Best eSIM for Japan 2026: Plans, Prices and Which to Choose

Best eSIM for Japan 2026: Plans, Prices and Which to Choose
Best eSIM for Japan 2026: Plans, Prices and Which to Choose
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure

If you are heading to Japan, here is the short answer from the plans as listed in October 2026: a week of data costs as little as $7.90 on a 2GB-a-day plan from eSIMX and about $20 to $28 on an unlimited-style plan, while a 30-day unlimited plan runs $65 to $73.90 depending on the provider. I put nine providers side by side using each company’s own Japan page, so you can match a plan to how you will actually use your phone.

I run Ecommerce Paradise, where I teach people to build high-ticket stores they can manage from a laptop, and Japan comes up often for supplier visits, trade shows and longer work trips. This is a plans-as-listed comparison, not a hands-on test. I have not used these eSIMs in Japan, and I flag every spot where a page did not show a number or contradicted itself.

Disclosure: some links below are affiliate links, which means I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The four providers I link through my own redirects are eSIMX, Amigo eSIM, iRoamly and eTravelSIM, so weigh my opinions with that in mind. Every other provider link goes straight to that company’s own Japan page.

Running a store while you travel? I can build and launch it for you so Japan is a trip, not a to-do list. See the done-for-you store service →

Best eSIM for Japan at a Glance (October 2026)

Prices are US dollars as shown on each Japan page. “Not shown” means the page I loaded did not display the figure, so check the provider before you buy. Plan labels such as “unlimited” mean different things from one company to the next, which is why the second column spells out the structure.

Provider Japan plans as listed Networks named on the page Hotspot Number or calls
eSIMX 2GB/day plans from $2.80 (1 day) to $32.80 (30 days); fixed 3GB to 30GB plans from $3.50 Docomo, KDDI (au), SoftBank named as the main operators; per-plan carrier not shown Most plans; some unlimited plans may cap it Not shown for listed plans
Amigo eSIM 3GB 14 days $13, 5GB 30 days $18, 10GB 30 days $28 KDDI and SoftBank Listed as unlimited One 25GB plan with calls and texts, priced in pounds
iRoamly Unlimited with a daily high-speed allowance, $2.80 for 1 day (the only Japan plan I could read) KDDI, SoftBank, Docomo Supported Data only
eTravelSIM 1GB to 50GB (30 days) from $4.50; unlimited 7 days $19.99, 15 days $39.99, 30 days $69.99 KDDI (au) Spec table says supported; the FAQ says unlimited plans do not Data only
Nomad Unlimited 3 days $11, 7 days $25, 14 days $41, 21 days $49; fixed 1GB $4 to 50GB $35 KDDI au, SoftBank FAQ says tethering is supported Page does not specify
Ubigi Unlimited 8 days $25, 15 days $39, 30 days $65; 50GB 30 days $55; 1GB 3 days $3.50 KDDI, NTT Docomo, SoftBank Data sharing allowed Data only
Airalo Six plans labeled unlimited: 3 days $11.50 up to 30 days $69.00 SoftBank primary, plus 2 others not named Not shown Not shown
Holafly Unlimited 3 days $11.90 up to 30 days $73.90 KDDI / SoftBank 1GB shareable per day Data only
Saily 1GB 7 days $3.99 up to 20GB 30 days $24.99; unlimited 15 days $48.99 KDDI and SoftBank Listed as limitless SMS and minutes sold as separate plans

My short take, which is opinion and not a test result: eSIMX is the cheapest on paper for light and moderate use, Nomad and eTravelSIM have the cheapest large fixed-data plans, and Ubigi names three carriers and lists the cheapest 30-day plan with a large full-speed allowance (60GB at $65). If you need a real Japanese phone number, a data eSIM is the wrong tool and the Japan-based options near the end of this guide fit better.

What the Official Sources Say About Getting Online in Japan

The Japan National Tourism Organization has a Wi-Fi and connectivity page for visitors. As I read it, the page covers renting or buying a SIM card, renting pocket Wi-Fi, and free Wi-Fi, and it gives about 3,000 yen as a rough guide for a 1GB, 30-day SIM. I leave that figure unconverted because exchange rates move. The page I loaded did not mention eSIMs at all, so treat the eSIM details in this guide as coming from the providers, not from the tourism board.

That page also says the phone must be unlocked to use a SIM and calls pocket Wi-Fi rental the safest option for guaranteed Wi-Fi across Japan, especially for remote areas. It adds that you should not expect traditional ryokan or smaller minshuku to provide Wi-Fi. That last point is a good reason to carry your own mobile data instead of relying on lodging connections.

For phone compatibility I rely on Apple. Apple’s eSIM and dual SIM support page lists the iPhone XS, XS Max, XR or newer as the base requirement, and it says that using two different carriers requires an unlocked iPhone unless both plans come from the same carrier. Apple’s iPhone cellular page adds that iPhone 14 models and later activate with an eSIM and do not support a physical SIM.

How the Nine Providers Compare Plan by Plan

eSIMX: Lowest Listed Prices for 2GB-a-Day and Fixed Data

eSIMX lists a Japan page with two families of plans. Its 2GB-a-day plans cost $2.80 for 1 day, $4.00 for 3 days, $5.80 for 5 days, $7.90 for 7 days, $11.80 for 10 days, $16.80 for 15 days and $32.80 for 30 days. After the 2GB, the page says speed drops to a minimum of 128 kbps, which it describes as suitable for messaging and light social use.

The fixed-data family runs from 3GB for 7 days at $3.50 up to 30GB for 30 days at $21.80, with a 20GB 30-day plan at $15.80. The page says most plans support hotspot but that some unlimited plans may cap hotspot data at roughly 1GB to 5GB a day. It tells you to install within 24 hours before departure, and validity on most plans starts when you land and connect. It names Docomo, KDDI (au) and SoftBank as major Japanese operators but does not say which carrier each plan uses. It mentions voice plans in general but shows no voice or SMS terms for the listed plans.

Amigo eSIM: Data-Only Bundles Plus One Plan With Calls

Amigo eSIM shows three Japan data-only plans in dollars: 3GB for 14 days at $13, 5GB for 30 days at $18 and 10GB for 30 days at $28. It also lists Asia regional plans on the same page, which start at 1GB for 7 days at $8. A 25GB plan with calls and texts appears, but its price is in pounds and the page gives no minute or text quantities, so I am not putting it in the price ladder.

The page lists hotspot and tethering as unlimited and names KDDI and SoftBank. It also explains how to check whether your phone is unlocked and eSIM-ready by dialing *#06# and looking for an EID number. Per GB, Amigo is the most expensive of the fixed plans I compared, so it makes sense mainly if you want the calls-and-texts option.

iRoamly: Unlimited With a Daily Allowance, Multi-Day Prices Not Shown

iRoamly showed one Japan plan on the page I loaded: unlimited data with a daily high-speed allowance for $2.80 for one day. The page does not state the size of the allowance. It says speed falls to about 5 Mbps after the allowance until the next reset, and that this is enough for navigation, messaging, browsing and video calls.

It names KDDI, SoftBank and Docomo, supports hotspot (the FAQ says some devices may restrict it), and is data only. The product panel says to install within 30 days of receiving the QR code, while the feature list says activation must happen within 60 days of purchase, so I would plan around the shorter window. The homepage also advertises Japan “from $0.07”, a figure I could not match to any plan, so I ignore it.

eTravelSIM: Cheap Fixed Plans and a Full-Speed Unlimited Claim

eTravelSIM lists eight Japan plans in dollars: 1GB for 30 days at $4.50, 5GB at $7.99, 10GB at $12.50, 20GB at $19.99, 50GB at $35.99, and unlimited plans at $19.99 for 7 days, $39.99 for 15 days and $69.99 for 30 days. The FAQ says the unlimited plans have no speed reduction or fair usage limit.

There is a catch. The FAQ says the unlimited plans are single-device and do not support hotspot, although the specifications list tethering as supported, so choose a fixed-data plan if you need to tether a laptop. The page names KDDI (au) only, says 5G is available in major cities with 4G LTE elsewhere, and says the iPhone must be carrier-unlocked. The page gives two delivery times for the QR code, 60 seconds in the header and 15 minutes in the FAQ.

Nomad: Unlimited by the Week and a Big Fixed Plan

Nomad’s Japan page lists unlimited plans at $11 for 3 days, $25 for 7 days, $41 for 14 days and $49 for 21 days. Its fixed plans are 1GB for 7 days at $4, 3GB for 30 days at $7, 5GB for 30 days at $10 and 50GB for 30 days at $35. The 10GB and 20GB plans are marked on sale, but the page text shows the prices run together, so I am leaving them out. The page does not say which figure is the original.

The page names KDDI au and SoftBank. The FAQ says Nomad eSIMs support tethering, though it gives no plan-specific hotspot terms for the unlimited plans. It says some Nomad eSIMs include a local phone number without saying which, and it says you must activate within 60 days of purchase. I covered the company in more depth in my Nomad eSIM review.

Ubigi: Three Carriers and Clear Fair-Use Numbers

Ubigi’s Japan plans each have their own page. The 15-day unlimited plan is $39 and includes 30GB at full speed, then 2 Mbps. The 8-day unlimited plan is $25 with up to 5GB a day at full speed, and the 30-day unlimited plan is $65 with 60GB at full speed per its fair-use text. The 30-day page’s product tag says 1000GB, which conflicts with that text, so confirm before buying.

Ubigi also lists a 1GB, 3-day plan at $3.50 and a 50GB, 30-day plan at $55. It names KDDI, NTT Docomo and SoftBank, allows data sharing, is data only, and says unused plans expire if not activated within 6 months of purchase. It requires an eSIM-compatible, network-unlocked device. The page also shows a comparison of unlimited 15-day prices across brands, but I use only the prices from each company’s own page.

Airalo: Familiar Name, Thin Detail on the Japan Page

Airalo’s Japan page lists six durations with an “UnlimitedGB” label: 3 days $11.50, 5 days $17.00, 7 days $26.50, 10 days $34.50, 15 days $48.00 and 30 days $69.00. The page I loaded did not state fair-use terms, hotspot rules or voice and SMS, so I cannot tell you what happens after heavy use.

It lists SoftBank as the primary network with two others not named, and says you can install any time with a stable internet connection or connect in advance so service starts on arrival. It also offers top-ups and automatic renewal when 10 percent of data remains. For a head-to-head with Holafly outside Japan, see my Airalo vs Holafly comparison.

Holafly: Unlimited by the Day With a Hotspot Allowance

Holafly’s Japan page lists unlimited plans at $11.90 for 3 days, $20.50 for 5 days, $27.50 for 7 days, $36.50 for 10 days, $50.50 for 15 days and $73.90 for 30 days. It also shows a 1-day plan in euros, which I do not use here. The page says operators may apply a fair usage policy that lasts no more than one day, after which speed returns the next day.

Holafly says each day includes 1GB of shareable hotspot data, so a 7-day plan includes up to 7GB. It is data only with no local number, lists KDDI / SoftBank, and says automatic QR installation needs iOS or iPadOS 17.4 or higher. The plan starts when the eSIM connects to a supported network, and data roaming must be on.

Saily: Cheap Small Plans, but the Page Contradicts Itself

Saily’s Japan page lists 1GB for 7 days at $3.99, 3GB for 30 days at $7.99, 5GB at $10.99, 10GB at $17.99, 20GB at $24.99 and an unlimited plan at $48.99. The unlimited plan is described as 5GB a day at full speed and then up to 1 Mbps. The same page’s FAQ describes unlimited at $71.99 for 30 days and an unlimited 7-day plan with no matching card, so I rely on the plan list and not the FAQ.

The page lists hotspot as limitless, names KDDI and SoftBank, and says the plan activates automatically on arrival with a 180-day activation period. It says SMS requires a Saily phone number and text plan and calls require a minutes plan, so a phone number is an extra purchase, not part of the data plan.

Planning a supplier trip and a store at the same time? Start with my free mini course on high-ticket dropshipping →

Unlimited-Style Price Ladder

This table lines up the plans that the pages call unlimited or daily-allowance plans. They are not equal products: eSIMX gives 2GB a day at full speed, Ubigi gives 5GB a day on its 8-day plan, and Airalo and Holafly do not show a numeric allowance on the pages I loaded. A dash means that duration was not listed.

Provider 3 days 7 days 15 days 30 days 30-day cost per day
eSIMX (2GB/day) $4.00 $7.90 $16.80 $32.80 $1.09
eTravelSIM – $19.99 $39.99 $69.99 $2.33
Nomad $11 $25 14 days $41 – (21 days $49) –
Ubigi – 8 days $25 $39 $65 $2.17
Airalo $11.50 $26.50 $48.00 $69.00 $2.30
Holafly $11.90 $27.50 $50.50 $73.90 $2.46
Saily – – $48.99 Conflicting ($71.99 in FAQ only) –

The spread is wide. On a 30-day plan, Holafly’s $73.90 is $4.90 above Airalo’s $69.00 and $8.90 above Ubigi’s $65. Against eSIMX’s 2GB-a-day plan at $32.80, eTravelSIM’s $69.99 unlimited plan costs $37.19 more for the month. Whether that premium is worth it depends on whether 2GB a day is enough, which the worked examples below test.

Fixed-Data Price Per GB

If you know roughly how much data you will use, a fixed plan is usually cheaper than anything labeled unlimited. This table divides each 30-day price by the data amount, rounded to the cent. The result ignores speed, hotspot rules and carrier differences.

Plan (30 days) Price Price per GB
Nomad 50GB $35.00 $0.70
eTravelSIM 50GB $35.99 $0.72
eSIMX 30GB $21.80 $0.73
eSIMX 20GB $15.80 $0.79
eTravelSIM 20GB $19.99 $1.00
eSIMX 10GB $10.80 $1.08
Ubigi 50GB $55.00 $1.10
Saily 20GB $24.99 $1.25
Saily 10GB $17.99 $1.80
Amigo eSIM 10GB $28.00 $2.80

Worked Examples With the Arithmetic

These are examples, not predictions. The data-use figures are my assumptions, and every price is from the tables above as of October 2026. Swap in your own numbers.

Example 1: a 5-day trade show trip, mostly maps and messaging. Assume you need about 1GB a day. eSIMX’s 5-day 2GB-a-day plan is $5.80, while Airalo’s 5-day plan is $17.00. The difference is $11.20, and if the 2GB cap covers you, the cheaper plan wins.

Example 2: a 14-day supplier tour with hotspot use. Assume 3GB a day for 14 days, which is 42GB. No single eSIMX plan covers it, since its largest is 30GB. One workaround is a 30GB 30-day plan at $21.80 plus a 20GB 7-day plan at $13.80, which totals $35.60 for 50GB. Nomad’s single 50GB plan is $35.00 and eTravelSIM’s is $35.99, so the three land within about a dollar of each other, and the single plan is simpler.

Example 3: a 30-day working month. Assume 1.5GB a day, or 45GB. Nomad’s 50GB plan is $35.00 and Ubigi’s is $55.00, a $20.00 gap. Ubigi’s 30-day unlimited plan is $65, which is $30 more than Nomad’s 50GB plan, so unlimited only pays off if you expect to blow past 50GB or hate counting.

Example 4: a light 7-day trip. Assume 1GB total for maps and chat. Saily’s 1GB 7-day plan is $3.99 and Nomad’s is $4.00, and eSIMX’s 3GB 7-day plan is $3.50. All three are under five dollars, so pick on carrier and install details, not price.

Which Plan Fits Which Traveler (My Opinion)

Treat this as a framework drawn from the listings, not a tested ranking.

  • Maps, ride apps and messaging only: a small fixed plan from Saily, Nomad, eSIMX or eTravelSIM, all under five dollars at the 1GB to 3GB end.
  • Daily video calls and cloud uploads: a 5GB-a-day style plan such as Ubigi’s 8-day plan, or a large fixed plan, because 2GB a day can run out fast.
  • A laptop on hotspot: a fixed plan from Nomad, eTravelSIM, eSIMX or Amigo, since eTravelSIM’s FAQ rules out hotspot on its unlimited plans and points tethering users to fixed plans, and Holafly caps shareable data at 1GB a day.
  • Maximum carrier choice: Ubigi and iRoamly name three Japanese carriers, while eTravelSIM names only KDDI (au).
  • A Japanese number for calls or SMS codes: not a pure data eSIM. See the Japan-based options below.

Japan-Based Options: Mobal and Sakura Mobile

Mobal sells Japan eSIMs that include a real Japanese number. Its page lists a voice plan at 4,950 yen to get the eSIM plus 1,430 yen a month, with free incoming calls and incoming SMS, and outgoing domestic calls at 44 yen a minute. Voice and data plans start at 1,650 yen a month, with data up to 200GB. All prices on the page were in yen, and the shorter-stay tourist plan prices did not load for me, so check the tourist section on the site.

Mobal’s page says the phone must be unlocked, support 5G or 4G/LTE Band 1 and support VoLTE for calls. It says Wi-Fi calling is not supported, and voice plans send an access code by post or require pick-up with ID. That is a lot more setup than a data eSIM.

Sakura Mobile’s travel eSIM page lists three plans: up to 3GB a day on docomo for 1 to 90 days, an unlimited plan on au for 1 to 30 days, and a 3GB-a-day plan with domestic calls on au. Prices were not shown on the page I loaded, since each plan only displayed the currency code. The unlimited plan caps hotspot by length of stay, from 2GB for 1 to 3 days up to 30GB for 27 to 30 days. The voice-and-data plans need an in-person ID check and include 120 minutes of domestic calls for 1 to 10 days.

Install and Activation Windows

The clock rules differ more than people expect, and getting them wrong can waste a plan. This is what each page says.

Provider Install timing When validity starts / expiry rule
eSIMX Within 24 hours before departure Most plans start when you arrive and connect
Amigo eSIM QR code by email, scan to install Activates when you arrive and connect, roaming on
iRoamly A few days before departure on a stable connection Starts on network connection; 30 days after QR delivery or 60 days after purchase (the page says both)
eTravelSIM At home on Wi-Fi before the trip Starts at first connection to a Japanese network
Nomad Install now, activate later Activate within 60 days of purchase
Ubigi QR by email, scan before the trip Starts on arrival; expires if not activated in 6 months
Airalo Any time with stable internet Validity wording not shown on the page I loaded
Holafly Before the trip, internet required Starts when the eSIM connects; roaming must be on
Saily Instant delivery by QR code Activates on arrival; 180-day activation period

Using a Japan eSIM for Business Trips and Working From Japan

For a store owner, the plan that matters is the one that keeps supplier calls, dashboards and order alerts working. Data-only eSIMs mean calls run through apps, and Ubigi’s page names WhatsApp, LINE and Messenger as examples. Keep your home SIM active for bank texts, as Apple’s dual SIM setup allows, and use the eSIM for data.

Supplier visits are where this comes up most. My guide to finding suppliers for high-ticket dropshipping explains how to vet a manufacturer before you fly. Some categories on my high-ticket niches list have Japanese brands behind them. If you meet a factory or attend a trade show, a local number from Mobal may look more professional than a messaging-app handle.

A travel eSIM is also a small recurring business cost. I am not an accountant, so ask yours whether it counts as a deduction, and note that a properly set up company makes expenses easier to track, which I cover in my business formation guide. If you are still working out what the model is, start with my explainer on what high-ticket dropshipping is.

Before you plan to work from Japan for a long stretch, check what your entry status permits through official Japanese government sources. That is separate from connectivity and outside what I verified here. For other countries and a wider provider set, see my best eSIM for international travel guide. My broader best eSIMs for travel roundup covers more providers.

Common Mistakes With Japan eSIMs

The first mistake is buying with a locked phone. Ubigi, eTravelSIM, Amigo and eSIMX all say the phone must be unlocked, and Apple’s page says the same for using two carriers. Check before you pay.

The second is reading “unlimited” as “no limits.” In the listings above, unlimited means 2GB a day on eSIMX, 5GB a day on Ubigi’s 8-day plan and Saily, a fair usage policy on Holafly, and hotspot restrictions on several others. Read the daily allowance and the speed after it.

The third is skipping the clock rules. Installing weeks early is fine on some plans and risky on others, so read the activation line in the table above. The fourth is assuming a phone number comes with the data. Most plans here are data only, so plan to use messaging apps for calls.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best eSIM for Japan?
It depends on your data use, and this is my opinion based on listings, not testing. For light use I would look at the small fixed plans, for heavy use at Ubigi or a 50GB plan from Nomad or eTravelSIM, and for the lowest daily price at eSIMX’s 2GB-a-day plans.

Is there a truly unlimited eSIM for Japan?
Only eTravelSIM’s page says its unlimited plans have no speed reduction or fair usage limit, and its FAQ also says those plans do not support hotspot. Other “unlimited” plans mention a daily allowance, a fair usage policy or a throttle, so read the details before you buy.

Does a Japan eSIM come with a phone number?
Most data eSIMs here do not, and the Holafly, Ubigi, iRoamly and eTravelSIM pages say so. Mobal and Sakura Mobile sell plans with a Japanese number, and Saily sells SMS and minutes as separate plans.

Which iPhones work with a Japan eSIM?
Apple lists the iPhone XS, XS Max, XR or newer, and the iPhone has to be unlocked for a second carrier. Apple also says iPhone 14 and later models activate with an eSIM and have no physical SIM.

Can I use my laptop on hotspot with a Japan eSIM?
Often yes, but the rules vary. Amigo and Saily list hotspot as unlimited or limitless, Holafly gives 1GB of shareable data per day, eSIMX says some unlimited plans cap it, and eTravelSIM’s FAQ says unlimited plans do not support it. Pick a fixed plan from Amigo eSIM or another provider if the laptop is the main use.

Want a store that keeps selling while you are on a plane to Tokyo? Explore coaching for high-ticket dropshipping →

Plans, prices and terms change often, and I have not tested these eSIMs, so check each provider’s page before you buy. Prices above are as listed in October 2026.

Related Articles

If you found this useful, these guides go deeper on related topics: