Plus. But if you need uncapped invoicing, the cheapest Xero plan that provides it is Growing at $660, which is $204 more than QuickBooks Simple Start.

How many invoices can you send on Xero Early?

Twenty a month, along with a limit of five bills a month. Those are the numbers on Xero’s own plan card. A business that exceeds either has to move to Growing at $55 a month, which is $660 a year at list.

Does Xero charge per user?

Xero’s pricing page states “Included: No per-user license fees” and does not display a user cap on the plan cards. I am quoting that exactly rather than describing it as unlimited users, because Xero does not use that phrase. QuickBooks by contrast caps seats at 1, 3, 5 and 25 depending on plan.

Which is better for inventory, QuickBooks or Xero?

QuickBooks, on the grounds of disclosure. Inventory tracking is included on QuickBooks Plus at $140 a month, so you know the cost is $1,680 a year. Xero sells Inventory Plus as an optional add on for Growing and Established and does not publish its price on the pricing page.

How much does Xero payroll cost?

Xero Payroll powered by Gusto is listed as an optional add on on all plans at $36 a month plus $6 per employee or contractor. For three employees that is $648 a year, so Xero Growing with payroll totals $1,308 against $1,734 for the comparable QuickBooks bundle.

When does the Xero 90 percent discount expire?

Xero states the offer as available until 30 September 2026. If you are reading this after that date, treat it as gone and check the live pricing page. Either way it only covers six months, after which the list prices of $25, $55 and $90 a month apply. Xero also limits the offer to new US customers making a first purchase with Xero, so an existing customer cannot get it at all.

Bottom Line

Ignore the interface arguments and decide this on two gates. If your business fits inside 20 invoices and 5 bills a month, Xero Early at $300 a year is the cheapest real ledger in this comparison and you should take it. If it does not, and you are one person, QuickBooks Simple Start at $456 beats Xero Growing at $660 for uncapped invoicing. If you have a team of four or five and no stock, Xero wins clearly, by $360 a year at the Growing tier and by more once payroll is added.

If you hold inventory, buy QuickBooks Plus at $1,680 a year, not because it is better but because it is the only one of the two that will tell you what inventory costs before you sign. That is a low bar, and it is still the deciding factor for a store. Whichever way you go, budget from the year two number and not from the banner, and take anything that touches a filing to a CPA or the taxing authority rather than to a comparison article.

Price QuickBooks against your own invoice volume

Simple Start is $456 a year with no stated invoice or bill cap, against $300 for Xero Early with its 20 invoice and 5 bill monthly limits. Plus, the first QuickBooks plan with inventory, is $1,680 a year. Both vendors change prices and promotional terms, so verify on their own pages before you buy.

Open the QuickBooks plan page →

If you would rather not assemble any of this yourself, my team runs a done for you high ticket dropshipping build and launch service that hands you a finished store.

Related Articles

QuickBooks Online Review 2026: What the $19 Headline Actually Costs

QuickBooks Pricing 2026: Every Plan Costed for Year One and Year Two

QuickBooks Alternatives 2026: Organised by the Problem That Sent You Looking

How to Switch Accounting Software Without Losing Your History

How to File a Tax Extension in 2026: Form 4868 Explained

Free 1,000+ high-ticket niches list

Still deciding what to sell?

Grab the free list of 1,000+ niches that work for high-ticket dropshipping, sorted by category.

Free. Unsubscribe any time.