As of November 2026, basic Shopify POS comes with every Shopify plan at no extra charge, and POS Pro is an add-on at $89 per location per month, billed yearly. In-person card rates run from 2.6% + 10 cents on Basic down to 2.3% + 10 cents on Plus, and hardware starts at $49 for the Tap & Chip card reader. I teach high-ticket dropshipping at Ecommerce Paradise, and this guide lays out what a store pays to sell in person, with the arithmetic shown so you can swap in your own numbers.
Disclosure: some links below are affiliate links, which means I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Every Shopify figure comes from Shopify’s POS pricing page and the Shopify hardware store, and I say “not shown” where a number was not on a page I could load. Prices and terms change, so confirm them on the live page before you buy. This is not financial or tax advice.
One naming note first. Many store owners say “POS Lite” for the version that comes with every plan, but the current pricing page does not use that name. It calls the included tier casual in-person selling, so when I say POS Lite below, I mean that included tier. The paid upgrade is called POS Pro.
Shopify POS Pricing at a Glance (November 2026)
| Item | Basic | Grow | Advanced | Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plan price, monthly billing | $39 | $105 | $399 | From $2,300 |
| Plan price, yearly billing (per month) | $29 | $79 | $299 | Not shown |
| In-person card rate | 2.6% + 10 cents | 2.5% + 10 cents | 2.4% + 10 cents | 2.3% + 10 cents |
| Online card rate, for comparison | 2.9% + 30 cents | 2.7% + 30 cents | 2.5% + 30 cents | 2.25% + 30 cents |
| POS Lite (included tier) | Included, limited staff access | Included, unlimited POS logins | Included, unlimited POS logins | Included, unlimited POS logins |
| POS Pro add-on | $89 per location a month | $89 per location a month | $89 per location a month | Not shown on the pages I could load |
The plan prices and card rates come from Shopify’s pricing page, and the logins row comes from the POS pricing page. Shopify prints the card rates as “starting at” figures. The POS pricing page does not say which payment processor those rates belong to, and in my Shopify fees guide I explain how rates change when you use a third-party gateway instead of Shopify Payments.
In-person selling only pays off when the products and margins are right. If you want a high-ticket store built for you, with products, suppliers, and pages already lined up, start here. See the done-for-you store build →
POS Lite vs POS Pro: What You Get for Free and What $89 Buys
Shopify says casual in-person selling is included in every plan. That tier gives you limited staff access to the POS app, simple customer profiles, and returns at the original purchase location. The pricing page does not give a number for “limited staff” on Basic. On Grow, Advanced, and Plus it lists unlimited POS logins.
POS Pro adds unlimited staff access, staff roles and permissions, richer customer profiles, customer loyalty insights, returns and exchanges at any location, inventory management, professional retail reports, and omnichannel selling. Shopify’s FAQ gives the price as $89 per month for each location, billed yearly. That works out to $89 x 12 = $1,068 per location per year.
Who Needs POS Pro
In my experience, a single-person pop-up or a showroom with one or two staff can run on the included tier. POS Pro starts to matter when you have more than one location, when you need staff permissions so a part-timer cannot issue refunds, or when you want returns and exchanges to work across locations. Inventory management and retail reports also sit on the Pro side of the line, so a store with a lot of SKUs in a physical space is the typical buyer.
Shopify’s cards show the price as “+ $89 USD/month” per POS Pro location, and the FAQ adds “billed yearly.” A separate month-to-month price for POS Pro: not shown. If you want to try it for a month before committing to a year, ask Shopify support how that works for your account.
Is a Higher Plan Cheaper Than Paying for POS Pro?
These are different costs and they do not replace each other. The plan sets your card rate and your login limit, and POS Pro is a per-location add-on on top. Moving from Basic to Grow gets you unlimited POS logins, but not the Pro features such as staff roles and retail reports. The plan comparison is covered in more depth in my Shopify pricing guide.
In-Person Card Rates by Plan
The in-person card rate is the percentage plus 10 cents on every card-present sale. Here is what each plan costs on a single sale, using the rates above.
| Sale amount | Basic (2.6% + 10c) | Grow (2.5% + 10c) | Advanced (2.4% + 10c) | Plus (2.3% + 10c) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $50 | $1.40 | $1.35 | $1.30 | $1.25 |
| $500 | $13.10 | $12.60 | $12.10 | $11.60 |
| $1,500 | $39.10 | $37.60 | $36.10 | $34.60 |
| $4,000 | $104.10 | $100.10 | $96.10 | $92.10 |
The arithmetic is the sale amount times the percentage, plus $0.10. For a $1,500 sale on Basic, that is $1,500 x 0.026 = $39.00, plus $0.10, which is $39.10. The same $1,500 sold online on Basic is $1,500 x 0.029 = $43.50, plus $0.30, which is $43.80, so selling in person saves $4.70 on that sale.
On high-ticket sales the 10-cent part barely matters and the percentage does all the work. A $4,000 sale costs $104.10 on Basic and $92.10 on Plus, which is a $12 gap per sale.
When Does a Higher Plan Pay for Itself?
Each step up in plan lowers the in-person rate by 0.1 percentage point and the online rate by about 0.2 points. A simple break-even is the monthly plan price difference divided by the rate difference. Moving from Basic to Grow on yearly billing costs $79 – $29 = $50 more a month. On in-person sales alone, that is $50 / 0.001 = $50,000 of card sales a month before Grow breaks even. On monthly billing the difference is $105 – $39 = $66, so the break-even is $66 / 0.001 = $66,000.
Online sales count too, and they save twice as much per dollar. A store with $10,000 in person and $20,000 online saves ($10,000 x 0.001) + ($20,000 x 0.002) = $10 + $40 = $50 a month on Grow, which matches the extra $50 on yearly billing. The same logic moving from Grow to Advanced on yearly billing costs $299 – $79 = $220 more a month, so you need about $220,000 of in-person volume, or a mix with online sales, to break even.
Third-Party Gateways
The pricing page also lists a separate third-party provider rate: 2% on Basic, 1% on Grow, and 0.6% on Advanced. That applies when you use an outside payment provider instead of Shopify Payments. The page does not say how that interacts with card-present sales, so check it before you build a plan around a gateway.
Shopify POS Hardware Prices
Shopify’s hardware store lists the prices below in dollars for the US store. You can sell with just a phone and a card reader, or build a full counter. Here is every item with a price I could find.
| Hardware | Price shown | What it is |
|---|---|---|
| Tap & Chip Card Reader | $49 | Compact reader with Bluetooth and USB for mobile and countertop selling |
| POS Terminal | $349 | Countertop terminal with a customer-facing display; takes tap, chip, and swipe |
| Verifone Victa Mobile | $399 | Handheld all-in-one that runs the POS app, takes payments, and scans barcodes |
| POS Hub | $69 | Wired USB hub that connects accessories to an iPad or Android tablet |
| Eddy Tablet Stand | $149 | Tablet stand |
| OmniLink Receipt Printer (Epson TM-m30III) | $289 | Receipt printer |
| Engage 2D G2 Scanner (HP) | $209 | Barcode scanner |
| Cash drawer (Star Micronics CD4, 14-inch or 16-inch) | $139 | Cash drawer, listed in the accessories collection |
The POS Hub and Verifone Victa Mobile product pages list free shipping and free 30-day returns, and the Hub carries a 1-year warranty, or 2 years with the POS Pro subscription. Shipping and return terms for the other items: not shown on the pages I could load. Bundle and kit prices are also not shown, because the kit builder says you can save on your total but lists no kit prices.
Hardware Setups Added Up
These totals simply add the listed prices, and they exclude tax, shipping, and a tablet. The $139 cash drawer is not included in any of them, so add it if you need one. Check compatibility on Shopify’s pages before you buy, because not every item works with every other.
- Phone and reader (mobile selling): Tap & Chip reader at $49.
- Handheld: Verifone Victa Mobile at $399.
- Countertop terminal: POS Terminal at $349.
- Tablet counter: Tap & Chip $49 + POS Hub $69 + HP scanner $209 + Epson printer $289 = $616. Adding the $139 cash drawer makes it $755.
One mismatch worth knowing: the Victa Mobile is $399 in the hardware store, while Shopify’s POS Pro Yearly offer page lists it as regularly priced at $449 and counts the free hardware as a $439 value. I do not know why the figures differ, so treat $399 as the list price I saw and the other two as Shopify’s own offer wording.
The POS Pro Yearly Offer
Shopify’s POS Pro Yearly offer page advertises a package worth $2,400, and it itemizes what is in it for one location:
- Free POS hardware, a $439 value per location: a Verifone Victa Mobile, which the page lists as regularly priced at $449, subject to a $10 activation fee per device.
- Free migration and setup support, a $1,500 value: you have 90 days to book an initial expert call.
- 25% off POS Pro, a $264 value per location: how long the discount lasts is not stated on the page.
- A $200 subscription fee rebate: you get 3 months of POS fees back if you process $10,000 in Shopify Payments sales within 90 days at a single location.
Those four lines add up to $439 + $1,500 + $264 + $200 = $2,403, which is where the roughly $2,400 headline comes from. The $10,000 sales condition applies to the $200 rebate, not to the whole offer. Current POS Pro subscribers are excluded, and the page says plans below Plus can have up to 10 retail locations. Note that Shopify itself puts the values on the free items, so I cannot tell you what the hardware or the setup call is worth to your store. For one location, the part you pay for is the subscription: $89 x 12 = $1,068 a year before the 25% discount.
If you are planning a purchase, you can see current offers by starting a trial through my Shopify signup link. Offers like this come and go, so the live page is the final word.
Plans, Trial and Billing Notes
Shopify’s pricing page shows a trial of 3 days free, then $1 a month for 3 months, and its FAQ says the trial needs no credit card. That trial is for the store plan, and I did not see a separate trial for POS Pro. You can create a free Shopify account without a card, and the POS page says you can try Shopify POS for free with no card, though the trial length is not shown.
Plus is quoted from $2,300 a month on a 3-year term according to the POS pricing page, with no yearly figure. Whether POS Pro locations are included with Plus: not shown on the pages I could load, so ask Shopify if you are in Plus territory. The POS pricing page itself says the Plus in-person rate is not shown, while the main pricing page lists 2.3% + 10 cents, so I used the latter.
What a Store Pays: Five Worked Examples
These are illustrations built from the prices above, not quotes. They exclude tax, hardware (unless stated), and any processing fees outside card sales.
1. Weekend Market Seller
A seller takes $3,000 a month in card sales across 60 transactions on Basic with monthly billing. The plan is $39. Card fees are $3,000 x 0.026 = $78.00, plus 60 x $0.10 = $6.00, which is $84.00. The month costs $39 + $84 = $123.00, and the first month adds the $49 reader for $172.00. POS Pro is not needed here.
2. Boutique With a Part-Time Team
A boutique does $20,000 a month in person across 200 transactions with one location and POS Pro, on yearly billing. On Grow that is $79 + $89 = $168 for the plan and Pro. Card fees are $20,000 x 0.025 = $500 plus 200 x $0.10 = $20, which is $520. The total is $688 a month. On Basic with yearly billing it is $29 + $89 = $118, plus fees of $520 + $20 = $540, for $658. Basic wins by $30 a month at this volume, which fits the $50,000 break-even above.
3. High-Ticket Showroom
A showroom closes 10 sales a month at $4,000 each, which is $40,000 in person, with one POS Pro location on yearly billing. Grow costs $79 + $89 = $168, plus fees of $40,000 x 0.025 = $1,000 and 10 x $0.10 = $1, so $1,001, for a total of $1,169. Basic costs $29 + $89 = $118, plus $40,000 x 0.026 = $1,040 and $1, so $1,041, for $1,159. Advanced costs $299 + $89 = $388, plus $40,000 x 0.024 = $960 and $1, so $961, for $1,349. At this volume Basic is $10 cheaper than Grow and $190 cheaper than Advanced, on in-person sales alone.
4. Three Locations
A brand with three locations on Grow with yearly billing pays the plan once and POS Pro for each location: $79 + (3 x $89) = $79 + $267 = $346 a month. Over a year that is $346 x 12 = $4,152. That is before card fees and hardware.
5. Cost of Selling a Product Online or in Person
A $1,500 sale on Grow costs $1,500 x 0.025 + $0.10 = $37.60 in person and $1,500 x 0.027 + $0.30 = $40.80 online. The in-person sale saves $3.20. Over 100 such sales a month, that adds up to $320, which can matter if your high-ticket model includes a showroom or events.
Is Shopify POS Worth It for a High-Ticket Store?
A pure online dropshipping store does not need POS at all. It becomes useful when you add events, a showroom, pop-ups, or local delivery pickups, and it lets you keep inventory and customers in the same Shopify account. If you are still choosing a category, my high-ticket niches list shows which products people like to see in person before buying.
If you carry stock for a showroom instead of shipping direct, supplier terms change, because you now buy inventory up front. My guide on how to find suppliers for high-ticket products covers questions to ask. The model itself is explained in what high-ticket dropshipping is.
Hidden Costs and Things to Watch
- Per-location Pro fee: $89 for each location, so a second pop-up location doubles the add-on.
- Yearly billing on Pro: the FAQ says billed yearly, with a monthly option not shown.
- Hardware outside the reader: a counter setup adds a hub, scanner, printer, stand, and a $139 cash drawer if you need one.
- Plan price creep: a plan upgrade is a separate cost, so compare it with the rate savings before you move up.
- Promo terms: the POS Pro Yearly offer has a $10 activation fee per device, excludes current POS Pro subscribers, and ties its $200 rebate to $10,000 in Shopify Payments sales within 90 days at a single location.
- Sales tax: tax rates for in-person sales are not covered on the pricing pages I read.
Selling in person also makes your store a business with physical-world obligations, such as sales tax and sometimes local licenses. My guide to business formation for high-ticket dropshipping explains why to set up the entity before you take card payments in person. The IRS page on deducting business expenses points to Publication 334, and your accountant can tell you how to treat the equipment and subscriptions.
Alternatives
If Shopify’s in-person pricing does not fit, compare it with other point-of-sale systems. My Square fees calculator shows what you keep on each sale. My Clover pricing guide covers plans, rates, and hardware costs. I do not quote their prices here because I did not re-verify them for this update.
What I Could Not Confirm
- A month-to-month price for POS Pro: not shown, the FAQ says billed yearly.
- The number of staff allowed on the included tier on Basic: not shown, only “limited.”
- Prices for hardware bundles and kits: not shown. The $139 cash drawer price comes from the accessories collection.
- Shipping and return terms for hardware other than the Victa Mobile and POS Hub: not shown on the pages I could load.
- Whether the listed card rates apply only to Shopify Payments: the POS pricing page does not say.
- Yearly pricing for Plus, and whether POS Pro locations are included with Plus: not shown on the pages I could load.
- How long the 25% off lasts in the POS Pro Yearly offer: not stated on the offer page.
- Whether a trial exists for POS Pro itself: not shown.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Shopify POS cost?
As of November 2026, basic Shopify POS is included with every Shopify plan, which costs $39 a month on Basic or $29 on yearly billing. POS Pro is an add-on at $89 per location per month, billed yearly, and in-person card rates start at 2.6% + 10 cents on Basic.
What is the difference between POS Lite and POS Pro?
The included tier, often called POS Lite, gives limited staff access, simple customer profiles, and returns at the original location. POS Pro adds unlimited staff access, roles and permissions, richer customer profiles, returns and exchanges at any location, inventory management, and retail reports.
What are Shopify POS in-person card rates?
Shopify lists 2.6% + 10 cents on Basic, 2.5% + 10 cents on Grow, 2.4% + 10 cents on Advanced, and 2.3% + 10 cents on Plus. On a $1,500 sale that is $39.10 on Basic and $34.60 on Plus.
How much does Shopify POS hardware cost?
Shopify’s hardware store lists the Tap & Chip reader at $49, the POS Hub at $69, the POS Terminal at $349, and the Verifone Victa Mobile at $399. Accessories include a $149 tablet stand, a $289 receipt printer, a $209 scanner, and a $139 cash drawer.
Do I need POS Pro?
Not if you run one location with a small team and only need to take payments. POS Pro matters for multiple locations, staff permissions, cross-location returns, and inventory and retail reporting, at $1,068 a year per location.
The Bottom Line on Shopify POS Pricing
Shopify POS costs what your plan costs, plus $89 per location a month if you need POS Pro, plus hardware that starts at $49. For a one-location store, the choice of plan matters less than it looks: in my showroom example, Basic beat Grow by $10 a month at $40,000 of in-person sales.
Start on the included tier, add POS Pro only when staff permissions, multiple locations, or inventory reports become a real need, and pick your plan by your combined online and in-person volume.
Would you rather spend your time selling than comparing fee tables? Let my team build you a high-ticket store with the products and suppliers sorted. Get your store built →
Want to learn how a high-ticket store is built before you spend on hardware? Start with my free mini course. Free mini course →
Related Articles
If you found this useful, these guides go deeper on related topics:
- Shopify Fees 2026: Rates by Plan and Worked Examples
- Shopify Pricing 2026: Basic $39, Grow $105, Advanced $399
- Square Fees Calculator 2026: What You Keep on Every Sale
- Clover Pricing 2026: Plans, Rates and Hardware Costs
- Stripe vs Square 2026: Fees, Payouts and Features Compared

Trevor Fenner is an ecommerce entrepreneur and world traveler from Seattle, Washington, and the founder of Ecommerce Paradise, a platform focused on helping entrepreneurs build and scale profitable high-ticket ecommerce and dropshipping businesses. With over a decade of hands-on experience, Trevor specializes in high-ticket dropshipping strategy, niche and product selection, supplier recruiting and onboarding, Google & Bing Shopping ads, ecommerce SEO, and systems-driven automation and scaling. Through Ecommerce Paradise, he provides free education via in-depth guides like How to Start High-Ticket Dropshipping, advanced training through the High-Ticket Dropshipping Masterclass, and fully done-for-you turnkey ecommerce services for entrepreneurs who want a faster, more hands-off path to growth. Trevor is known for emphasizing sustainable, real-world ecommerce models over hype-driven tactics, helping store owners build scalable, sellable, and location-independent brands.
He maintains homes in Seattle and Bali, spends most of the year overseas, and usually returns to Seattle for about a month each summer.

