FreshBooks and QuickBooks Online are not the same kind of product, and both pricing pages are very good at hiding that. FreshBooks opens with $23 a month. QuickBooks opens with $19 a month. Both of those are promotional numbers, both of them expire, and neither of them tells you the one thing that actually decides this comparison for a store owner.
Here is that thing. On FreshBooks’ own plan comparison table, the Lite plan at $23 a month has no double entry accounting, no bank reconciliation and no accountant access. All three of those arrive on the Plus plan at $43 a month. I have been selling physical products online for fifteen years and I price software for a living, and that single row is worth more than every feature bullet on either website.
What follows is the arithmetic. Every figure here came off the vendors’ own pricing pages on 7 September 2026, and where a vendor does not publish a number I say so rather than guessing. Nothing here is tax or accounting advice; confirm your own treatment with a CPA or with the taxing authority.
Price QuickBooks Online Before the Promotion Runs Out
Simple Start lists at $38 a month and runs $19 for three promotional months, which works out to $399 in year one and $456 in year two. Plus lists at $140 a month and is the first tier that tracks inventory, at $1,680 a year once the promotion ends. Check the current terms on Intuit’s own page before you buy, because promotional windows move without notice.
The row on FreshBooks’ comparison table that settles this
Most FreshBooks versus QuickBooks posts are written as though the two products do the same job at different prices. They do not, and the proof is on FreshBooks’ own site rather than on any competitor’s.
FreshBooks Lite, the $23 a month entry plan, does not include double entry accounting. It does not include bank reconciliation. It does not include accountant access. Those three capabilities are what most people mean when they say the words “accounting software”. Lite is an excellent invoicing and time billing tool that keeps a record of money in and money out. It is not a general ledger.
That is not a criticism of FreshBooks and I want to be careful here, because there is a lazy version of this argument that says FreshBooks is not real accounting software. That is false. FreshBooks Plus, Premium and Select all have double entry accounting, bank reconciliation and accountant access. The distinction is not between the two companies. It is between FreshBooks Lite and everything else on either menu.
So the honest framing is this: if you are comparing $23 FreshBooks against $38 QuickBooks Simple Start, you are not comparing like for like. The comparable FreshBooks plan is Plus at $43 a month. That is the number to put next to Simple Start, and once you do, the price gap runs the other way.
What each plan actually costs at list price
Here are both product lines at their published monthly list prices, with the seat and client limits the pricing pages state. Promotional rates are handled separately further down, because a promotional rate is not a price.
| Plan | List per month | Included users | Client or seat limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| FreshBooks Lite | $23.00 | 1 | 5 billable clients |
| FreshBooks Plus | $43.00 | 1 | 50 billable clients |
| FreshBooks Premium | $70.00 | 1 | Unlimited billable clients |
| FreshBooks Select | Let’s Talk | 2 | Unlimited billable clients |
| QuickBooks Simple Start | $38 | 1 user plus 2 accountants | No stated client cap |
| QuickBooks Essentials | $85 | 3 users plus 2 accountants | No stated client cap |
| QuickBooks Plus | $140 | 5 users plus 2 accountants | No stated client cap |
| QuickBooks Advanced | $340 | 25 users plus 3 accountants | No stated client cap |
Two things jump out of that table. The first is that FreshBooks meters clients and QuickBooks meters seats. The second is that every FreshBooks plan below Select ships with exactly one user, including the $70 a month Premium plan.
The client caps: five, fifty, unlimited
A billable client in FreshBooks is a customer you can invoice. Lite gives you five of them. Plus gives you fifty. Premium and Select give you unlimited.
For an agency, a consultant or a tradesperson with a handful of retainer accounts, five clients is genuinely enough and Lite is a fair price for what it does. For a store, five clients is meaningless in the wrong direction. If you sell physical products to hundreds of individual buyers, the client cap either forces you up to Premium immediately or forces you to record sales in a way that dodges the client record entirely, which defeats the point of using the invoicing engine at all.
This is the first place where the two products separate on use case rather than on price. FreshBooks is built around the idea that you have a named client, you do work for them, and you bill them. QuickBooks is built around the idea that transactions arrive from a bank feed and a sales channel and need categorising. Neither idea is wrong. They are answers to different questions, and I go through the underlying decision in more detail in the guide to the five gates that decide accounting software before price does.
The $11 per user charge that never goes away
FreshBooks charges $11 a month for each additional team member. That fee applies on every plan, including Premium at $70 a month. It is not a Lite plan limitation you grow out of. It is a permanent per head charge on top of whatever tier you are on.
QuickBooks does the opposite. It bundles seats into the tier and charges you by moving you up the ladder. Simple Start is one user, Essentials is three, Plus is five, Advanced is twenty five. On top of that, every QuickBooks tier includes accountant seats at no extra cost: two on Simple Start, Essentials and Plus, and three on Advanced.
FreshBooks does not state on its pricing page whether an accountant occupies one of the $11 a month team member seats or sits outside the count. I looked and could not find that stated, so I am not going to tell you either way. What I can tell you is that on Lite there is no accountant access at any price, so the question does not arise until you are on Plus.
Here is what the per user fee does to the real monthly cost once more than one person touches the books.
| People on the books | FreshBooks Plus | FreshBooks Premium | QuickBooks Essentials | QuickBooks Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $43 | $70 | $85 | $140 |
| 2 | $54 | $81 | $85 | $140 |
| 3 | $65 | $92 | $85 | $140 |
| 5 | $87 | $114 | Over seat limit | $140 |
At three people, FreshBooks Plus is $65 a month against $85 for QuickBooks Essentials, so FreshBooks is $240 a year cheaper at list. At five people, FreshBooks Premium is $114 a month against $140 for QuickBooks Plus, so FreshBooks is $312 a year cheaper. Those gaps are real and they favour FreshBooks.
They also assume the per user fee is charged at its published $11 with no discount applied, because FreshBooks does not state that the introductory promotion extends to additional seats. If it does, the gap widens in year one and closes again in year two when the promotion ends anyway.
The advertised price is a three month price
This is the piece of arithmetic that nobody in this category does, and it is the reason I write these comparisons at all. Both companies advertise a discounted rate that runs for three months. Both then charge list. If you multiply the headline by twelve, which is exactly what your brain wants to do, you will be wrong by hundreds of dollars.
FreshBooks discounts by 90% for three months. QuickBooks discounts by 50% for three months. Here is year one and year two for every tier where both numbers are published.
| Plan | Promo rate | Headline implies | Year one actual | Year two actual |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FreshBooks Lite | $2.30 for three months | $27.60 | $213.90 | $276 |
| FreshBooks Plus | $4.30 for three months | $51.60 | $399.90 | $516 |
| FreshBooks Premium | $7.00 for three months | $84 | $651 | $840 |
| QuickBooks Simple Start | $19 for three months | $228 | $399 | $456 |
| QuickBooks Essentials | $42.50 for three months | $510 | $892.50 | $1,020 |
| QuickBooks Plus | $70 for three months | $840 | $1,470 | $1,680 |
| QuickBooks Advanced | $170 for three months | $2,040 | $3,570 | $4,080 |
Read the FreshBooks Lite row again. The headline implies $27.60 for the year. The actual year one cost is $213.90 and year two is $276. That is not a scam, it is standard software pricing, but it is a factor of ten between what the number in the hero section suggests and what leaves your bank account.
The QuickBooks rows behave the same way, just with a shallower discount. Simple Start looks like $228 a year and costs $399 in year one and $456 thereafter. I break every Intuit tier down the same way in the full walkthrough of QuickBooks pricing costed for year one and year two, including the payroll bundles, which are priced in a way that does not decompose cleanly.
QuickBooks’ pricing page also offers a thirty day free trial alongside the promotional discount. I could not locate fine print this session stating whether the trial and the discount are mutually exclusive, so I am not going to claim they are. The page offers both. What I will say plainly is that the list price resumes after the promotional months either way.
Five Seats and Inventory in One Plan
QuickBooks Plus covers 5 users plus 2 accountants and is the first tier that tracks inventory, at $140 a month list, which is $1,470 in year one and $1,680 in year two. FreshBooks Premium is $70 a month for one user, and every additional person is $11 a month on top. Whether that trade is worth it depends entirely on whether you hold stock, so work out that answer first.
What QuickBooks has that FreshBooks does not price
Inventory tracking is the big one, and it is the reason most physical product sellers end up on Intuit whatever the price comparison says. Intuit’s inventory page states that inventory is available in QuickBooks Online Plus and QuickBooks Online Advanced. That puts the entry price for inventory at $140 a month list, or $1,680 a year in year two. It is a lot of money for a feature, and it is the single most expensive gate in this whole category.
That page also says inventory works with popular apps and names Amazon, Etsy and Shopify. It does not state a costing method, so I cannot tell you whether it runs first in first out or weighted average. That is not stated on the page I checked and I am not going to repeat a third party blog’s claim about it.
I could not price inventory tracking for FreshBooks from its pricing page at all. It is not listed as a plan feature in the comparison I pulled. If stock valuation matters to you, verify it directly with FreshBooks before you assume either answer, because this is exactly the kind of thing a comparison post gets wrong by pattern matching.
The other QuickBooks capabilities that only exist at the top of the range are batch invoicing and workflow automation, both Advanced only, along with class and location tracking, which is capped at forty on Plus and unlimited on Advanced. If you run several sales channels and want each one reported separately, that forty class limit is the number to hold in your head, and I go through how the whole category is gated in the roundup of the best accounting software for ecommerce ranked by where inventory starts.
What FreshBooks has that QuickBooks does not do as well
Time tracking that feeds straight into an invoice is FreshBooks’ home turf. If you bill hours, the FreshBooks workflow from timer to invoice to payment is tighter and takes fewer clicks than doing the same job in QuickBooks. That is a real product advantage and it is why FreshBooks has the customer base it has.
Project profitability sits on Premium and Select only. If you run client projects and want to see which ones actually made money after the hours went in, that is a Premium feature at $70 a month, or $840 a year in year two. For a service business billing five or six clients that number is easy to justify.
The invoicing itself is simply nicer. Presentation, retainers, late fees, the client portal experience: FreshBooks has spent years on that surface and it shows. If invoicing is the majority of what you need software for, and bookkeeping is a compliance chore you hand to somebody else once a quarter, FreshBooks Plus at $516 a year is a better product than QuickBooks Simple Start at $456 a year for sixty dollars more.
That last sentence is the fair version of this comparison, and it is the one you almost never see written down.
Who each product is genuinely for
Let me be concrete, because “it depends” is not an answer anybody can act on.
Choose FreshBooks Lite if you invoice five or fewer clients, you bill for time rather than goods, you do not need a general ledger, and your accountant is happy working from bank statements and a spreadsheet at year end. That is a real business shape and $276 a year in year two is a fair price for it. Just go in knowing that there is no bank reconciliation and no accountant login in that plan.
Choose FreshBooks Plus if you want the FreshBooks invoicing experience with actual double entry accounting behind it, you have fifty clients or fewer, and one to three people touch the books. At $516 a year in year two, with two extra seats taking it to $780 a year, it undercuts QuickBooks Essentials by $240 for a comparable number of people.
Choose FreshBooks Premium if you run projects and need project profitability, or if you have outgrown fifty clients. $840 a year in year two.
Choose QuickBooks Simple Start if you sell products, you are the only person in the books, and you want a real ledger with two free accountant seats for $456 a year. It has no inventory tracking, which is the compromise you are accepting at that price.
Choose QuickBooks Essentials if you need three seats in a single flat price and do not want to think about per head fees, at $1,020 a year. It still has no inventory tracking, which is why I rarely recommend it to stores.
Choose QuickBooks Plus if you hold stock. That is the whole argument. $1,680 a year in year two buys inventory tracking, five seats, two accountant seats and forty classes. Nothing cheaper on either menu does the stock piece.
Choose QuickBooks Advanced only if you need batch invoicing, workflow automation or more than five seats. At $4,080 a year in year two it is a serious line item and most stores reading this do not need it.
The seat question, priced honestly
People get this backwards constantly, so here is the direct comparison at each team size, on year two list pricing with no promotion in play.
| Team size | Cheapest FreshBooks with double entry | Cheapest QuickBooks | Cheaper by |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 person | Plus, $516 | Simple Start, $456 | QuickBooks, $60 |
| 2 people | Plus, $648 | Essentials, $1,020 | FreshBooks, $372 |
| 3 people | Plus, $780 | Essentials, $1,020 | FreshBooks, $240 |
| 5 people | Premium, $1,368 | Plus, $1,680 | FreshBooks, $312 |
Read the two person row carefully. QuickBooks has no tier between one seat and three seats, so the second person costs you a $564 jump from Simple Start to Essentials. FreshBooks charges $132 a year for that person. On seat economics alone, FreshBooks wins everywhere except at exactly one user.
Then remember what the QuickBooks Plus row buys that no FreshBooks row does, and you have the actual trade. You are not choosing between $1,368 and $1,680. You are choosing between five seats without inventory and five seats with it.
What neither company publishes
Both of these vendors leave real numbers off the page, and you should price that uncertainty in rather than assuming it away.
QuickBooks does not publish a payment processing rate anywhere I could find. Not on the pricing page and not on the payments page. The payments page says you get competitive rates with no monthly fees or minimums, pay as you go, and that if you process more than $2,500 a month you can call to see whether you qualify for up to 25% off standard rates. The standard rates themselves are not printed. The sales line given is 1-800-264-1859. If card processing is going to be a meaningful cost for you, that is a phone call you make before you sign up, not after.
QuickBooks also does not publish a price for its Live bookkeeping service. The how it works page directs you to call 1-800-365-9606. I have seen numbers for that service quoted confidently all over the internet and none of them are on Intuit’s page, so I am not repeating them.
FreshBooks does not publish a price for Select. It says “Let’s Talk”. That is a sales qualified tier and you should assume it is priced above Premium, but I cannot tell you by how much.
FreshBooks also does not state, on the page I checked, whether the introductory discount applies to the $11 per user fee. I have costed the seat fee at full price throughout for that reason.
How this fits the rest of the category
If you are shopping seriously, FreshBooks and QuickBooks are two points on a much wider curve, and the two products either side of them are worth a look before you commit.
Xero prices with no per user license fee at all, which changes the seat maths completely, but its entry plan caps you at twenty invoices and five bills a month, which is the hardest gate in the category. I lay that out in the head to head on QuickBooks against Xero on seat fees, invoice caps and real annual cost.
At the other end, Wave has a genuinely free tier and publishes its card processing rates in public, which QuickBooks does not. The comparison of what Wave’s free plan buys and exactly where it stops is the one to read if budget is the binding constraint rather than features.
And whichever you pick, the software does not do your taxes for you. If you are working out which costs you can actually write off against the business, start with the walkthrough on how to deduct ecommerce business expenses and then take the specifics to your own CPA.
Running the business behind the books
Accounting software is a cost line, not a growth line. What actually moves the number at the top of the profit and loss is what you sell and to whom, so it is worth spending at least as much time on that as on picking a $43 subscription.
If you are still choosing a category to sell in, the breakdown of profitable high ticket niches is where I would start, because margin per order changes every other decision you make.
The mechanics of the model itself are covered in the explainer on how the high ticket dropshipping model works, including why the bookkeeping is simpler than most people expect when you are not holding stock.
Finding people to supply you is the part that stops most stores before they start. The complete step by step supplier sourcing guide walks the whole process.
Before you take a single order, get the entity right. The guide to business formation for high ticket dropshipping covers what structure to use and when, which also determines how your books need to be set up in the first place.
On the stack itself, I run stores on Shopify because the sales channel integrations are the ones every accounting product supports first. For the entity paperwork, Bizee handles formation and registered agent service without the upsell carousel.
Once you are shipping real orders, general liability and product liability cover is not optional, and Hiscox is the one I point people at for small business policies.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does FreshBooks Lite really have no double entry accounting?
That is what FreshBooks’ own plan comparison table states. Lite has no double entry accounting, no bank reconciliation and no accountant access. All three appear on Plus at $43 a month list. If your accountant needs to log in and reconcile, Lite is not the plan.
Which is cheaper overall, QuickBooks or FreshBooks?
At one user, QuickBooks Simple Start is cheaper at $456 a year in year two against $516 for FreshBooks Plus. At two or more users FreshBooks is cheaper at every size I costed, because QuickBooks has no tier between one seat and three seats. The exception is anyone who needs inventory tracking, where the comparison stops being about price.
What does the $11 per user fee apply to?
Every FreshBooks plan, including Premium. It is a permanent per head charge for each additional team member on top of the plan price. FreshBooks does not state on its pricing page whether an accountant occupies one of those seats.
Can I get inventory tracking on FreshBooks?
I could not price inventory tracking for FreshBooks from its pricing page and I am not going to guess. On QuickBooks, Intuit states inventory is available in Plus and Advanced, which puts the entry price at $140 a month list, or $1,680 a year. Verify the FreshBooks answer directly with FreshBooks before you decide on that basis.
What does QuickBooks charge to process a card payment?
Not published. Neither the pricing page nor the payments page lists an ACH, invoiced card, keyed card or in person rate. The payments page says rates are competitive with no monthly fees or minimums, and that processing over $2,500 a month may qualify for up to 25% off standard rates by calling 1-800-264-1859. Anyone quoting you a specific Intuit rate is not reading it off Intuit’s site.
Do the promotional prices apply for the full first year?
No. Both companies run the discount for three months and then charge list. FreshBooks Lite at $2.30 a month becomes $23 a month in month four, which is $213.90 for year one and $276 for year two. QuickBooks Simple Start at $19 becomes $38, which is $399 for year one and $456 for year two.
Bottom Line
FreshBooks and QuickBooks are aimed at different businesses and the pricing pages obscure that on purpose. If you bill named clients for time, FreshBooks is the better product and, at two or more people, the cheaper one. If you sell physical goods and hold stock, QuickBooks Plus at $1,680 a year is the entry price for a capability FreshBooks does not appear to price at all, and no amount of seat maths gets around that.
What should not decide it is the number in either hero section. $23 and $19 are three month prices. The prices you will actually live with are $276, $516 and $840 on the FreshBooks side, and $456, $1,020, $1,680 and $4,080 on the QuickBooks side. Pick from those columns.
And avoid the trap of buying the cheapest plan on either side and discovering in month four that the thing your accountant needs is one tier up. Moving is not hard, but it is annoying, and the walkthrough on how to switch accounting software without losing your history exists because enough people have had to do it.
Start on the Plan You Will Still Be On in Year Two
Simple Start is $456 a year at list, Essentials is $1,020 and Plus is $1,680, which is where inventory tracking starts. The promotional rate covers three months and then the list price resumes. Pick the tier that survives that arithmetic rather than the one with the best opening number, and confirm the current terms on Intuit’s page before you commit.
If you would rather skip the setup entirely and have a high ticket store built, launched and handed to you with the back office already wired up, take a look at the complete done for you high ticket dropshipping build and launch service.
Related Articles
QuickBooks Online Review 2026: What the $19 Headline Actually Costs
QuickBooks vs Zoho Books 2026: The $50K Free Tier and the Invoice Ceilings
QuickBooks Alternatives 2026: Organised by the Problem That Sent You Looking
How to Switch Accounting Software Without Losing Your History
Best Tax Software for Self Employed Filers in 2026

Trevor Fenner is an ecommerce entrepreneur and the founder of Ecommerce Paradise, a platform focused on helping entrepreneurs build and scale profitable high-ticket ecommerce and dropshipping businesses. With over a decade of hands-on experience, Trevor specializes in high-ticket dropshipping strategy, niche and product selection, supplier recruiting and onboarding, Google & Bing Shopping ads, ecommerce SEO, and systems-driven automation and scaling. Through Ecommerce Paradise, he provides free education via in-depth guides like How to Start High-Ticket Dropshipping, advanced training through the High-Ticket Dropshipping Masterclass, and fully done-for-you turnkey ecommerce services for entrepreneurs who want a faster, more hands-off path to growth. Trevor is known for emphasizing sustainable, real-world ecommerce models over hype-driven tactics, helping store owners build scalable, sellable, and location-independent brands.
Still deciding what to sell?
Grab the free list of 1,000+ niches that work for high-ticket dropshipping, sorted by category.
Free. Unsubscribe any time.

