How to Set Up MyCompanyWorks to Form Your LLC (2026)

Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure

Formation services mostly compete by making the headline number smaller and moving the real cost into add-ons. MyCompanyWorks does something slightly different: it puts two of the things competitors charge extra for inside the base package. That makes it worth understanding properly rather than comparing on the sticker.

This is how I would use it for a high-ticket store, the two inclusions that genuinely differentiate it, and the figure it does not publish that decides your real cost. Every price and quoted phrase below comes from MyCompanyWorks’ own pricing page, plus the published pricing pages of ZenBusiness, CorpNet and Firstbase for the comparisons, plus published pages from the IRS, Dun & Bradstreet and the SBA, all read on 29 September 2026. Where something is my opinion, I say so.

I am not a lawyer or an accountant and none of this is legal or tax advice. Which entity type and which state suit your situation are questions for a professional who knows your circumstances.

I run Ecommerce Paradise and the reason I care about this at all is that in my experience suppliers want to deal with a company rather than an individual. If the model is new to you, start with what high-ticket dropshipping actually is.

Form the Company Behind Your Store

MyCompanyWorks lists LLC and corporation formation starting at $79 plus state fee, with a personalized operating agreement and next business day processing inside the base package.

See MyCompanyWorks Pricing →

What the Base Package Actually Contains

MyCompanyWorks’ pricing page lists three products, and every price is a starting figure with the state fee on top.

Product Published price
LLC Starting at $79 plus state fee
Corporation or S-Corporation Starting at $79 plus state fee
DBA Starting at $99 plus state fee

Read “starting at” as doing real work there. It is the floor, not the price, and the state fee is separate and unavoidable whoever files for you.

The LLC package as published includes unlimited name searches, preparing and filing your Articles of Organization, personalized organizational minutes, a personalized operating agreement, online order tracking and status updates, next business day processing, access to scanned documents online, an order audited for compliance and spelling, unlimited phone and email support, free first class shipping, the New LLC Handbook, a state-specific startup checklist, free company alerts and lifetime access to My Account.

The corporation package is the same list with Articles of Incorporation and personalized corporate bylaws in place of the operating agreement, and the New Corporation Handbook in place of the New LLC Handbook.

The DBA package is a shorter list: unlimited name searches, preparing and filing the DBA paperwork, free FedEx delivery of initial documents, order tracking, next business day processing, scanned documents online, the compliance and spelling audit, unlimited phone and email support, a state-specific startup checklist and lifetime access to My Account.

The Two Inclusions That Actually Matter

Two items in that base LLC package are things the rest of the category charges for, and both are sourced on both sides.

The personalized operating agreement. It is inside the LLC package that starts at $79 plus state fee. For comparison, ZenBusiness lists an Operating Agreement Template at a one-time fee of $99, and CorpNet includes a custom operating agreement only in its Complete package, which runs $269 to $519, while pricing it at $99 to $349 standalone. So on that single line item MyCompanyWorks is including something worth more than its own base price elsewhere.

Worth noting the wording though: personalized is not the same as drafted by a lawyer for your situation. If you are solo with a simple structure, a personalized document from a formation service is probably fine. With partners, the operating agreement decides what happens when you fall out, and paying a lawyer for that is money well spent. That is my view, not legal advice.

Next business day processing. Also inside the base package. ZenBusiness charges a one-time $79 for Fast Filing Speed, and CorpNet’s Standard, Express and 24 Hour Rush tiers are exactly what move each of its packages up its price range. So the thing you pay extra for elsewhere is the default here.

I would not stretch either comparison into a claim that this is the cheapest option overall, and here is why.

The Figure That Decides Your Real Cost Is Not Published

MyCompanyWorks’ pricing page does not state a registered agent price or whether any registered agent term is included. It also does not state an EIN filing price or whether that is included, does not publish renewal pricing, and does not mention a money-back or satisfaction guarantee.

None of that means those things are absent or unfavourable. It means I could not establish them, so I am not going to print numbers for them.

But the registered agent is the line that decides total cost over any real horizon, because it recurs annually while formation happens once. For context from the same category: ZenBusiness lists registered agent service at $199 a year, CorpNet’s standalone retail is $149 per unit, and Firstbase charges $299 annually per state. Against a recurring range like that, a formation fee starting at $79 plus state fee is close to noise.

So before you buy, ask MyCompanyWorks two questions: what does registered agent service cost, and is any term of it included. Those two answers tell you more than the entire package comparison does. I have gone through what I could establish in my MyCompanyWorks pricing guide.

The EIN Is Free, With One Real Exception

MyCompanyWorks’ page does not state whether an EIN is included or what it charges for one, so check that at order time. Here is the context you need either way.

The IRS states plainly that you never have to pay a fee for an EIN, and that if the application is approved it issues your EIN immediately online.

No fee, and immediate on approval. If a service quotes you for EIN filing, what you are buying is someone else doing a task the government does not charge for. Plenty of people happily pay for that, and there is nothing wrong with it. You should just know that is the trade.

The genuine exception is specific. The IRS requires the responsible party’s Social Security number or individual taxpayer ID number for the online application. If you are a non-US founder with neither, the immediate self-service route is not simply open to you, and a paid service is solving a real obstacle rather than selling convenience. The IRS notes that a third-party designee must have signed authorization to apply, which is the mechanism such a service uses.

Two planning details either way. The IRS states you can apply for only one EIN per responsible party per day. And the online application keeps hours: Eastern time, Monday to Friday from 6:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. the next day, Saturday from 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., and Sunday from 6:00 p.m. to midnight.

Have the Foundations Built For You

My done-for-you builds cover the store, the suppliers and the setup underneath them, so entity paperwork is not what delays your first dealer application.

See the Done-For-You Build →

Step 1: Settle the Two Things First

Entity type and state come before any order form, and I am not going to advise on either.

Both carry tax and liability consequences that depend on where you live, where you operate, whether you have partners and how you intend to take money out of the business. A short conversation with a CPA costs less than refiling, and in my experience refiling is what happens when people pick a state off a blog post.

One thing about the product list worth knowing at this stage: MyCompanyWorks sells a DBA separately, starting at $99 plus state fee, and its package prepares and files DBA paperwork rather than forming an entity. Whether you need one, and whether you need it in addition to or instead of an entity, is a question for your professional. Buying both when you needed one is a common way to spend money twice.

Step 2: Order, Then Do the EIN

The sequence is not arbitrary. The entity is filed first, because the EIN application asks about the entity. The EIN comes second. The business bank account is third, and in my experience banks want the formation document and the EIN in front of them.

Two things on the MyCompanyWorks list are genuinely useful at this stage and easy to overlook. The order is audited for compliance and spelling, which matters more than it sounds: a misspelled entity name on a state filing is a correction filing, and corrections take longer than getting it right. And access to scanned documents online plus lifetime access to My Account means the documents stay retrievable.

On that last point, my own habit regardless of which service you use: download your formation certificate, your EIN letter and your operating agreement to storage you control the day you get them. Suppliers and banks will ask for these for years, and a dashboard is not a filing cabinet.

Step 3: Start the Free Business-Credit Foundation Now

This is the step almost everybody does too late, and it is free.

Dun & Bradstreet states there is no cost to request and receive a D-U-N-S Number, and that normal processing can take up to 30 business days, with a paid expedited option delivering within eight business days. D&B does not publish the expedite fee on that page.

Thirty business days is around six weeks. Request it the week the entity exists rather than the week a supplier asks for it, because six weeks of waiting on a free form is the most avoidable delay in this whole business.

Why it matters for a store rather than for a bank loan: per the SBA’s guidance, with business credit, banks, suppliers, vendors, retailers and other businesses will be able to assess your company’s creditworthiness. Suppliers and vendors are named explicitly. The SBA also names the scores involved, which are FICO SBSS, Paydex, Intelliscore and the Small Business Credit Risk Score, so four different numbers do not surprise you later. Once a file exists, the Nav walkthrough covers monitoring it.

Step 4: Lock the Details, Then the Website

Your legal entity name, business address, taxpayer identification number and business phone number are going to appear on dealer applications, W-9s, resale certificates, your D-U-N-S record, your payment processor onboarding, your bank account and your website footer.

In my experience they need to match character for character across all of those, and applications get queried when they do not. Decide the canonical version the day the entity is formed: exactly how the name is punctuated, exactly how the address is formatted, which number is the business line. Keep it in one file and copy from that file rather than retyping it each time.

Then the legal pages, which name the entity you just formed and are therefore a job for after formation rather than before. I have written up how I generate those in an afternoon. The supplier paperwork side is covered in how I handle dealer applications and W-9s.

What to Budget

Line item What MyCompanyWorks publishes
LLC formation Starting at $79 plus state fee
Corporation or S-Corporation Starting at $79 plus state fee
DBA Starting at $99 plus state fee
State fee Separate and unavoidable, varies by state
Operating agreement Included in the LLC package as a personalized operating agreement
Filing speed Next business day processing included in the base package
Registered agent Not published on the pricing page I read; ask before ordering
EIN filing Not published on the pricing page I read; ask before ordering
Renewals Not published on the pricing page I read; ask before ordering

Three of those rows are blank because I could not establish them, and one of the three, the registered agent, is the most financially significant line on the list. That is not a criticism of the service, it is a reason to make one phone call before you order.

Where This Sits in the Bigger Picture

The entity is a gate and not a business. In my experience it is what dealer applications, processor onboarding and business banking all end up asking about, and none of that sells a single unit.

What sells is the right product at a margin that survives freight, and if that is unsettled, my high-ticket niches list is where I would start.

Then suppliers, which is the genuine bottleneck and the reason I wrote a whole guide to finding high-ticket suppliers. The wider order of the foundational pieces is in business formation for high-ticket dropshipping.

The Whole Thing, in Order

Step What you do
1 Ask a CPA or lawyer about entity type and state, and whether you need a DBA at all
2 Look up your state’s filing fee, since every price here is plus state fee
3 Phone and ask what registered agent service costs and whether any term is included
4 Ask the same about EIN filing, so you can decide whether to do it yourself
5 Order the formation, noting the operating agreement and next business day processing are included
6 Get the EIN, yourself with the IRS if you have an SSN or ITIN, inside its published hours
7 Open the business bank account with the formation document and EIN to hand
8 Request the free D-U-N-S number immediately, allowing up to 30 business days
9 Download every document to storage you control, not just the dashboard
10 Write down the canonical entity details and find out your annual filing deadline

Steps 3 and 4 are two phone calls and they are the difference between knowing what this costs and guessing.

Get the Entity Filed This Week

LLC and corporation formation start at $79 plus state fee, with next business day processing and a personalized operating agreement in the base package rather than as paid add-ons.

Start With MyCompanyWorks →

Six Mistakes to Avoid

Reading $79 as the price. Every figure is “starting at” and every one is plus state fee. Look your state’s fee up first.

Comparing formation fees and ignoring the registered agent. That is the annual line, and MyCompanyWorks does not publish it on the page I read. Ask before you order.

Paying for an EIN without knowing the IRS charges nothing. The IRS says you never have to pay a fee and issues it immediately online if approved. Buy the service by choice, not by default.

Treating a personalized operating agreement as a lawyer-drafted one. Fine solo and simple. With partners, that document decides what happens when you disagree.

Buying a DBA nobody told you to get. It is a separate product starting at $99 plus state fee, and its package prepares and files DBA paperwork rather than forming an entity. Ask your professional before adding it.

Leaving documents only in the dashboard. Lifetime access to My Account is useful, and your own copies are what you will actually hand a supplier in three years.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does MyCompanyWorks cost?
LLC and Corporation or S-Corporation formation are both listed starting at $79 plus state fee, and a DBA starting at $99 plus state fee.

Is an operating agreement included?
Yes. The LLC package lists a personalized operating agreement among its inclusions. The corporation package lists personalized corporate bylaws instead.

Do I have to pay extra for faster filing?
Next business day processing is listed inside the base package rather than as an upgrade.

What does registered agent service cost?
The pricing page I read did not publish a registered agent price or whether any term is included. Ask before ordering, because that is the recurring cost.

Is the EIN included?
The pricing page I read did not state either way. Separately, the IRS states you never have to pay a fee for an EIN and issues it immediately online if approved, though the online application requires the responsible party’s SSN or ITIN.

Is there a guarantee?
The pricing page I read did not mention a money-back or satisfaction guarantee. That does not mean there is none, only that I could not confirm one.

What else is in the package?
Unlimited name searches, the filing itself, personalized organizational minutes, order tracking, access to scanned documents online, an order audited for compliance and spelling, unlimited phone and email support, free first class shipping, a handbook, a state-specific startup checklist, free company alerts and lifetime access to My Account.

What is the difference between the LLC and DBA products?
The LLC package prepares and files Articles of Organization. The DBA package prepares and files DBA paperwork. Which of those you need is a question for a professional rather than for a checkout page.

What should I do the same week I form?
Get the EIN, open the business bank account, request the free D-U-N-S number, and write down the canonical entity details you will reuse on every form afterwards.

Which state should I form in?
Not something I will advise on. It depends on where you live and operate and how you take money out. Ask a CPA or lawyer. This article is not legal or tax advice.

Related Articles

Free 1,000+ high-ticket niches list

Still deciding what to sell?

Grab the free list of 1,000+ niches that work for high-ticket dropshipping, sorted by category.

Free. Unsubscribe any time.