Lightroom Alternatives: 5 Photo Editors Compared by Price for Store Owners (2026)

Lightroom Alternatives: 5 Photo Editors Compared by Price for Store Owners (2026)
Lightroom Alternatives: 5 Photo Editors Compared by Price for Store Owners (2026)
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure

Lightroom is the editing tool many photographers start with, and it is a subscription. The Adobe page I reviewed lists the Lightroom plan at $11.99 a month on an annual plan billed monthly, with 1TB of storage and a 7-day trial. That is about $144 a year for a tool you may use mostly to batch-fix product photos for a store. If you want to stop paying every month, or you want a different way of working, there are real options. I run my own stores and teach high-ticket dropshipping at Ecommerce Paradise, and I look for tools that fit a store owner’s real workload.

Everything below comes from each vendor’s own page as I reviewed it. Where a page does not show a number, I write “not shown” instead of guessing. Prices change, so confirm them before you buy. Some links in this article are affiliate links, which means I may earn a commission if you sign up, at no extra cost to you.

If you are still deciding what to sell, start with my guide to what high-ticket dropshipping is. Then come back and pick the photo workflow that fits it.

Lightroom Alternatives at a Glance

Tool Starting price Free option Best for
Affinity Free for individuals Yes, free for individuals One app for photo editing, vector design, and layouts
darktable Open source, no price shown Yes, open source Non-destructive raw editing at no cost
RawTherapee Free and open source Yes, free and open source Raw processing on Windows, Mac, or Linux
Luminar Desktop Only at $99 one time No free trial shown Owners who want a one-time purchase with AI tools
ON1 Photo RAW One-time purchase, price not shown Yes, 30-day trial Photographers who want to own the software

Great photos only help if there is a store to show them in. If you want a high-ticket store built for you, start here. See the done-for-you store build →

What Lightroom Costs and Where It Falls Short

The Lightroom plans page lists several plans. The Lightroom plan for individuals is $11.99 a month on the annual plan billed monthly. It includes Lightroom on mobile, desktop, and web, Lightroom Classic, 1TB of cloud storage, and 250 generative credits a month.

The Photography plan is $19.99 a month and adds Photoshop, with 1,000 generative credits a month. Creative Cloud Pro is regularly $69.99 a month, with a $34.99 offer for the first 3 months for new subscribers. Lightroom for teams is $37.99 per license a month, and Creative Cloud Pro for teams is $99.99 per license a month.

Every individual plan shows a 7-day free trial. The page does not state the price after the Creative Cloud Pro promotion, and the student plan lists two different regular prices in different places. The main drawback for a small store is paying a subscription forever for a tool you may only use in short sessions.

How to Pick a Photo Editor

Start with your cameras and files. If you shoot raw files, you want an editor built to develop raw files, not only to retouch finished images. If you only work with JPG files from a supplier, a simpler editor is enough.

Next, think about volume. A store with 20 products and 5 angles each has 100 photos to edit. Batch tools that apply the same changes to many photos at once save more time than any single feature.

Finally, decide how you want to pay. Some tools are free, some are one-time purchases, and some are subscriptions. A one-time price looks cheap now, but check what is included for how long.

1. Affinity

Affinity is now one app that covers photo editing, vector design, and page layout. The page names Vector Studio for graphic design and illustration, Pixel for photo editing, and Layout for page layout. It says Affinity is free for individuals, and it does not show a price for any paid tier.

The page also says you can export finished work to Canva for collaboration, and that Canva AI tools are included in the app. A Canva premium plan unlocks more AI tools inside Affinity, though the cost is not shown on the Affinity page. The page does not describe raw file support or photo catalogs, so test your own files before you rely on it.

Because the price for individuals is free, the yearly cost is $0 for the editing itself. Affinity suits owners who want one program for product photos, logos, and printed material. It is a good first step if you want to leave Adobe without a new bill.

2. darktable

darktable describes itself as an open source digital lighttable and darkroom. It is released under the GPL 3.0 license and offers advanced raw photo processing. Edits are applied non-destructively, and the page says the original image is never modified.

The page does not show a price, which is typical for open source software, and it does not list supported platforms. Check the download page for your system before you commit. A tool like this takes time to learn, since it is built for photographers who want control.

Open source means the yearly cost is zero. darktable suits owners who shoot raw files and are happy to learn a more technical program. Plan an afternoon of practice on a real batch of product photos.

3. RawTherapee

RawTherapee is free and open source software released under the GPLv3 license. It runs on Linux, macOS, and Windows, with downloads for each. The page describes it as a program for developing raw files from a broad range of digital cameras.

It lists a non-destructive 32-bit floating-point processing engine, several demosaicing algorithms, pixel-shift compositing, and dark frame subtraction. It also offers color and detail editing tools. The page does not show system requirements or a supported camera list, so check your camera before you start.

The cost is zero, and the learning curve is real. RawTherapee suits owners who want a free raw developer on any computer. If your photos are simple product shots, you may find a lighter tool faster.

4. Luminar

Luminar is a paid editor that sells one-time plans. The pricing page lists Desktop Only at $99, All Platforms at $139, and Max at $159, each shown as a sale price against a much higher original price. The page does not state how long the sale lasts.

Desktop Only and All Platforms are one-time purchases, though AI tools need renewal after 365 days through Luminar Prime. Max is also one-time for the apps, but its AI tools and asset library renew yearly. The product page lists a perpetual license for two devices on Desktop Only and a 30-day money-back guarantee.

No free trial is shown on the pricing page. The cost over three years is $33 a year on the Desktop Only sale price, before any AI renewal. Luminar suits owners who want a one-time purchase and built-in AI tools, as long as they read the renewal terms.

5. ON1 Photo RAW

ON1 Photo RAW is a photo editor you can buy once. The page describes Photo RAW 2027 as a one-time purchase with no subscription required, and the price is not shown. Photo RAW MAX 2027 is listed as “own it or subscribe,” with no subscription price shown.

Photo RAW covers two computers and Photo RAW MAX covers three. The page says it is free to try for 30 days and advertises a 30-day money-back guarantee, though the refund terms are not detailed. A pop-up mentions savings of up to 20% with a coupon.

Because the price is not shown, I cannot give a yearly cost. ON1 suits photographers who want to own their software and test it first. Download the trial and edit a real batch before you decide.

What Each Option Costs Per Year

Here is the yearly math for one person. Lightroom is $11.99 a month, which is $143.88 over twelve months. The Photography plan is $19.99 a month, which is $239.88 over twelve months, and Creative Cloud Pro is $839.88 at the regular price.

Affinity, darktable, and RawTherapee all cost $0. Luminar Desktop Only is $99 once on the sale price, All Platforms is $139, and Max is $159. ON1 and the other paid editors do not show prices on the pages I could load, so check them directly.

Other Photo Editors Worth a Look

Capture One lists subscription plans named Pro, All in One, and Studio, plus a perpetual Pro license. The page says you can switch to a perpetual license at any time, and that after 5 years of subscription the perpetual license comes at no extra cost. Prices and trial length are not shown.

DxO PhotoLab 10 is presented as a raw editor with AI masking, lens-specific corrections, and batch processing. The page lists a perpetual license for Windows and macOS and notes that version 10.1 adds Affinity integration. Editions, prices, and trial length are not shown.

Editing Product Photos in Batches

Most store photos need the same few changes. Fix the exposure, straighten the horizon, crop to a standard ratio, and export at a set size. Apply one set of changes to the first photo, then copy it to the rest of the batch.

Keep your raw files in one folder and your exports in another. Name each export with the product and the angle so the file is easy to find later. A clear folder system saves more time than any editing feature.

Shoot in the same light and with the same background where you can. Consistent shots need less editing. My guide on shooting product photos without a studio covers the setup.

Storage, Backup, and Sharing

Raw files are large, so plan storage early. The Lightroom and Photography plans include 1TB of cloud storage, which is part of what you pay for. If you leave, you need your own place to keep originals and exports.

Keep two copies of every original, one on a drive you own and one in the cloud. A shared drive in Google Workspace works well for sharing finished photos with a helper or a designer. Back up before you delete anything from the old system.

Hiring Help for Photo Edits

Editing can be handed off once you write down your rules. A virtual assistant from OnlineJobs.ph can crop, resize, and rename images from a written guide. Include before and after examples so they know what you expect.

For retouching or custom graphics, a freelancer on Fiverr can deliver a batch you reuse. For ad graphics and banners, Canva gives you templates without a designer.

If you want to compare design tools, read my guide to Canva alternatives. It covers six options with prices from each vendor page.

Connecting Photos to Your Store and Email

Good images do their work on your product pages and in your emails. I run stores on Shopify, and I export web-sized files so pages load quickly. Large originals slow a page down.

Reuse your best photos in email. A tool like Omnisend lets you send product emails and abandoned cart reminders with your strongest images. If you want a broader look at editing tools for store images, read my Photoshop alternatives guide.

Costs to Watch as You Grow

The first cost is the subscription that never ends. Lightroom at $11.99 a month adds up to over $1,400 across ten years. A one-time editor may cost less over that time, but check what upgrades cost.

The second cost is AI renewals. Luminar’s AI tools renew after 365 days, and Lightroom’s plans list monthly generative credits. If you use AI features, ask what happens when the credits or the renewal period ends.

The third cost is your time. A free tool that is hard to learn can cost more than a subscription if you edit every day. Test it on a real batch before you decide.

Moving Away From Lightroom Safely

Before you cancel, export your finished photos at full quality and keep your original raw files. Copy everything stored in your cloud space to a drive you own. Edits saved inside one program may not carry over to another, so do not delete the originals.

Test the new editor on a copy of a real batch. Compare the results with your old edits and note any color differences. Run both tools side by side for a month.

Cancel only when you are happy with the new results. Check Adobe’s current cancellation terms first, since the plans are listed as annual, billed monthly. Tell any helpers which tool to use from the switch date.

When Lightroom Is Still the Right Pick

Switching is not always the right call. If you edit large photo libraries across a phone, tablet, and desktop, the cloud sync in the Lightroom plan is part of the value. A team that already uses Adobe tools may also prefer to stay.

The Photography plan at $19.99 a month adds Photoshop for roughly $8 more than the Lightroom plan. If you use both daily, that is a fair price. If you only crop and brighten, you are paying for features you do not use.

Common Mistakes With Photo Editors

The first mistake is deleting your originals after you export. You may want to redo an edit later. The second mistake is switching tools in the middle of a big product launch.

The third mistake is spending on software before your business is set up. If you have not formed your company, read my guide to business formation for high-ticket dropshipping. To start a company quickly, Bizee is one option I recommend for LLC filings.

The fourth mistake is editing photos for products you cannot source. Pick a niche from my high-ticket niches list before you build a photo library. My guide to finding suppliers for high-ticket dropshipping covers the sourcing side.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best free Lightroom alternative?
Affinity is listed as free for individuals, and darktable and RawTherapee are open source. RawTherapee lists Linux, macOS, and Windows downloads. Which one fits depends on whether you shoot raw files and how much time you want to spend learning.

How much does Lightroom cost?
The Adobe page lists the Lightroom plan at $11.99 a month on an annual plan billed monthly, with 1TB of storage. The Photography plan with Photoshop is $19.99 a month. Individual plans show a 7-day free trial.

Can I buy a photo editor once instead of subscribing?
Yes. Luminar lists one-time plans from $99 on the sale price, and ON1 Photo RAW 2027 is described as a one-time purchase. Read the renewal terms for AI tools, since they can add a yearly cost.

Do I need Lightroom for product photos?
Not necessarily. If you shoot simple product shots, a free editor can handle cropping, exposure, and exports. A raw-focused tool helps most if you shoot raw files in volume.

Will my Lightroom edits transfer to another program?
Not always. Export your finished photos and keep your original raw files, because edits saved inside one program may not carry over. Test the new tool on a copy before you cancel.

Final Verdict on Lightroom Alternatives

Affinity is the best pick for one free app that covers photos and design, darktable and RawTherapee are the free routes for raw files, Luminar fits owners who want a one-time purchase with AI tools, and ON1 Photo RAW suits photographers who want to own their software and try it for 30 days. Lightroom is still worth it for cloud sync across devices and for teams on Adobe.

Start with a free option, edit a real batch of product photos, and confirm current pricing on the vendor page before you pay for anything. Then spend your attention on the store itself, because clean photos only matter once buyers can find and trust the page.

Want a store ready for your best product photos? Let my team build it for you. Get your store built →

Prefer to learn the model yourself? Start with my free mini course, or go deeper in the masterclass and coaching. Free mini course → Masterclass → Coaching →

Related Articles

If you found this useful, these guides go deeper on related topics: