QuickBooks vs Zoho Books 2026: The $50K Free Tier and the Invoice Ceilings

Data card showing the $50K revenue ceiling on the Zoho Books free plan
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure

Zoho Books Professional costs $480 a year. QuickBooks Online Plus costs $1,680 a year. Both cover five users. That is a difference of $1,200 for what looks, on a feature grid, like the same job.

That headline is real and I will stand behind the arithmetic, but it is not the interesting part of this comparison. The interesting part is that these two companies meter completely different things. Zoho counts invoices and revenue. QuickBooks counts seats. Nobody writes about that, and it is the thing most likely to bite you eighteen months from now.

I have been selling physical products online for fifteen years and I price software for a living. Everything below came off the two vendors’ own pricing pages on 7 September 2026, and where a page does not state a number I say so rather than filling the gap. Nothing here is tax or accounting advice; confirm your own treatment with a CPA or with the taxing authority.

The Seat Cap Is the QuickBooks Constraint

QuickBooks Simple Start covers 1 user plus 2 accountants at $456 a year in year two, Essentials covers 3 users at $1,020 and Plus covers 5 users at $1,680. No QuickBooks tier publishes an invoice cap. Confirm the current promotional terms on Intuit’s own page, because the advertised rate runs for three months only.

See QuickBooks Plans →

The $50K gate on the free plan

Zoho Books has a free tier, and it is a good deal more capable than most free tiers in this category. It carries one user plus one accountant, and it is not a trial.

It is also gated by revenue. The condition Zoho states is that the free plan is available as long as your revenue for the financial year does not exceed the threshold of $50K. That is a business size test, not a feature test, and it is the single most important sentence on the Zoho pricing page.

Fifty thousand dollars of annual revenue is roughly $4,167 a month. For a store selling physical goods that is not a lot. A high ticket store moving four orders a month at $1,000 each is already at the line. A general merchandise store doing $150 a day crosses it inside a year.

So the free Zoho plan is not a free plan for a growing business. It is a free plan for a business below a defined size, and the moment you succeed you are on Standard at $180 a year or Professional at $480 a year. That is fine, and $180 a year is cheap, but plan for it rather than being surprised by it.

Compare that with the way Wave handles the same problem. Wave Starter is free with no revenue threshold at all, and instead removes features: no automatic bank import, no branded invoices, no late payment reminders, no receipt digitisation, no dashboard insights. Two very different philosophies of what free means, and I go through Wave’s version in detail in the piece on what Wave’s free tier buys and exactly where it stops.

The invoice ceilings nobody mentions

Here is the second ceiling, and it applies on every Zoho tier including the expensive ones.

Plan Annual invoice cap Equivalent per month Users included
Zoho Books Free 1,000 About 83 1 user plus 1 accountant
Zoho Books Standard 5,000 About 416 3
Zoho Books Professional 10,000 About 833 5
Zoho Books Premium 25,000 About 2,083 10
Zoho Books Elite 100,000 About 8,333 10
Zoho Books Ultimate 100,000 About 8,333 15

Zoho’s own wording is that the Free plan allows up to 1,000 invoices to be created annually, Standard up to 5,000 invoices, Professional up to 10,000 invoices annually, Premium up to 25,000 invoices annually, and both Elite and Ultimate up to 100,000 invoices annually.

For most service businesses none of that matters. Five thousand invoices a year is more than a consultancy will ever raise. For a store, it matters a great deal, because in ecommerce an invoice is often an order, and orders scale with success rather than with headcount.

Run the numbers on your own business. A store doing 500 orders a month is at 6,000 a year, which is already past the Standard cap and into Professional territory at $480 a year. A store doing 1,000 orders a month is at 12,000 a year, past Professional and into Premium at $720. That is a growth curve where the software bill steps up because you sold more, not because you hired anybody.

Whether every order actually generates a Zoho invoice depends entirely on how your sales channel integration is configured, and some setups post daily summary entries instead of one invoice per order. That is worth checking before you assume the cap will bite, because the difference between 30 summary invoices a month and 1,000 order invoices a month is the difference between the free plan and the $720 plan.

What QuickBooks meters instead

QuickBooks does not publish an invoice cap on any tier. What it caps is seats.

Plan List per month Users Year one Year two
QuickBooks Simple Start $38 1 user plus 2 accountants $399 $456
QuickBooks Essentials $85 3 users plus 2 accountants $892.50 $1,020
QuickBooks Plus $140 5 users plus 2 accountants $1,470 $1,680
QuickBooks Advanced $340 25 users plus 3 accountants $3,570 $4,080

Year one is lower than year two because the advertised QuickBooks price is a three month promotional rate at 50% off, after which list resumes. Simple Start advertises $19 and the headline implies $228 for the year; the actual figure is $399 in year one and $456 thereafter. Plus advertises $70 and implies $840; the actual figure is $1,470 then $1,680. The full tier by tier working, including the payroll bundles, is in the breakdown of QuickBooks pricing costed for year one and year two.

The QuickBooks page also offers a thirty day free trial alongside the discount. I could not find fine print this session stating whether the two can be combined, so I am not going to assert that they cannot. Both are offered. What is certain is that the list price resumes after the promotional months.

One thing QuickBooks does well that gets undervalued: accountant seats are included in the plan and do not consume a user licence. Two on Simple Start, Essentials and Plus, three on Advanced. Zoho’s free tier includes one accountant. On Zoho’s paid tiers, whether an accountant occupies one of the numbered user slots is not something I could confirm from the pricing page, so ask before you buy if that matters to your setup.

The headline number, and what the $1,200 buys

Now the direct comparison at matched seat counts, on steady state annual pricing with no promotions running.

Seats needed Cheapest Zoho Books Cheapest QuickBooks Annual gap
1 Free, $0 Simple Start, $456 $456
3 Standard, $180 Essentials, $1,020 $840
5 Professional, $480 Plus, $1,680 $1,200
10 Premium, $720 Advanced, $4,080 $3,360
15 Ultimate, $2,880 Advanced, $4,080 $1,200

The five seat row is the headline of this whole comparison. Zoho Books Professional at $480 a year against QuickBooks Plus at $1,680 a year is a $1,200 gap for the same number of people, and Zoho throws in a 10,000 invoice allowance on top.

So what does the $1,200 actually buy? Three things, and you should weigh each one honestly.

First, inventory tracking. Intuit states that inventory is available in QuickBooks Online Plus and QuickBooks Online Advanced, which makes $140 a month the entry price for stock valuation. That page says it works with popular apps and names Amazon, Etsy and Shopify. It does not state a costing method, so I cannot tell you whether it runs first in first out or weighted average, and I am not going to repeat a third party’s claim about it. I could not price inventory tracking for Zoho Books from the pricing page I checked either, so if stock is your requirement, verify that directly with Zoho rather than assuming a comparable feature exists at $480.

Second, class and location tracking, which QuickBooks caps at forty classes on Plus and leaves unlimited on Advanced. If you run several sales channels or several brands and want them reported separately without maintaining separate files, that is what does it.

Third, and this is the one people undersell, the fact that your accountant already opens it. More on that below, because it deserves a section rather than a bullet.

The seat fee comparison that is genuinely lopsided

Zoho charges $3 a month for an additional user, or $2.50 a month billed annually, on every paid plan. That is $30 a year per extra person.

QuickBooks does not sell extra seats. It sells the next tier up. So the cost of the fourth person on Essentials is not a seat fee, it is the $660 a year jump to Plus. The cost of the sixth person on Plus is the $2,400 a year jump to Advanced.

Work an example. A business with eight people who need access to the books, at steady state annual pricing. On Zoho, Professional at $480 plus three additional users at $30 each is $570 a year. On QuickBooks, eight users means Advanced, which is $4,080 a year. That is a factor of seven.

I want to be careful not to oversell this. Most stores do not have eight people in the books, and if you do, the cost of the software is small next to the cost of the eight people. But if you are running a business where a lot of people need read access to financial data, Zoho’s pricing model is dramatically friendlier and QuickBooks has no answer to it.

Xero handles this differently again, with no per user licence fee stated on its plan cards at all, though its entry plan caps you at twenty invoices and five bills a month, which is the hardest gate in the category. That trade is worth understanding before you settle on either product here, and I lay it out in the head to head on QuickBooks against Xero on seat fees, invoice caps and real annual cost.

Inventory Is the $1,680 Line

QuickBooks Plus lists at $140 a month, which is $1,470 in year one and $1,680 in year two, and Intuit states it is the first tier with inventory tracking alongside Advanced. It also carries 5 users, 2 accountant seats and 40 classes. If you never hold stock, that money may well be better spent somewhere else in the business.

Compare QuickBooks Plans →

Monthly billing costs you real money on Zoho

Zoho publishes two prices per tier, a monthly rate and a lower annual rate. The gap is larger than most people expect, so here it is worked out.

Plan Monthly rate Annual rate per month Cost billed monthly Cost billed annually
Zoho Books Standard $20 $15 $240 $180
Zoho Books Professional $50 $40 $600 $480
Zoho Books Premium $70 $60 $840 $720
Zoho Books Elite $150 $120 $1,800 $1,440
Zoho Books Ultimate $275 $240 $3,300 $2,880

On Professional that is $120 a year of difference, which is a quarter of the annual price. On Elite it is $360. If you are confident you will still be using the product in twelve months, the annual commitment is the obvious call. If you are not confident, that lack of confidence is information about whether you should be buying this tier at all.

The same discipline applies on the additional user fee, which is $3 a month monthly and $2.50 a month annually. Small numbers individually, but they follow the same pattern.

The accountant question, answered honestly

Here is where I have to be careful, because this is the section where comparison posts start inventing statistics.

I am not going to tell you what share of accountants use QuickBooks, because I could not verify a market share figure I would be willing to print. What I will tell you is the practical shape of the problem, which you can test in about four minutes.

Call your accountant or bookkeeper. Ask them two questions. Do you work in Zoho Books, and if not, what would you charge me to work with a client who does. That is the whole test. If the answer is that they are comfortable in it, the $1,200 a year gap is real savings and you should take it. If the answer is that they would need to export everything to a spreadsheet each quarter, or that they charge a premium for unfamiliar systems, that premium is the real price of the cheaper software and it may well exceed $1,200.

This is not a QuickBooks argument dressed up as neutrality. It genuinely cuts both ways. Plenty of bookkeepers work happily in Zoho and in Xero, and a lot of smaller firms are flexible about it. But the person who does your books at the end of the year has a vote in this decision, and asking them costs nothing while guessing costs $1,200 either way.

The rest of the Zoho ecosystem is a genuine argument in its favour if you are already inside it. Zoho sells a wide suite of business software and the products share a login and a data layer. If you already run your CRM or your inventory or your helpdesk in that family, the integration story is stronger than any third party connector will be. I am not quoting prices for those other products here because I did not verify them this session.

Choosing between them, concretely

Vague advice is useless, so here is what I would actually tell someone.

Take Zoho Books Free if your revenue for the financial year is under $50K, you are one person, and you raise fewer than 1,000 invoices a year. Understand that you will move off it when the business works, and treat that as a good problem.

Take Zoho Books Standard at $180 a year if you have up to three people, under 5,000 invoices a year, and your accountant is comfortable in it. This is the cheapest genuinely complete accounting product in this comparison and it is a serious option that gets dismissed too easily.

Take Zoho Books Professional at $480 a year if you need five seats and up to 10,000 invoices. Against QuickBooks Plus at $1,680 you are saving $1,200 a year, and the only capability I can point at on the Intuit side that clearly justifies the difference is inventory tracking.

Take QuickBooks Simple Start at $456 a year if you are solo, you want two accountant seats in the price, and you want the product your bookkeeper opens without a conversation.

Take QuickBooks Plus at $1,680 a year if you hold stock. That is the argument, it is the same argument every time, and it is the reason Intuit can charge what it charges. If you sell physical goods and carry inventory, none of the cheaper options in this comparison replaces it, and the wider ranking in the best accounting software for ecommerce ranked by where inventory starts puts that gate in context against every other product in the category.

Take QuickBooks Advanced at $4,080 a year only for batch invoicing, workflow automation or more than five seats. Most stores reading this do not need any of the three.

Whichever you land on, set it up in the right order the first time. Reworking a chart of accounts after six months of transactions is miserable, and the sequence that avoids it is in the walkthrough on setting up QuickBooks for an ecommerce store in the order that prevents rework.

What neither company publishes

Two gaps worth knowing about before you commit either way.

QuickBooks does not publish a payment processing rate. Not on the pricing page, not on the payments page. The payments page says rates are competitive with no monthly fees or minimums, that you pay as you go, and that processing more than $2,500 per month may qualify you for up to 25% off standard rates, with 1-800-264-1859 given as the number to call. The standard rates themselves are absent. Intuit also does not publish a price for its Live bookkeeping service; that page directs you to call 1-800-365-9606.

On the Zoho side, I could not confirm from the pricing page whether an accountant consumes one of the numbered user seats on paid tiers, nor could I price inventory tracking. Neither of those is a criticism, it is simply the limit of what the page states, and both are quick questions for their sales team.

Also worth remembering that your accounting software is not your tax software, and neither of these products files anything for you. If sales tax is the thing actually keeping you up, start with the roundup of tax software for ecommerce sellers and take the specifics to a professional.

Running the business behind the books

All of this is a cost line. None of it makes you money. What actually moves the top of the profit and loss is what you sell and at what margin, and that deserves more of your attention than a $40 a month subscription choice.

If you are still picking a category, the breakdown of profitable high ticket niches is where I would start, because margin per order determines what software tier you can comfortably carry.

The model itself is explained from first principles in the piece on how high ticket dropshipping works, including why the bookkeeping stays lighter when you never hold stock.

Supplier sourcing is where most people stall. The complete step by step supplier sourcing guide takes you through outreach, terms and the paperwork.

Sort the entity before the first order rather than after it. The guide to business formation for high ticket dropshipping covers what to register and when, which also shapes how your books need structuring.

On tooling, I build stores on Shopify because it is the channel every accounting product connects to first. For formation and registered agent work without the upsell carousel, I send people to Bizee.

Once orders are actually moving, liability cover stops being theoretical, and Hiscox is where I point people for small business policies.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Zoho Books really free?

The free plan is real, with one user plus one accountant, but Zoho states it is available as long as your revenue for the financial year does not exceed the threshold of $50K. It is also capped at 1,000 invoices created annually. It is a free plan for businesses under a defined size, not a free plan for everyone.

What happens when I hit the Zoho invoice cap?

You move up a tier. The caps Zoho publishes are 1,000 invoices annually on Free, 5,000 on Standard, 10,000 on Professional, 25,000 on Premium and 100,000 on both Elite and Ultimate. Whether your orders each create an invoice depends on how your sales channel integration posts to the ledger, so check that before assuming the cap applies to you.

Does QuickBooks have an invoice limit?

No published invoice cap appears on any QuickBooks Online tier. What QuickBooks caps is users: 1 on Simple Start, 3 on Essentials, 5 on Plus and 25 on Advanced, with two or three accountant seats included on top depending on tier.

Is Zoho Books Professional really a third of the price of QuickBooks Plus?

On the annual rate, yes. Zoho Books Professional is $480 a year for five users and up to 10,000 invoices. QuickBooks Plus is $1,680 a year in year two for five users plus two accountants. The clearest thing the extra $1,200 buys is inventory tracking, which Intuit states begins at Plus.

How much are extra users on each product?

Zoho charges $3 a month per additional user, or $2.50 a month billed annually, on every paid plan. QuickBooks does not sell additional seats at all; you move to the next tier, so the sixth user on Plus costs you the $2,400 a year step up to Advanced.

Which one will my accountant prefer?

Ask them, and do it before you buy. I could not verify a market share figure I would be willing to print, so I am not going to give you one. The practical test is whether your bookkeeper works in Zoho Books, and what they would charge extra if they do not. That premium is the real price of the cheaper software.

Bottom Line

Zoho Books is the better value product on almost every line of the price comparison, and it is not close. Standard at $180 a year, Professional at $480 and Premium at $720 undercut the equivalent QuickBooks tiers by $840, $1,200 and $3,360 respectively. The additional user fee of $30 a year is the friendliest seat pricing in this category.

What you accept in exchange is two ceilings that QuickBooks does not impose. A revenue threshold of $50K on the free plan, and an annual invoice cap on every tier including the $2,880 one. For a service business those ceilings are invisible. For a store where an order becomes an invoice, they are a growth tax that arrives exactly when things are going well.

QuickBooks earns the premium in one place that I can point at with confidence, which is inventory tracking at Plus and above, and in one place I cannot quantify, which is how easily the person who does your books can work in it. Test the second one with a phone call. If your accountant is comfortable in Zoho and you do not hold stock, take the $1,200 and spend it on something that grows the business. If you hold stock, the conversation is over before it starts, and the detail of what the Intuit product actually does at each tier is in the QuickBooks Online review of what the $19 headline really costs.

Price the Tier You Will Still Be Paying For

Year two at list is $456 for Simple Start, $1,020 for Essentials, $1,680 for Plus and $4,080 for Advanced. The advertised half price rate covers three months and then list resumes. Check Intuit’s page for current terms before you commit, and buy for the seat count you will need next year rather than the one you need this month.

View QuickBooks Pricing →

If you would rather have the whole store built for you with the back office already wired up, take a look at the complete done for you high ticket dropshipping build and launch service.

Related Articles

QuickBooks Pricing 2026: Every Plan Costed for Year One and Year Two

QuickBooks vs Wave 2026: What Free Buys and Exactly Where It Stops

Best Accounting Software for Ecommerce 2026: Ranked by Where Inventory Starts

QuickBooks Alternatives 2026: Organised by the Problem That Sent You Looking

How to File a Tax Extension in 2026: Form 4868 Explained

Free 1,000+ high-ticket niches list

Still deciding what to sell?

Grab the free list of 1,000+ niches that work for high-ticket dropshipping, sorted by category.

Free. Unsubscribe any time.