Hey guys, Trevor here. There are about four hundred blog posts telling you Undercover Tourist saves you money on theme park tickets. Almost none of them show you a single dated price, which is the only kind of price that exists for a Disney or Universal ticket.
So I did the boring version. On 23 September 2026 I built one reference basket, priced it at the reseller, priced the identical ticket at the park’s own store for the identical date, added the published Florida sales tax to the pre tax side, and wrote down every number. This post is that spreadsheet, in English.
Here is the answer before the working. On a 4 day Walt Disney World basket Undercover Tourist came in $101.85 cheaper, about 3.56%, or $25.46 a ticket. On a 2 day Universal Orlando basket it came in $2.31 cheaper on a basket of nearly $1,300, and a competitor that pays us nothing beat both the reseller and the park. And the 5% fee you pay to get a refund is bigger than the discount on every basket I priced.
Disclosure before the first link that pays us
The Undercover Tourist links on this page are monetised affiliate links and they pay E-Commerce Paradise through CJ Affiliate, at 1% or a flat $1 to $5 per sale. On the Disney basket below, which runs about $2,700, a 1% commission works out to roughly $27 to us. That is the whole incentive, and I would rather you knew the size of it than guessed.
Nothing else on this page pays us anything. Orlando Informer, Walt Disney World, Universal Orlando, Disneyland Resort and aResTravel have no affiliate relationship with us, and Orlando Informer beats the paying brand on the Universal basket. The business section links further down (Shopify, Bizee, Hiscox and QuickBooks) are affiliate links too.
The reference basket, and why the party matters more than the seller
A theme park ticket price without a date, a party and an exact product name is not information. So every figure below carries all three.
The party is three adults and one child. I know the trip I described sounds like two adults and two kids, aged ten and seven. It is not, for ticketing purposes. Every seller I checked bands tickets as “Adult 10+”, with a separate child band running from age 3 to age 9. A ten year old buys an adult ticket. Undercover Tourist puts the rule plainly: “The parks look at the age of the child when he or she FIRST uses the ticket i.e. when entering the park.”
That one detail is worth more than most ticket discounts. If you budgeted two child tickets and you are actually buying three adult tickets, you are hundreds of dollars light before anybody’s coupon enters the picture. Disney’s own ticket page does confirm the bottom end: “Please note that children younger than age 3 don’t need a ticket.”
| Trip | Exact product | Dates | Party |
|---|---|---|---|
| A | Walt Disney World 4 day, 1 park per day, base ticket | start Wed 20 January 2027 | 3 adults, 1 child |
| B | Universal Orlando 2 day, 1 park per day, base ticket | start Wed 20 January 2027 | 3 adults, 1 child |
| C | Disneyland Resort 3 day, 1 park per day | no dated price published | 3 adults, 1 child |
The tax problem, and where my 6.5% comes from
This is the step almost every comparison post skips, and skipping it is how a reseller ends up looking 6% better than it is.
Undercover Tourist displays prices with tax already in them. Its own copy reads “Free Shipping & Tax Included”. Disney’s ticket module says its prices are “before tax” right in the header. Universal’s store says “plus tax” on every price statement. Orlando Informer says “Per guest, plus tax”. So three of the four sellers quote pre tax and one quotes tax inclusive, which means a raw number against number comparison is just wrong.
For the Orlando trips I gross the pre tax prices up by 6.5%. That is Florida’s general state sales tax rate of 6% plus Orange County’s 0.5% discretionary sales surtax. The Florida Department of Revenue publishes each of those separately, in separate documents, and its own page states admissions are taxable: “Each sale, admission, storage, or rental in Florida is taxable, unless the transaction is exempt.” It also lists the exceptions to the 6% rate, and admissions are not among them.
Two honest caveats on that. The 6.5% is my addition of two published numbers, not a combined rate the state prints anywhere, so do not go quoting the Florida Department of Revenue as saying 6.5%. And the county surtax figure I am using comes from the Department’s rate table, which is the kind of document that gets reissued yearly, so treat the sum as current best rather than gospel.
California works completely differently and this catches people out. California sales tax applies to tangible personal property, and an admission ticket is not that. So there is no California sales tax on a Disneyland admission ticket. If you see a comparison table that adds Anaheim’s 7.75% rate to a Disneyland ticket price, that table has invented a tax that does not exist. Anaheim’s 7.75% is what you pay on the souvenirs and the churros, not the ticket.
Trip A: Walt Disney World, 4 days, priced three ways
Disney does publish a dated price for this exact ticket, party and date. Its ticket module renders inside shadow DOM, which is why most tools come back empty handed, but the numbers are public and they are specific.
| Line | Adult, ages 10 and up | Child, ages 3 to 9 | Basket, 3 adults and 1 child | Tax basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Walt Disney World, direct | $676.64 | $658.78 | $2,688.70 | pre tax |
| Same basket plus 6.5% | $2,863.47 | my addition | ||
| Undercover Tourist | $693.41 | $681.39 | $2,761.62 | tax included |
| Difference | $101.85 in the reseller’s favour | comparable |
The working, so you can audit it. Three adult tickets at $676.64 is $2,029.92. Add one child at $658.78 and the Disney gate basket is $2,688.70 before tax. Multiply by 1.065 and you get $2,863.47. Undercover Tourist’s basket is three adults at $693.41, which is $2,080.23, plus one child at $681.39, giving $2,761.62 with tax already in it. The gap is $101.85, which is 3.56% of the grossed up gate price, or $25.46 spread across four tickets.
Notice what happens if you skip the tax step. On raw numbers, Undercover Tourist’s $2,761.62 looks $72.92 more expensive than Disney’s $2,688.70. Both the flattering version and the damning version of this comparison are wrong. You have to put tax on both sides.
Now hold that $101.85 against what the site claims. The Undercover Tourist product page for this ticket prints “Save $47” next to the price, marked “vs. gate price”. Four tickets at $47 is $188. For that to be literally true against Disney’s actual dated price of $676.64, the tax added at Disney’s checkout would have to be around 9.4% on the adult ticket and about 10.6% on the child ticket. Orange County’s published rates add to 6.5%. So the company’s own claim is roughly double what a dated comparison at published tax rates supports. I go into what that pattern says about the brand in my full Undercover Tourist review for 2026.
Price your exact dates, not the headline
My 4 day Disney basket for 20 January 2027 came to $2,761.62 with tax included, against $2,863.47 at the gate grossed up at 6.5%. That is $101.85, or 3.56%. Your dates will give a different answer.
Trip B: Universal Orlando, where the middleman costs you money
This is the basket that changed my mind about the whole category. Universal’s own store publishes a dated per day calendar with separate adult and child prices, and Orlando Informer’s configurator does the same. So for once there are three real dated prices for one product.
| Line | Adult, ages 10 and up | Child, ages 3 to 9 | Basket, 3 adults and 1 child | Tax basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orlando Informer | $294.50 | $287.44 | $1,170.94 | pre tax |
| Orlando Informer plus 6.5% | $1,247.05 | my addition | ||
| Universal Orlando, direct | $306.99 | $296.99 | $1,217.96 | pre tax |
| Universal Orlando plus 6.5% | $1,297.13 | my addition | ||
| Undercover Tourist | $326.35 | $315.77 | $1,294.82 | tax included |
Undercover Tourist’s total is $2.31 below the park’s own grossed up price. Two dollars and thirty one cents, across four tickets, on a basket of $1,295. That is not a discount, that is noise. And the company does not really dispute it: its own product page for that ticket prints “Save $ 5”.
Orlando Informer’s dated total is $1,170.94 pre tax, or $1,247.05 with 6.5% on it. That is $47.77 below Undercover Tourist and $50.08 below buying direct from Universal. Orlando Informer pays E-Commerce Paradise absolutely nothing and it is the cheapest of the three. If you are buying Universal tickets for these dates, buy them there. The full dated head to head is in Undercover Tourist vs Orlando Informer.
Here is why I am confident in those numbers rather than just reporting them. Orlando Informer’s own dated product card printed “SAVINGS OVER GATE PRICE: $12.49” on the adult ticket. Universal’s own configurator gave that ticket’s dated gate price as $306.99. Orlando Informer’s own dated adult price is $147.25 a day across two days, which is $294.50. The difference is $12.49, exact to the cent. Two sites with no relationship to each other agreeing to the penny is the strongest cross check in this whole exercise.
Scope caveats, because fair is fair. Orlando Informer is a Universal and SeaWorld specialist. It does not sell Walt Disney World tickets and has no Disneyland products, so it cannot compete on Trips A or C. And its footer says “A 5% restocking fee may be charged on returns”, which is the same headline percentage as the reseller it just beat. Cheap to buy, expensive to change your mind, on both sides.
One more thing on this ticket, because it affects what you are actually getting. The Trip B product is a base ticket: one theme park per day, no park to park access, not valid for the Hogwarts Express, and it does not include Epic Universe. Universal’s own store publishes the upgrade ladder, and it is worth seeing before you assume the cheap ticket is the right ticket.
| Universal 2 day product, starting from, per day, plus tax | Adult | Child |
|---|---|---|
| 2 day, 1 park per day, Universal Studios or Islands of Adventure | $126.50 | $121.50 |
| 2 day, 2 parks, one park per day, adds a day at Epic Universe | $131.50 | $126.50 |
| 2 day, 2 parks, park to park with Hogwarts Express | $156.50 | $151.50 |
| 2 day, 3 park admission, Epic Universe plus park to park | $161.50 | $156.50 |
And do not pay for anything that bundles Volcano Bay on a January 2027 trip. Universal’s own page says it “is currently scheduled to begin a maintenance closure on October 26, 2026, now has an updated planned reopening on or before April 1, 2027.” It will be shut.
Trip C: Disneyland, where there is no verified saving to report
I would rather tell you I hit a wall than hand you a number I made up, so here is exactly where the wall is.
Disneyland’s own ticket page publishes a multi day table. It shows the 3 day product at from $142 per day and nothing else: no ticket total and no child price. It does not say whether that per day figure is before or after tax, unlike Disney World which states “before tax” explicitly. And when I set three days and a party of three adults and one child in Disneyland’s own controls, it displayed no per band price, no child price and no running subtotal. There is no start date calendar on the public page at all. The only way forward is a Continue button into the purchase flow, which I did not click.
| Line | Adult, ages 10 and up | Child, ages 3 to 9 | Basket, 3 adults and 1 child | Tax basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disneyland Resort, direct | from $142 per day, no ticket total published | not published | cannot be built | not stated |
| Undercover Tourist | $397.72 | $374.41 | $1,567.57 | tax included |
| aResTravel | not published | not published | not published | not stated |
So the honest statement is this. Disneyland does not publish a dated price or a child price we could read, and aResTravel publishes no price at all: its best rates sit behind an email signup, which is a pricing model worth knowing about before you hand over your address. There is no verified Trip C saving in this post, and any site showing you a Disneyland gate basket for a family of four is guessing.
What I can say is narrower. Undercover Tourist lists $397.72 an adult and $374.41 a child, tax included, and those are real transactable prices for the three day, one park per day ticket. Disneyland publishes only a from price of $142 per day, no child price at all, and no tax basis on that figure. I am not going to set those two things against each other. A from price is the cheapest date in the calendar, the tax bases do not match, and differencing them would hand you a saving that cannot be reproduced on any real date. There is no verified Disneyland saving here for any seller and I will not manufacture one.
The Disneyland trap is not the price anyway, it is the clock. Disneyland’s own site says: “Multi-day tickets purchased through Disneyland.com or the Disneyland app today must be used within 13 days of first use or by January 12, 2028, whichever occurs first.” Buy far enough ahead and you own a ticket that expires before your trip.
Disneyland is the basket nobody can price for you
Undercover Tourist lists $397.72 an adult with tax included. Disneyland publishes only a from price of $142 per day and no child price at all, so there is no dated comparison to make and I am not going to manufacture one.
The fee that costs more than the discount
Every basket above has a second price nobody quotes you, and this is the number I would put on a sticky note.
Undercover Tourist’s FAQ says: “If you require a refund, a fee of 5% of the total order amount will be charged to cover the delivery, handling and the processing fees associated with accepting your credit card and fulfilling the order.” It is not displayed next to any price.
| Trip | Basket | 5% refund fee | Verified saving on that basket |
|---|---|---|---|
| A, Disney World, 4 days | $2,761.62 | $138.08 | $101.85 |
| B, Universal, 2 days | $1,294.82 | $64.74 | $2.31 |
| C, Disneyland, 3 days | $1,567.57 | $78.38 | none verified |
On all three baskets the fee to change your mind is larger than the saving. On Universal it is 28 times larger. So if you are looking at this purely as a discount, the reseller is a bad trade the moment there is any chance your plans move.
But that comparison is not quite fair, and the reason is the most useful fact in this post. Disney does not offer a refund at any price. Disney’s own terms read: “Tickets are nonrefundable, nontransferable and must be used by the same person on all days.” On changes: “An additional cost applies to change your dates to dates with higher ticket prices… No refund or credit is given for changes from dates with higher prices to dates with lower prices.” Disneyland says its tickets are “nonrefundable, nontransferable, revocable, and may not be redeemed for cash.”
So the 5% is not overpriced flexibility, it is the only flexibility on sale. A $138.08 fee to unwind a $2,761.62 commitment that the park would not unwind for any amount is a genuine product. Just be clear that is what you are buying, because it is not what the marketing says you are buying. And note the limits: tickets that are “expired, modified or activated by entering the park” are non refundable, so the option dies the moment somebody scans in.
The refund option, priced honestly
5% of the order, so $138.08 on my $2,761.62 Disney basket, on tickets Disney itself calls “nonrefundable, nontransferable”. That fee is bigger than the $101.85 discount, so buy it for the flexibility or not at all.
The from price trap, and the move that beats every seller
If you take one pricing lesson out of this post, take this one, because it is worth more than every discount above combined.
Disney’s published headline for a 4 day ticket is “From $124/day”. My date priced at $169.16 a day. That is 36% higher than the advertised number, for the same ticket, and nothing was wrong with the page. Undercover Tourist does the same thing: its 4 day landing page showed from $508.81 and the actual price for 20 January 2027 was $693.41, again about 36% higher. A from price is the cheapest date in the calendar year, full stop.
| Ticket | Advertised from price | My dated price | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Disney World 4 day, per day, pre tax | $124.00 | $169.16 | 36% higher |
| Undercover Tourist Disney 4 day, per adult ticket | $508.81 | $693.41 | 36% higher |
Which brings us to the date. Disney’s own dated calendar for the week around my trip ran $168 to $171 per day. Disneyland’s page says a single day ticket ranges from $104 to $224 “based on date selected”. That is a $120 swing on one ticket. Universal’s own calendar for the same week ran $151 to $171 a day. Against those numbers, the $25.46 a ticket I verified a reseller saving is a rounding error.
So the order of operations is: pick the cheapest week your life allows, then check the party bands so you are not budgeting child tickets for a ten year old, then compare sellers. Doing it in that order will save a family several hundred dollars. Doing it backwards saves twenty five. I have written the date first method out in full in how to save on Disney World tickets.
There is an operator’s lesson buried in here too, and it is the reason I find this stuff interesting rather than just annoying. The parks are running textbook date based dynamic pricing: identical product, identical delivery cost, price set by demand window, with the from price used as the advertised anchor and the real price revealed only after you commit to a date. That is how they protect margin in slow weeks without ever discounting the brand. If you sell anything with a seasonal or capacity component, that mechanic is worth studying. Same goes for how you pay: putting a $2,700 ticket purchase on the right card is its own few percent, which I break down in my guide to the best credit cards for high ticket dropshipping.
What I could not price, stated plainly
A pricing post should be honest about its holes, so here they are.
Disneyland’s dated price and child price are not published before the purchase flow, so there is no Trip C gate basket. aResTravel publishes no prices at all. Getaway Today’s ticket page would not load for me at all on this pass, so I have nothing to report about its prices or its terms. And no vendor and no government document I read prints a single combined Orlando tax rate, which is why the 6.5% in this post is labelled as my own addition every time it appears.
One thing I deliberately did not do: enter the purchase flow, create an account, or hand over an email to unlock a price. Every figure here came off a public page.
Running the business that pays for the trip
Most people reading this run an online store or want to. The only reason I can take a family trip in January is that the business runs on systems instead of on me, and that starts with picking the right thing to sell.
Demand first, always. My free list of high ticket niches worth selling in is the starting point I give everybody.
If the model is new to you, read my explanation of what high ticket dropshipping actually is before you spend anything.
Suppliers are where most stores stall out, so I wrote the whole process down in my step by step guide to finding high ticket suppliers.
Get the entity sorted early, because no serious manufacturer signs a dealer agreement with a hobby. Here is how I handle business formation for a high ticket dropshipping store.
My stack is deliberately boring. The storefront runs on Shopify because it does everything a high ticket store needs without a developer on retainer. State filings and registered agent work go through Bizee so I am not chasing paperwork from another time zone.
Suppliers will ask for a certificate of insurance before they approve you, and I use Hiscox for general liability. The books live in QuickBooks, which is the difference between a calm tax season and a bad February.
If building all of that yourself is not how you want to spend the next six months, my team will do it: the complete done for you high ticket dropshipping business build and launch service.
Frequently asked questions
How much are Undercover Tourist tickets? For a 4 day Walt Disney World 1 park per day base ticket starting 20 January 2027, $693.41 an adult and $681.39 a child, tax included. For the 2 day Universal base ticket on the same date, $326.35 and $315.77. For the Disneyland 3 day, 1 park per day, $397.72 and $374.41. Different dates give different prices on the Disney World and Universal products.
Are Undercover Tourist prices cheaper than the gate? On Disney World, yes by $101.85 on my four ticket basket, about 3.56%, once Florida’s published 6% state tax and 0.5% Orange County surtax are added to Disney’s pre tax price. On Universal, by $2.31 on a $1,295 basket, which is effectively nothing.
Do Undercover Tourist prices include tax? Yes. Its own copy says “Free Shipping & Tax Included”. Disney, Universal and Orlando Informer all quote pre tax, so never compare their numbers to Undercover Tourist’s without grossing the pre tax side up.
What is the sales tax on Orlando theme park tickets? Florida’s general state rate is 6% and Orange County levies a 0.5% discretionary sales surtax, and the Florida Department of Revenue states that admissions are taxable. I add those to 6.5% in this post, but that sum is mine: no state document prints a single combined figure.
Is there tax on Disneyland tickets? No California sales tax applies to the admission ticket, because California sales tax applies to tangible personal property and an admission is not that. Anaheim’s 7.75% rate applies to merchandise and food, not to the ticket.
What is Undercover Tourist’s refund fee? 5% of the total order amount. That is $138.08 on my $2,761.62 Disney basket, $64.74 on the $1,294.82 Universal basket and $78.38 on the $1,567.57 Disneyland basket. Tickets already used, expired or modified are non refundable.
Who is cheapest for Universal Orlando tickets? On my dated basket, Orlando Informer, at $1,170.94 pre tax or $1,247.05 with 6.5% added, against $1,294.82 at Undercover Tourist with tax included and $1,297.13 at the Universal gate grossed up. Orlando Informer pays us nothing.
Why is my price higher than the advertised one? Because the advertised one is a from price. Disney advertises a 4 day ticket from $124 a day and my date came out at $169.16 a day, 36% higher. Shifting your trip by a week usually moves more money than switching sellers.
Does a ten year old need an adult ticket? Yes at all three resorts I checked. Every seller bands tickets as “Adult 10+”, with the child band running from age 3 to age 9. Disney’s own page says children younger than 3 do not need a ticket.
Related Articles
Undercover Tourist Review 2026: I Priced a Real Family Trip
Hotels.com Review 2026: The Best Hotel Booking Platform for Entrepreneurs and Digital Nomads
Best Travel Insurance for International Travel in 2026
Best Disney World Ticket Deals 2026: The Honest Ranking
Undercover Tourist Alternatives 2026

Trevor Fenner is an ecommerce entrepreneur and the founder of Ecommerce Paradise, a platform focused on helping entrepreneurs build and scale profitable high-ticket ecommerce and dropshipping businesses. With over a decade of hands-on experience, Trevor specializes in high-ticket dropshipping strategy, niche and product selection, supplier recruiting and onboarding, Google & Bing Shopping ads, ecommerce SEO, and systems-driven automation and scaling. Through Ecommerce Paradise, he provides free education via in-depth guides like How to Start High-Ticket Dropshipping, advanced training through the High-Ticket Dropshipping Masterclass, and fully done-for-you turnkey ecommerce services for entrepreneurs who want a faster, more hands-off path to growth. Trevor is known for emphasizing sustainable, real-world ecommerce models over hype-driven tactics, helping store owners build scalable, sellable, and location-independent brands.
Still deciding what to sell?
Grab the free list of 1,000+ niches that work for high-ticket dropshipping, sorted by category.
Free. Unsubscribe any time.

